What Am I Grateful For #3 - She Always Put Me First

in #blog6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/d00k13-what-am-i-grateful-for-3--she-always-put-me-first-bdxsrkei-1540534424017.png

This is a tough subject for me, my mother was very influential in my upbringing and I dislike that I took that for granted. My mother’s name was Donna and she grew up as a farm girl. Second oldest of many siblings if you understand what that entails.

In my last therapist appointment I was given homework, think of seven things that I’m grateful for(this is #3) while staying away from negative thoughts. I figure what better way of doing my homework then writing a blog about it which I can use as a reference for my therapist. My therapist also added stipulations such as thinking why your grateful for said thing, I am grateful for “blank” because it had “blank” affect on my life.

6A300B5E-6FEF-43C8-B55B-C039DD6373D0.jpeg

It was fairly difficult to find a photo of my mother, she was always the one behind the camera. I have tons of photos of myself as a child but only the odd couple of my mother, I can faintly remember her getting out of the shots. Sadly she passed away before I had any interest in taking pictures but I am certainly glad she was always fond of taking them. I believe my artistic side comes from my mother, she always encouraged me to create things. My mother having grown up on a farm learned that anything could be an art piece with enough imagination and she installed that within me.

7D6B70AA-E34D-4215-9BD3-E4526FD1F3CE.jpeg

My mother was a beautiful sole, selfless in so many ways. From everything I remember and what I have been told I was number one in her books and everything else came secondary. If there is only one thing I can say about her it’s that she was always there for me, no body messed with mama bear. I get my don’t piss me off attitude from my mother, not in a bad way but more in a demanding the respect deserved.

C6231FE0-66A3-4F1E-9E6C-8294776E83E9.jpeg

I can remember her being one of the most driven people I have ever known, if she wanted something done it was going to be done or there would be hell to pay. She was firm yet kind, passionate yet strong, tough yet easy going. My mother had a way about her that always seemed to captivate a room in the same way I find myself the centre of attention yet neither her nor I really enjoy the attention.

D7495EF5-FE5D-4024-A245-123CA672C3A2.jpeg

She was the oldest of her siblings still on the farm and learned the traits of being a motherly figure very early in life. I am her second son with my older brother being from a broken home and extremely rebellious she wanted to keep me close and give me that family upbringing she wished for him. She was a very spiritual lady and that strength of faith was passed onto me without myself even being aware of it. I can remember the first and only time she brought me to church, it didn’t go well. She wasn’t about to push her beliefs upon me rather when I was stirring the pot asking questions of the other kids myself not understanding she asked “what do you believe?” I replied “isn’t god like Santa Claus something people grow out of?” I wasn’t raised with religion so I had no concept of faith in something greater then myself. We ended up leaving before the service was over and I never really heard about it again. She wanted me to discover the world and create my own views of it, always provoking those deeper questions and allowing me to freely express my developing opinions. She empowered my freedom of thought through her faith without pushing the constraints of religious text on me at a young age shaping me to be very open minded and receptive of new ideas. I can remember her always telling me “there are no stupid questions only stupid answers”.

FAA1FA1F-3C4F-40A6-A9DE-CF8D4EFFA7AD.jpeg

My mother taught me how to be compassionate and shared with me her overwhelming empathy for others. She would help anyone how ever she could even at her own detriment, I am much like this myself. I remember once when my father was being extremely tight with our budget(we were not well off) and I had a paper route, I hurt my knee pretty bad and needed stitches. My mother unknown by my father was driving me around on my paper route, picking me up from school and literally taking me house to house just so I wouldn’t loose the route while I was injured she even did the route completely by herself a few times before picking me up from school. She made a game out of it starting on higher ground rolling the car as far as she could with the engine off between houses and even recruited some of my friends to help taking us for ice cream afterwards. I remember the arguments that came afterwards but she never once let the secret out as to where the gas was going, she always put me first.

78B32DE3-6599-49E9-952E-FC9EA24A9148.jpeg

My mother was a brilliant lady and an excellent reader, she absorbed books like I did candy. I have a similar ability to be able to scan an article and pull the important information typically at a glance though this didn’t develop until my later years I remember her teaching me the skill very young. I remain a quick study for new things because of her emphasis on thinking outside the box “no new ideas come from thinking with your head in a box” was how she would phrase it.

I believe even my abilities as a baker largely have to do with how she raised me, always helping in the kitchen. I was able to cook very early but preferred baking as that always resulted in sweets. She taught me how to handle dough making pirogies and other hearty farm type meals. I never had to do anything more than I wanted, “ok go play” she would say when I would start to get restless. I have a natural ability to handle dough, comes in handy being a career baker. She even used to sing me the “bakers man song” exchanging the “paddy cakes” verse for “camy cakes”, I wonder if this was a little bit of intuition on her part. I never did get the chance to show her what I made of myself as a baker but I did bring many pastries I created by hand to her service, I know she would have been extremely proud to see me become a baker taking after what she taught me from a young age.

My mother brought me into this world and encouraged my inquisitive nature supporting any questions I had with a quest for knowledge. She installed within me an understanding of other people and their needs and encouraged empathy from myself. She was a devoted mother always coming to bat for me and I wouldn’t be the same as I am today had she not raised me to be a “good man” and for all of this I am grateful.

I Love You Mom

May You Rest In Piece Knowing Camy Is A Bakers Man

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Lovely to read and see your mother in the photos! Thanks for the deep sharing!
I know for a fact that mothers usually don't have many photos with their kids cos they're too busy for it or too busy just taking them of their kids..

Thanks hun, always from the heart!

She was a beautiful lady, I wish I had the picture of her down in the US in front of a statue can’t remember where it was exactly but it really showed her free spirit nature as a hippy farm girl. I think my brother has that one, need to get me a copy somehow.

I believe that one picture of my mom playing on my game boy I took, she loved Tetris and I could never get it back from her once she started 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aww that’s cute! It’s so cool when parents also are interested and try things their kids love doing haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

Try!?! I could barely get the thing away from her after I got her to try it and took the photo, that just jogged my memory lol she was completely hooked!

I used to find my gameboy in the glovebox of the car and she always said she brought it for me. Thinking back I am pretty certain she was playing nearly the entire next day while I was in school because the batteries were mysteriously dead and she didn’t hesitate on going to buy me new ones 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

🤣🤣🤣🤣and then she could probably say you need to do homework so it’s best there wasn’t enough batteries

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks for sharing that man. so deep and emotional I can tell from your post.

the gifts our parents give to us are never really appreciated at the time. but later in life. we are grateful.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Most definitely I had to dive deep for this one thinking of many things I had long forgotten about.

My biggest regret with my mother was pushing her away myself not understanding how mentally ill she had become in her later years. Now I stand here realizing that she knew what I was bound to endure myself and pushing her away having to live with that regret now struggling with the same thing has opened my eyes to that fact, parents just know and endure for their kids sake!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @d00k13! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Woot woot another notch on my belt 🤙

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42