A Conversation that Made me Realized My Steemit Journey

in #busy7 years ago (edited)


Source

Yesterday morning, I had a conversation with my subordinates. I ask her the biggest question that I always ask to few people, people that needs my help and worthy of my help.
I ask her; What is your plan being a 2-year tenure in your career?. She answered that she wants to be successful.. BIG WORD I may say. She wants to be successful with her current position.

Being the head of the team, it is my role to bring everyone under me to the same level as me or higher. I coach, I provide feedback and I send them to success. But this can't be done by me alone, perseverance and dedication should innate to the ones that I am about to bring on top.
And it is not easy when you are handling 9-15 subordinates.

SUCCESSFUL
So she wants to be successful, she wants to succeed in this career. I followed up a question, I ask, *How will you know that you have already succeed?. How can she determine the success.
She couldn't point me to what she really wants because of she's not confident o f her answer whether right or wrong.

Instead, I ask her, her plan is our company. Where does she sees herself. Then she realized her answer, she said that she wants to be a Store Manager like me and continue what we are passionately doing and share among the rest.

To be able to know what success look like, we should have a clear goal, what does we really want to achieve. Where we want to be in the future. A clear goal in mind will help us to be clear with our plans.

So I told her that he should prepare any minute, as she might take an exam and be one of the next Supervisor (A pre-requisite of being a Store Manager.)

And I made yer smile and cry.

GOALS AND PLAN
Goals is something that we want to achieve, with plans, correct planning, we might be on the place that we want to be.

I somehow connect this conversation to Steemit.

STEEMIT and CAREER
I started being a barista last 2007. Where I am still studying and doing the job as part-time. I don't have any knowledge with coffee back then. I didn't even know that coffee has more varieties.
During my first 2 months, everything was a disaster. I can't move without my coach with me shadowing. I can't be left alone or else customers will be rushing out the store.

Just like in Steemit, I'm running on my second month already, and still looking for my niche. I tried #photography, #art and #contest and even #blog and #poem which I don't have any experience. But I am still earning a cent. Honestly, seeing some other posts having a thousands of rewards, I am feeling hopeless. I thinking to my self that maybe this is not mine to venture.

I was introduce to Steemit, and I see that this platform could be the way for me to get out of my comfort zone and explore more outside of my current job for more than 10 years. Eversince I started here, I seldom visting Facebook anymore. As I always checking on my feed instead to join the community and get along. But, it seems that my time and effort is not enough, seeing my rewards, I am thinking, this community maybe not for me.

CONVERSATION
Then I have this conversation with my subordinate that I am about to promote for the next position. The BIG question is, What does success look like in our own opinion?. Would it be in the position that we aspire just in the nick of time?

During the conversation, I realized where I started. I worked for more than 8 years to be in my current position and being 2 years being here, I almost forgot the process that I went through. Or should I say the progress.

Month on month when I started being a barista, I get to learn things that has contributed a lot my self in my career. And on my 2nd year I was promoted as a Supervisor. With that position, the competition to be in the next position as Assistant Manager is a bit high. We have a lot of Supervisors back then, and to be able to be shortlisted, I should perform better than everyone else.

It was not an easy journey, I was able to achieved my aspired position after 3 years and became a Store Manager 3 years after as well. But my journey has a lot of criticisms where I almost give up.

STEEMIT
That was I realized being one of the #minnows in this community. I am just in my 2nd month, what would I expect, be on top at once?. I just came here, I don't have any contributions yet. Do I perform my duties well. Does my upvotes and comments enough to support the community. NO!, Not Yet!

But along the way, I was successful somehow. Not with rewards though, But through learnings. I learn to connect with people outside my world. And literally the whole world. Day after day, I learn things that I don't normally do. I regain what I love to do.

I learn to write poem, which I didn't know I can. I draw and sketch which I realize is stress relieving. I appreciate photography which my wife's passion ever since that I did not support. Everyday I learn big THINGS. especially with bitcoins that I am a newbie as well.

So far this the success that I get. I can say that in my first month and running second month, I already succeed as I learn a lot just like learning to make my first Café Latté.
Celebrate Simple Victory should be our mindset to get to our goals. every little step that we were able to make is a SUCCESS!

Cheer up! Fellow #minnows!

Thanks to all my Steemit groups who inspired to write this. To #steemitfamilyph and #steemph, THANK YOU for being my mentors and inspirations. And of course, @dearjyoce for introducing me in this community.


Thank You!

Support initiatives on community building and enrichment;

@steemph@steemph.cebu@steemph.iligan
@steemph.davao@steemph.manila

Consider casting your witness votes for @precise, @steemgigs @cloh76.witness, and @ausbitbank who have been adding an invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


20171221_211052[1].jpg


UPVOTE, FOLLOW, RESTEEM

DQmcbB1Sq9wLKXAXBdtg95FRwwSNfGvAeYDmQBP2VQCcbAY[1].png

FB_IMG_1516053153789.jpg

Sort:  

Great post man. Steemit is indeed a journey of learning. 90 days here and I still don't know everything.

I'm still learning new things and one thing that I really like is I learn a lot from new folks.

It is a marathon not a sprint that we need to be here for the long haul. Make connections, create good content and be patient.

Success will come and you would love it because you worked for it.

We see great things for you here. Keep Steeming.

You hit it man! Together as a family #steemitfamilyph, we will succeed in no time. Let's just enjoy the journey and learn. :)

Thank you!

You are definitely on the right track brother. Looking on your steemit journey it is pure success! A cent may be a cent but the connection that you have created will not be a cent worth.

You just need to press on the challenges that this platform and for sure your goal will be achieved.

Patience is definitely required on this site "a lot" of them for you to succeed. I cannot say that I am successful on this platform by finances etc but reading these post makes me realize that yes indeed I am glad that this website is the achievement of my dreams.

Keep steeming and I am always watching your back.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.48$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

You got a 1.39% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @davinsh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74