'Happy new year everyone!' or 'How I photographed the fireworks today :)'

in #blog7 years ago

Hi everyone, happy new year!
Today, I managed to get some shots of the fireworks in the street. I wanted to share with you how I created these pics!

Photo 1vuurwerk-8.jpg

This photo was shot at ISO 100, 6.0s and F14

The first photo shows some of the surroundings with the fireworks. To get the most out of it, I used a long shutterspeed of 6 seconds. This way, you can capture multiple fireworks in your shot!

I used a tripod to keep the image steady. Otherwise the photo would have been very blurry!

Photo 2

vuurwerk-7.jpg
This image was shot at ISO 100, 3.0s and F10

Usually when shooting fireworks, they are the light source. However, in this image I wanted to capture everyone looking at the fireworks. They would have been silhouettes, or not even visible at all if I just took the shot.

To actually be able to show them in the Photo, I used a flash to illuminate them. The shot was 3 seconds, however they are still sharp, because the flash only lasted a short moment. Any movement they made afterwards was not visible, for it was too dark.

I needed the 3 seconds to capture the fireworks they were looking at. This way, I did not need to time the shot perfectly and probably miss it ;)

Photo 3

vuurwerk-5.jpg
This image was shot at ISO 100, 2.5s and F14

With fireworks, a longer exposure is usually the best way to go. They act like a flash, so if your exposure is too long, it won't matter, for your camera only captures light. With longer exposures, you can even capture multiple fireworks in one single picture!

Photo 4

vuurwerk-3.jpg
This photo was shot at ISO 100, 1.6s, F5

Bonus photo! ;)

I hope this post was helpful!

Sort:  

Happy new year!

Cool Snaps and Happy New Year my Friend ! Keep Steeming

Thank you! I will :)

Happy new year! :)

Really cool pictures @alieke!

And thanks for your explanation on what settings you've used to take the photo's :)!

Congratulations @alieke! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31