Ep 2 of 4 - Curie : Interview with a Top Curie Curator @carlgnash.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Welcome back for episode 2


Earlier this week I headed down to Springfield, OR to meet up with @carlgnash.
For those who may not know, Carl is one of the top curators for @curie and has recently been elected as a Curie community representative. We met up at Plank Town Brewing Company for beers and a great discussion about steemit content curation.


ep2 thumb.jpg

Our talk is broken up into four episodes:

Episode 1 is about curation and some tools to use to help you find posts. Click here to watch it.
Episode 2 we talk about Curie.
Episode 3 @carlgnash talks about his current curation projects.
Episode 4 we talk about the future of curation.
Stay tuned for the remaining episodes.


Episode 1... Episode 2 ...Episode 3... Episode 4

clean.png

If you are interested in Curie, You can drop into their steem chat channel and meet some folks.

https://steemit.chat/channel/curie

If you are interested in what kinds of posts are considered good content, I would suggest reading some of @carlgnash replies in the @humanbot link drop post.
Carl gives some great advice.

https://steemit.com/curation/@humanbot/the-humanbot-curator-incubator-and-link-drop-v2-0

In episode 3 we talk more about @humanbot. However if you would like to read about it now, you may do that here.

https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

clean.png
The SQL query is a great way to find posts that you may have not seen before. After trying it out briefly, I can see already how it would be a great asset for a curator to find the kinds of posts they would like to find.

If you would like to set up your own SQL query, read these two posts by Carl:

Curate like a Boss - A Beginner's Guide to Querying SteemSQL (by a complete SQL beginner)

Curate Like a Boss pt.2 - A Beginner's Guide to Querying SteemSQL (by a complete SQL beginner)
clean.png
A special thanks to @fronttowardenemy for filming and editing video

Keep being Cool Steemit!


doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

Wow. What a great interview. Thank you @doctorcrypto for making it happen. @carlgnash you did absolutely great. I wish I could articulate like that. Go Steem! Go Curie! :)

We had a good time :)
I wish I could articulate like that as well. I need to practice my question asking skills.

You did great! Once you get Carl talking you can't stop him. He is like that in chat too :)

Yes it is true :)

Here is the video I reference where @kevinwong talks about @curie at Steemfest 1 and is introduced by @andrarchy who talks about @curie as one of the first institutions w hich emerged in the Steem proto-economy:

I had not seen that video before. Good watch, and some great insight into curie.

Again, thank you (and @fronttowardenemy) for coming down to my neck of the woods and interviewing me. It was a blast.

I have one small point of clarification - when I talked about the total number of votes coming out of the Curie Sub-communities and total payout there in relation to the posts submitted by Curie curators and reviewed by reviewers, I was basing this on some analysis which I later determined to be faulty. I thought I had succesfully isolated the Sub-community votes from the Curie curated/reviewed votes, but I had not. So I am not sure what I said there was accurate, but the general point still holds true; the Sub-communities supported by Curie are distributing a lot of smaller Curie votes out to a much wider range of posters than before when it was just the Curie curators/reviewers upvoting posts.

Cheers - Carl

"but the general point still holds true; the Sub-communities supported by Curie are distributing a lot of smaller Curie votes out to a much wider range of posters than before when it was just the Curie curators/reviewers upvoting posts."

And this my friend is how I would describe true "Steem Spirit". Not everyone understands the giving aspect of the steem block chain.

Thanks for the clarification.

Enjoyed greatly. Thank you for doing the interview. If I had the time, I would pursue becoming a curie curator. I would enjoy looking for that diamond in the rough post that can be rewarded. @ironshield

Yes. I love rewarding someone when I see a post that speaks to me. I just wish I could give more than a nickle. I'm thankful for all of the cool curation projects out there for that reason. Thanks for watching!

I have just delegated what SP I can spare at this time. Steemit needs more people like you to help promote great content. best of luck, I hope others do the same and help you to help others and thus help Steemit!

Thank you good sir!
That is awfully kind of you.

I really enjoyed this post @doctorcrypto. Very informative and learnt a lot about the inner workings of the guild :-)

nice to hear all that info about curie. but my real question is... how did carl not eat those nachos. they were right under his nose. delivered in the first part. sat for the entire 2nd part. what will become of those nachos in part 3 and 4?

You shall see what became of the "nachos"....Stay tuned!


dramatic music.gif

Well okay, if those were nachos, that would be committing a crime against humanity, letting them get soggy. Those were actually "pulled pork fries" - a big pile of pulled pork on top of french fries with a side of cheese sauce. I ate them all, none the worse for wear, by the end of the interview :)

nachos or pulled pork fries.... the sheer will power of not a nibble! 😛

Great stuff #curie is awesome pawesome ... Cheers to @doctorcrypto for the interview with @carlgnash

Thanks man!
Steemeians need to understand that good stuff will be rewarded. :)

Yay for the doctor! We got the ghost salt today! *not for babies! haHA!

Be careful with that stuff. It's got a lasting burn.

I'm excited.

the people on the back ground are noisy!!!!Hahaha...

Yes we need to get a microphone next time.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30