Facebook’s Moderation Issues

in #blog6 years ago

Today I got my first ever postblock on facebook. I appealed and was denied. I won’t be able to talk to people in messenger for 3 days. It was for something that I don’t think went against the community standards.

This is very bad. I had only heard rumors about this policy before, and now I’m experiencing it for the first time.
This isn’t like getting kicked from club penguin for a week. Facebook is often someone’s only real connection to many of their friends, and without messenger one can be kept out of group chats, and unable to communicate with anyone who hasn’t given you their contact info on any other messaging app.

My parents seem to be of the opinion that these harsh consequences are good because they make the punishment “effective”, but the problem is that facebook also does not have very clear rules about what is or isn’t acceptable. they prevent you from being able to even tell other people on your account that you have been silenced. And even if I start being very careful about what I say, someone can easily just find some old post of mine that has a slightly-offensive satirical joke, report it, and take me offline for an even longer time. Facebook simply isn’t safe.
I’m sure what I’m saying here is no surprise to most of you. It’s a common story. But now it’s part of my story too.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bleev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bleev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bleev! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43