Sunday Thoughts - What can I Contribute to Steemit

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Sunday Thoughts..

I am on Steemit for more than a month now, with just 38 SP and 45 Rep, Consider me as one of the minnows. Or less. Seeing some posts about being a contributor in this community, made myself think of "How can I contribute?"

Most of the Whales here had done a lot to improve the community, such as @surpassinggoogle, @jerrybanfield, @adsactly, @aggroed and @papa-pepper are few that I know and just met here in Steemit but not yet in person. These people are just not earning a thousands of SBDs and Steem. As per the reads I made, these people had greatly contributed in this community in their best way.

How about me
How can I be a contributor in this platform? With a little niche, what can I share? I keep on searching up until now on how to be one.

My Goal
My goal when I join Steem it is to earn some extra bread at the comfort of my home after my regular work. Being a bread winner and eldest among my siblings, I said to my self that I need to find some extra funds to support my family, and most specially the medication of my father who is having a hemodialysis trice a week in his life. And at the same time to be a provider. This goal has been deleted in my mind as I enjoy chatting with different people in Steemit, reading #travel posts, #blogs, #story and more. Which is a nice thing that happened.

I even forgot how to use Facebook already. Lol. This platform became my outlet to relax instead of earning. And since Steemit is still a small community that I believe has still a lot to grow. Being one of the ”stake holder” as everyone here. I should think of how can be a contributor to grow this community.

Contributor
Last Friday night, as every people spend the night after the long-week regular job, I had a date with long-seen friends. Had a chat of different things that we are now doing I our life. My former Manager just got married 2 years ago and now had a 2-month old baby boy. While the other 2 whom are together before, has now different lives with their own partners, and the other one mentioned that he just purchased a new house and in need of extra fund and planning to go out of the country to have a better pay.

20180119_191945[1].jpg

And then, me, they asked me “what’s going on in my life”. Then I told them that I am currently holding a bitcoin for 3 months now. Which happened that all of their attention is now on me, Then I talked a lot about bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. I even told them that I do blogging through Steemit, which all them are not familiar with. So the discussion continues as if I am offering a networking business. Lol.

Then a friend that is planning to go out of the country approached me after our drinking sessions and ask about Steemit. He said he wants to learn, so the discussion continues. Being an artist, I encourage him that he got a potential in this platform, I even told him that I already forgot Facebook because of it. So the next morning, he send me a message asking how to join, so I sent him the details, and hopefully he could be one of us soon.

Realization
I realized that I can be of help to grow this community through inviting more people. To join us, earn and learn. Being in a customer service field, I could use of my words to invite more people to join in. express their talents and enjoy while earning. In this way, I cannot only help the community but the people around me.

In the Philippines, poverty is the main problem, with 34% poverty incidence last 2015 as per Philippine Statistic Authority. And I am sure, that most of them has a smartphone at least since it’s been a part of the basic necessity nowadays in order to get connected with our relatives. And that smartphone could be of use to be part of this community. But what preventing them is only the knowledge of the existence of Steemit. Or perhaps, they already know about it, but think of it as a scam.

As one of the “stake-holder”, I can spread the word that Steemit is real, that they can earn and learn by the comfort of their home.


Source

If I will be able to do that, not to all though, but at least to the people who is closed to me, and through word of mouth, I will be able to help our country to at least lessen the poverty and at the same time, grow the community.

Minnows and Planktons
Minnow Animation.gif
Source

Inviting more people outside Steemit is a bit of a challenge. But we can spread the word. Create a “word of mouth” and advertisement maybe on our know social network such Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. But not all will believe us, I know. With out 10 invites, we are fortunate enough to make one to believe. Not unless we have some proof to show such as our earnings as example. Which as minnow or a plankton, I don’t have enough. Yet.

Through spreading words, we have to prove. As simple way, let us start spreading the “word of mouth” inside Steemit. How?, through supporting #minnows. Minnow such as I am has a difficulty of being known and recognize. We find our niche but still not enough. Even those who have been doing their respective niche even before Steemit still not being recognized. Some of us minnows even left the community already because of disappointment. But fellow minnows, as I mention in one of my post.
We should invest time and effort.

Through recognizing minnows, by a single upvote or if not worthy enough, maybe we could send them a message and provide feedback. And tell them how can they improve in a certain niche. Through minnows, once we are being recognized and reach our goals, then the spread of the words will start and our community will grow as fast as it can.

Whales
We could not forget whales, they’ve been here ever since we ever knew about it. Some of them are the ones who build the community. They are the ones who had sleepless nights in order to build this platform even up until now. This may be their regular 9-5 job to continually build the community and improve it.

Whales are here to teach us too, search the #trending tags to see their mind growing lectures in different subjects. And if they have free time, and so you are, ask them through steem.chat, they will response as soon as they are free.
Without them, we couldn’t be here as well.

So let’s build the community together and at the same time, I hope I can help to our country to minimize poverty through Steemit.

Planktons and Minnows, together we can be one of the dolphins and whales as well.


Thank You!

Support initiatives on community building and enrichment;

@steemph@steemph.cebu@steemph.iligan
@steemph.davao@steemph.manila

Consider casting your witness votes for @precise, @steemgigs @cloh76.witness, and @ausbitbank who have been adding an invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


20171221_211052[1].jpg


UPVOTE, FOLLOW, RESTEEM

DQmcbB1Sq9wLKXAXBdtg95FRwwSNfGvAeYDmQBP2VQCcbAY[1].png

FB_IMG_1516053153789.jpg

Sort:  

It is awesome how you think about contributing back. Yes, we all started with the intention of being able to earn some extra income doing what we enjoy and connecting with people. I believe in Steemit can build up communities and all the best in helping those around you! I have also started sharing within my community and it is awesome the way that it has been received! Upvoted!

Thank you @khimgoh. Today, it is the only way we can help to this platform until such time that maybe we can find something to contribute. Keep spreading the word and support our fellow minnows and planktons..

So proud of what you've been contributing here. Little steps, but an effort nonetheless.

I am sure you can contribute more than I can in the community. Just enjoy it, I am sure they'll love your writings. :)

I think that's the attitude that most people that I see here who are influencers.

I am yet to be successful but I have changed my perspective from a what can I get?, what can I have if i do this?, from being selfish to selfless.

I know you will do well here.

Thank you @maverickinvictus. Though, I just realized this through reading your posts. And all your contributions in helping our ohana family (@steemitfamilyph).
Sadly, I can't give all my time to support our fellow minnows due to some errands. But if I got free time, I will surely use it to pursue this mission.

You'll be ahead if us for sure. You're one of those people who is diligent in doing the tasks to support us. Just in case you think of a project, do not hesitate to ping me, I'll do what I can. 👌

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.4$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

This is great to read. Knowing that there are people who think beyond themselves. Through our baby steps, we can definitely cover great distance through time.

Yes, @anotsopopularkid, we can do it through pushing each other. each and everyone of us can be bigger than whales, through time and effort you and me, can be the most popular kid. but don't forget to reach with the smaller ones, after all, we are just in the same level. :)

Totally! I actually dream of having higher SP, so I can let others feel being given a meaningful value to further encourage them. In time. In time. Let's wait.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58269.26
ETH 3067.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25