Hypnagogic and Hypnopompic hallucinations - My experience

in #blog6 years ago



Most of us at some point in our lives have experienced this type of hallucinations that are more common during childhood and adolescence, often these are confused or related to paranormal phenomena when in reality they are a simple type of hallucinations that happen when we sleep or wake up due to the changes in our brain in the transition from sleep to wakefulness or vice versa.

In the field of psychiatry and psychology these hallucinations are called hypnagogic and hypnopompic hallucinations and are often very common and terrifying because through them our deepest fears can manifest.

In one of my previous post I explained in detail what the term hallucination refers to and all the confusions that revolve around it, to know what the term hallucination refers to, go to the following link: Hallucinations


Hypnagogic Hallucinations


Hypnagogic hallucinations are a set of visual, auditory and even gustatory or haptic perceptions (referring to touch) that people who suffer from it experience in the transition from waking state to dream, that is, when they begin to fall asleep .

When we are falling asleep many times we hear, see or feel the presence of someone strange, usually this is something that happens to most of us after watching a horror movie. Something that also happens to us is to listen to our relatives calling us, talking, commenting something etc. When we open our eyes during this transition, we can see for a few seconds the shadow or silhouette of someone, flashes of light among many other things.


Sleep Paralysis

When we dream, we enter a state known as ''hypnogogic'', transitional between wakefulness and sleep. At that moment, the body is paralyzed and only the muscles of the eyes, heart, brain and breathing work. In this state it is common to believe that you are awake, to such an extent that you are sure to have your eyes open and see and hear things around. The characteristic of this state is that the body can not move, it is immobilized. If the subject wants to move, he can not do it. There are even times when the person who is sleeping in that state wakes up, and the immobility remains. However, it reverts to normality in a matter of minutes, not requiring intervention or having greater pathological significance.

This is what we call the famous and terrifying Sleep Paralysis. Occurs in the transition from sleep to wakefulness in which we are in the hypnogogic state characterized by immobility that can be accompanied by tactile, auditory and visual hallucinations.

Sleep paralysis is often an exasperating experience and despite knowing that it is not a paranormal phenomenon the sensations that accompany it are so real that it is impossible to keep calm.



Hypnopompic Hallucinations


They are called hypnopompic hallucinations to those that occur in an intermediate state between sleep and wakefulness, these occur when we are waking up. They are perceptions that do not correspond to objective reality but are lived as such, the subject do not distinguish them from a normal experience lived completely awake. They are not pathological.



Contrary to hypnagogic hallucinations, hypnopompic hallucinations occur upon awakening.

Some years ago I experienced my first hypnopompic hallucination and at first not knowing what it was, I worried a lot about my mental health, as many people in this world I am arachnophobic and at that time my house was full of spiders and that was keeping me in a state of alertness and fear. That night I awoke terrified when I saw lots of spiders walking the walls of my room, the worst part is that these hallucinations lasted an average of 20 seconds, lasted an average of 20 seconds, In the beginning these hallucinations are very real and clear and then they become blurred until they disappear completely.


These hallucinations are repeated every time I am traumatized with some arachnid event, I have seen very clearly cobwebs hanging over me or spiders coming down in their thread with their peculiar movement of legs. I recognize that this occur when I am very stressed or I have several days of bad sleep.

Not all hallucinations are terrifying, some even become funny or impressive, one day I woke up and all the walls were covered with encrypted messages and strange neon figures, as if I was able to perceive another dimension or my third eye had been awakened.

On other occasion I saw a cat jumping on me, which is normal because I live with several cats, but that cat was not real and I almost broke my head jumping from the second floor of the bunk in which I sleep. My sister tends to make fun of me because of shows that I have done.

And finally, the most intriguing of all: the guy standing outside my apartment. That morning I was sleeping and I heard the doorbell of my house, I got up, walked to my door and asked who is it? before peeping through the magical eye of the door, no one answers, I peek and see a guy standing with his back behind my door, I asked for the second time and no one answered, living in Venezuela the first thing I thought was that he was someone with bad intentions, after a while I realize that it was a hallucination, the guy starts to disappear. How can it be?!, How have I reached this level of madness?!, It was very impressive. I just hope one day do not see something scary enough to lose my mind.


Thanks for reading this post do not forget to upvote and reesteem if you liked it and comment if you have something to add. All content without sources is my creation and property.

My Original Post in Spanish


Sort:  

Hola, vi que te uniste al TRAIL REPOLLO, felicidades. Pronto recibiras mis votos y los de 62 personas màs.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by adrianachenille from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hola Adriana, vengo de tu post en español. Sabes inglés o usas algún traductor en en linea?

se ingles y traduzco algunas palabras que no estan en mi vocabulario ¿por que? :)

Para saber. Algunos traductores online no son del todo exactos. Pero he leìdo que DeepL es mejor que el Google.

la verdad nunca lo he utilizado , y no, ninguno es exacto, siempre fallan en las palabras utilizadas segun el contexto

Congratulations @adrianachenille! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @adrianachenille! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @adrianachenille! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87