Ep 1 of 4 - Curation: Interview with a Top Curie Curator @carlgnash.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Earlier this week I headed down to Springfield, OR to meet up with @carlgnash.
For those who may not know, Carl is one of the top curators for @curie and has recently been elected as a Curie community representative. We met up at Plank Town Brewing Company for beers and a great discussion about steemit content curation.


ep1 thumb.jpg
clean.png

Our talk is broken up into four episodes:

Episode 1 is about curation and some tools to use to help you find posts.
Episode 2 we talk about Curie.
Episode 3 @carlgnash talks about his current curation projects.
Episode 4 we talk about the future of curation.
Stay tuned for the remaining episodes.


Episode 1... Episode 2 ...Episode 3... Episode 4

clean.png
The SQL query is a great way to find posts that you may have not seen before. After trying it out briefly, I can see already how it would be a great asset for a curator to find the kinds of posts they would like to find.

If you would like to set up your own SQL query, read these two posts by Carl:

Curate like a Boss - A Beginner's Guide to Querying SteemSQL (by a complete SQL beginner)

Curate Like a Boss pt.2 - A Beginner's Guide to Querying SteemSQL (by a complete SQL beginner)
clean.png
A special thanks to @fronttowardenemy for filming and editing video

Keep being Cool Steemit!


doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

This turned out awesome! Great job you guys! I didn't ramble as much as I feared I did, although I am not sure I managed anything like an explanation of curation for somebody that didn't know anything about it. I had a great time, it was a real pleasure talking to you and your brother :)

Much love - Carl

Nice guys. Looking forward to the rest of the series.

I will post one a day for the next three days. Thanks for watching.

I know I learned a few new things. So I'm sure someone else will as well.
Fostering a curation based mindset was my goal and I think this is a step in the right direction.
Thank you for meeting and hanging out. :)

Hi Carl!
I was once curated by curie in the beginning and it helped me a lot for my reputation. According to the info, curie curates those newbies that have reputation between 25 and 52. My question is, what if a newbie is really really good, content-wise, and voted curie as witness as well as used the hashtag #curie in his post, will his posts get the chance to be seen by your panel?

#curie isn't a tag that curators are necessarily going to be looking in - the general advice as far as tagging goes is to use the most popular tags that are relevant to your post, which will help to get the most eyes on your post. Sure any newbie that makes really, really good content definitely has a chance to be noticed by a curator and submitted to Curie for review and possible upvote. There are a lot of curators out there and all the popular tags are pretty well covered by curators, chances are very good that if a newbie is truly making exceptional content they will be noticed, as long as they are not using really unpopular tags that no one is looking in.

@carlgnash thanks for taking the time to be interviewed and explain how the curation worked. I understood it before but it was good to hear the extra details I definitely learned a few things. Plus I have been curious about the whole bot thing but have never tried it and now I know I should just stay away from them and wait for a curator to scope me out!

Great idea creating the interview @doctorcrypto I look forward to the next 3 episodes!

Ah, how perfect. It's really good of you to interview the multi-talented @carlgnash on this topic. This information is well-timed for me, thank you, and I look forward to the additional segments. You mind find this next part funny, but let's see what you're saying in action.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


By all means! I accept.
Sharing the ways of curation is somethings all steemians should be aware of no matter who is doing it. It's all about the big picture.

It was great meeting @carlgnash and learning some things. Thanks dude!

I had a ton of fun! Thanks for being the behind-the-scenes man :)

Great interview @doctorcrypto. Carl is a great guy and a wealth of understanding.
Keep of the great work of your own @doctorcrypto!
Cheers,
Bucky

DQmPnCRpHLS6xVXhb4uDtNTetygqfquhyexDzjtcD3KWoqX.jpeg

Thank you Bucky.
He is indeed a knowledgeable fellow. :)

Im shleepy but i lime these two fellas n the location is bery shiny n pretty lol. Ps im gonna watch the whoke later!!

Aww i lime you as well limebeing, I lime you too :) Have a bery nice night

Great you guys were able to catch-up in person and discuss. Some good tips around giving some decent curators a chance vs. bots etc. I agree steemit needs a user simple filter/search capability & I really hope they continue to improve the platform as more and more people join. Everyone I know I tell about Steemit! and suggest getting in early is the key as it can only get better and replace systems like FB. Keep up the good work guys.

Thank you sir! Yes it is truly an exciting time to be a steemian.

it is not everyday you can interview a curator like that..wow that must be amazing experience, there maybe secret tips that he told you haha..

This is very true and what a nice guy too! The secrets.....will remain secret. :)

😂😂😂 you are lucky 😎

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86