A potential threat to the decentralised blockchain: the centralised blockchain?

in #blockchain7 years ago

I phrase this as a question because I have no idea if this is even a thing.

In the month or so I've been interested in crypto I've read a bunch of websites and listened to a bunch of podcasts. So far I haven't heard anyone talking about the potential for the traditional financial markets, and/or governments, coming up with their own centralised blockchain systems and using their leverage and market recognition to onboard the masses before real cryptos get there. Is this possible?

It just seems like the big entities in the financial world are under threat and they won't sit around for long while their position is threatened.

So what moves are they making? Could they steal the decentralised blockchain dream from everyone? Or are they oblivious to it all? Somehow I don't think they're just sitting on their hands.

Thoughts and links to discussions or articles relating to this would be very much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48