Just bought my first bit of Bitcoin using money made from writing posts on Steemit!

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Bitcoin Success

I read about Bitcoin soon after it was announced in 2009 and then became very interested in it a year or so after that. At the time, I didn't have much money and decided to focus on building my local business and to maybe get into Bitcoin later...

Big Mistake!

I'm sure many people have a similar story. About how they wished they would have got in on Bitcoin earlier. That's my story, too.

From the encouragement of a friend, I started to educate myself more about crypto-currencies. I knew about Bitcoin, but I didn't understand it. I spent about three weeks of intense reading almost every evening. I found Steemit, signed up in June 2017. Kept reading. Bought some Litecoin and used that to buy Steem. Powered up. Wrote some posts.

My introduceyourself post did really well and I ended up keeping some of the payout in Steem for a while.

Now that the Bitcoin hardfork is over, I decided it's time.

Time to get some Bitcoin!

I've used @blocktrades before to buy Steem with Litecoin. It's easy to use and I really like that you don't have to sign up for an account to use it. If you haven't used Blocktrades before, there's some great guides here on Steemit. This video tutorial by @shayne is very easy to understand:

blocktrades

A small purchase with 10 of the Steem I had earned from my post. I read through the instructions on Blocktrades and got the receiving address from the Electrum BTC wallet that I just set up. Then used the Steemit interface to send @blocktrades ten Steem with the memo they told me to use. Just seconds after that the pending unconfirmed transaction showed up in my Electrum desktop wallet. Excitement!

Electrum wallet

After the cut that Blocktrades took, I ended up with what is now a little over $11 USD worth of Bitcoin. You can see that the unit is in mBTC instead of BTC in the Electrum wallet. Maybe 3.40659 mBTC is easier to express than 0.00340659 BTC.

It's a small thing, I know. Most of you crypto-currency veterans do this kind of thing all the time. But I feel really good about it and I'm sure that there are a lot of people here on Steemit who haven't done anything with Bitcoin yet, but hope to from what they earn here. Maybe this can serve as an informative inspiration.

I'm grateful for the opportunity and for the people who generously upvoted my first post.

Thank you!

Sort:  

Great start, man! BTW, how is your blockchain dev learning process going? I'm still studying the technical part and different languages (Python, Javascript, Solidity...). I created a website to put all my small projects there. Check it out: http://operationblockchain.org/
What do you think?
Let's talk more! We can learn together and share some knowledge :)

Unfortunately, I haven't done much programming for the last two weeks. Here's a post that talks a little about that:

https://steemit.com/family/@matthewdavid/gray-day-reflection-on-goals

Yeah, it's hard to be productive all week. But let's get going! :)
Right now are you just learning new languages?

Exactly the info I need, :-) I'm just getting ready to do the same thing.
Thanks for sharing!

Glad my post was helpful!

Sounds like a great start! I hope to be following in your footsteps soon

My goal is buy a little Bitcoin every week with earnings from Steemit. It looks like spending at least 10 Steem makes it worthwhile (considering the trading fees). That gives me something to work towards. 10 Steem a week is challenging for me at this point, but possible.

@matthewdavid
I have almost the same story as you! Heard of bitcoin early on....but because of a lack of funds, and uncertainty, I held out. Fast forward to 2017, July. I get on STEEM. And I decided to not let my son get 10 years behind the trend.....so I got him on Yesterday! @abookworm will do well I think!! So far he is enjoying it.
Nice to read that I'm not the only one!
Peace!!

Excellent. I needed this. Upvoted and followed.... I have made about $600 here on Steemit since joining in June and wanted to buy some more Bitcoin. ... in May I bought $100 of Bitcoin on Coinbase and that is now worth $300

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43