Magical World #22: Where art and fashion meet, Viktor and Rolf in Kunsthal Rotterdam

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0029.jpg

25th anniversary

Viktor and Rolf, a Dutch designers duo, have been creating fashion for 25 years. To celebrate their anniversary, the Kunsthal Rotterdam has an expo showing some of their most impressive work. This morning we had the morning off, and decided to go have a look.

As has been the case many times with the Kunsthal exhibitions, the collection completely took me by surprise and was really wonderful to go and have a look. I'm not really into fashion in any way, but the pieces that were presented were very beautiful and overwhelming in a way. Viktor and Rolf are artists, who picked fashion as their modus operandi.

IMG_0001.jpg

Some of the Kunsthal exhibitions running at this moment. We came just a day late for the hyperrealism expo, which we had been to before but I wanted to go back and take some pictures. Too bad I was too late - that was some truly fascinating art as well!!

Can you actually wear that!?

What I liked about the expo was that on the one hand, they had the fashion pieces on display. But they were also running videos of models presenting that same fashion at shows. When I look at those mannequins with the pieces of art on them, which also resemble clothing in a way - the question that comes to my mind is, how can anyone actually walk around in that? Seeing the models walking around in it, I just feel modelling must be such a tough job.

IMG_0030.jpg

IMG_0019.jpg

IMG_0017.jpg

Passion

In a funny way, there was something about the collection that made the experience of walking through a very peaceful and relaxing one. I'm sure the world of fashion and modelling has many quirks, and being part of it might not feel as peaceful and relaxed at all. But these two guys, Viktor and Rolf, they have found a way to pour their heart and soul into what they make. Every element presented at that exhibition tells the story of two people giving all their concentration and focus and eye for detail and love for style and turning that into fashion items.

page break small.png

Maybe, in a time that I am trying to find out more where my own passion lies, what I'd love to make and create and contribute to the world, this example of two people living their dream is a very welcome one. Reminding me that it's not just about finding that one niche in the market. Not just that practical list in our heads telling us why we should decide for the one thing or the other. It's when we follow our highest excitement, that rare beauty can be the result. That we create our own path, find our own unique way to contribute.

IMG_0025.jpg

30-ers dilemma

I'm in the middle of deciding what is going to be next. Carreer wise. And the toughest thing is figuring out how to even make my decisions. Should I be practical? Just get started with something, knowing I can always change and evolve as I move along? Or should I be patient for that one opportunity that really resonates, that feels like it is the perfect fit and which I feel more than ready to jump into?

Right now, all the little things I do throughout the day seem to contribute to my reflections on this dilemma, in one way or the other. Viktor and Rolf's contribution? They make me want to find and follow the fire, that I'm sure I'm having - but just needs a bit of maintenance.


Magical World Series

This is post #22 in the Magical World Series. With these posts, I hope to add a little happiness and light-heartedness to your day. There is magic in every little corner of the world. And if we share it with each other, it does really brighten up the place!

All content is created by me, and Steemit original. Camera: Canon G7X.
Thank you for reading, your support is much appreciated!

DQmdQnN7LAnyvqSavjUcLV6LxKrbXSdT5iz6ctYUrPnEaC3.png

Sort:  

Ahhh I love fashion! I have a board on Pinterest called 'Fashion as Art', because I find so many pieces are more art than actually 'wearable'. Awesome stuff. I love how the Kunsthal organizes these shows.

As you know I'm very curious to see what decision you make ;-)

I love the Kunsthal :).

Heb gisteren de knoop doorgehakt. Said yes to traineeship and informed the family I'm leaving. I had been in doubt a bit, scared of letting go of this situation which I am actually very comfortable with. Then, after seriously considering not doing it, I realized I'm actually ready for change and something new and to challenge myself a bit more... So said yes and feeling good about it :).

What about you? And the house offer!? ❤️

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13