Progress Report - Choose Your Path Adventure Animatic and a Comic - 27 Dec 2017

in #blog7 years ago

First things first: I inked a comic page that I've been meaning to ink for... a week or so??
It's about my character being jealous over my friend's character, because they're both based on the same constellation (Ophiuchus, the Snake Bearer), and mine's insecure about it LMAO

I have two more pages that go with this, so it felt kind of odd to post it by itself. May post them all together once the other two are done, tho :0c

But really, I guess it mostly just feels incomplete without the second page. The third page kinda... ah, like it's not as matching as the first two.

Anyway, the comic x)
The one on the left is named Ophi (short for Ophiuchus), and the one on the right is Asclepius, who is my friend's OC.

snake measuring contest 1 - 1.png

I wasn't honestly sure how clear the joke was, but my brother assured me that it was a pretty obvious joke X'DD;;;


Next up, I'm wanting to participate in the Choose Your Own Adventure story that @justgoscha's running. Wound up over-complicating things for myself by overthinking things somehow XD

But while I was sitting around frustrated over other things, I decided to do a quick animatic of the way my post is probably going to go LOL

1 - 1.gif

It's... probably overkill to animate every response that I do, but... I'm kind of tickled by the idea of actually adding sounds and such and really making it seem like an actual show LMAO

Though I will say, the initial jump he does - I'm thinking that he shouldn't raise up, but instead should just open his eyes and look startled. The way he jumps, you'd assume he'd yell - if I added that to the audio (in the hypothetical situation where I actually do finalize this thing LOL), then his yelling might cover the loud noise that wakes him up.
So, the animation shouldn't imply that he yells, so that he won't yell x'D

Anyway////


Also worked on a BATIM animatic, but I've been too much of a chicken-wuss to find out if the creator of Bendy minds if I post BATIM stuff here alfnlsjkfldsjkl
((So instead, it'll probably be limited to Twitter, or maybe I'll make a separate rewards-declined post for the final version. But for now you can view what I've already done [here].

Outside of that, I also mocked up a handy guide for character skin tones.
Why??
Because I keep having trouble picking the colors out, and some of the characters' complexions have looked kind of waxy :I

skin ref2.png

I still can't find a skin tone I like for Finrir, though. Might take some more work. Or maybe I just need to change the hair, idk aljfklsjfkld
The entire balance of his color scheme is pretty whack, tbh;;;;; > <)"""
Need to keep tweaking it--


So, for this week, I'd say that the Flipnote MAP and the comic with mine and my friend's OCs should take priority. (The MAP, because it has a deadline, and the comic, because it'll make my friend happy LMAO)

Ah, also I still haven't managed to get the video where I recorded myself drawing that Christmas picture to upload to DTube... I might have to make a special trip up to town to do it, my internet is just not that great >_<;;;;;

I hope to start doing these Progress Reports daily after the New Year starts, tho I'm not sure to what standard I'll hold myself to that. Or what kinds of things I should/shouldn't put in these reports.

Like car repairs and vet visits? Eh, for a progress report, maybe not, except for maybe explaining why I haven't gotten much done in a particular day or something.

But, maybe they'd be good for other things I want to keep myself on top of? Like my health or something? Not sure that anybody would want to read about that though, especially if these are really more meant to be a summary of how my art stuff is going. But anyway, I'm kind of rambling at this point.

See you guys around! >ڡ<)/"


Previous Posts
2-A Morning Warmup - An Animation and Some Concept Art - 20 Dec 2017
3-Progress Report - Animations and Contest Entries - 21 Dec 2017
4-Progress Report - Animations and Eye Strain - 22 Dec 2017
5-Jenny's Art Contest - It Makes You Smile - AT THE LAST SECOND
6-Doodle Doodledayeo Round 11 - Holly's First Delivery

Sort:  

ashidoodle Ashley 🎠 tweeted @ 27 Dec 2017 - 01:06 UTC

And, ahhh, idk while I'm posting stuff lol, here's this.
I want to make a portfolio/demo reel, but I'm not sure fan… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

You literally provide the exact same link in the comments that I put in my post. How is that helpful??
Why are you even doing that??
What is the context?!

GAH-

Hahaha, I actually also thought about animating my story bits, or at least drawing some of them. Although it takes away from the imagination a bit and leaves less things up for interpretation so I'm kinda torn there... also it's just so much work, hehe.

But nobody seems to be participating at the moment
ಥ_ಥ

I will definitely start another round, once I'm a super famous steemiator, muahaha. But for now I am eagerly awaiting what you'll come up with.

No pressure
:P

Congratulations @ashidoodle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey @ashidoodle, you seem to be a nice and multitalented artist, we know that these things take a while until they're ready, so take your time, trust in your guts and we'll be waiting to read the conclusion of your story! Followed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65