Why your friends are angry about your excellent advice.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

You chewed his ear off, about how great bitcoin is 3 or 4 years ago.
He didn't buy any, and now he seems strangely annoyed at you for having told him.


Source

I wasn't shy about bitcoin when I first understood it.
I told a lot of people that they should learn everything they could, and then make their own investment decisions.

Now bitcoin is flying, so I thought I'd have some credibility when I started spruiking steemit.
Surely those who regretted missing out the first time would relish a new opportunity to get in early and back a winner.

Matt was right last time, maybe he's onto something...


As I talk about it though, I get the feeling that people just wish I'd shut up or change the topic, and I've been really stuck on why.
I don't think I'm imagining it; since you usually imagine things you'd expect, and this is surprising to me.

I have a theory.



Source

We tend to hold beliefs about ourselves, beliefs which make us feel good.

Things like;
"I'm a good judge of character"
"If I was cornered, I'd be really good in a fight"
"I'm good at recognising opportunities"

Now, they're comforting, but occasionally real life contradicts them, so we have some excuses ready.
"Betraying my trust was uncharacteristic of him. It's not like him at all."
"I didn't want to risk going to prison, so I didn't beat him senseless like I could have."
"If only I'd known earlier, I would have dived on that cool opportunity, and life would be different now."

By telling your friend early on, you forced him to make a decision, while taking away his excuse for missing out.
You're the difference between a painful choice he actually made, and the clever one he could otherwise tell himself he would have made. That's why he doesn't want to think about it.
Now you're talking about steemit, and starting the whole painful saga all over again.

Does this ring true, or am I way off?


Quick update: Lots going on. Really proud of @holoz0r right now.
His shiny new plates look incredible.
He told me that he was being made redundant, and that he was dropping $300 on steemit number plates, in the same sentence.
My instinct would be to save every penny.
The guy has a pair, I'll give him that.

@tlester, @ceciliakeirstead, @jeffjagoe and @ndre1224 have all now tried crumpets, with an assortment of toppings
(Nobody's been brave enough to try them with vegemite yet).
I just hope they were all sufficiently patriotic to abstain from a redcoat breakfast on 7/4.
I've been tasked with finding and devouring some deep fried twinkies.
For the sake of trans-Pacific relations, it's a sacrifice I'm more than willing to make.

Finally, the lovely @lauralemons has made a beautiful new picture of me, which I'm quite taken with.
Throw some SBD her way, and ask nicely, she might make one for you too.

As always, have a great day

Sort:  

I agree 100%! They get envious.

Let's surf the Steem wave in the same way we did and we're doing it with BTC.

We'll be very rich in the future, you can bet!

Hey @mattclarke, thank you so much! I'll try to get some crumpets and will post the results. I live in Poland, but I'll try to find them nonetheless. Also #FreeRoss!

#freeross indeed, brother.
Following you. But not in a creepy way.

Adding my voice to the chorus of "so much this." I get so frustrated explaining steemit to the same people that took forever to finally admit I was right about Bitcoin. I'm not claiming to live a life free of regret. I mined over 3,000 Bitcoins in 2011 and 2012. I sold most of them for between ten and fifteen bucks each. In order to learn from a mistake, you must first acknowledge you made one. My lesson was always get in early on disruptive tech, and always stay in for the long haul.

Thank you for your service.

Well, I definitely feel like I've been there. And the saga continues with steem... lol. Very well put. People don't like to be made wrong. But hopefully eventually they get past it, and actually take a look at what's in front of them and do something with it. Really great post :)

I don't know if there's a better way to approach it maybe?
As satisfying as it might be to do the 'I told you so' dance, these are people I really care about and want to succeed.

Yes exactly. The 'I told yo so' dance probably isn't the best way to get through to them. Something that has worked for me in the past is making them right, in their decisions and thoughts about it. And then through gradual encouragement, getting them to find things they can agree with about cryptos. Anyways, that's just my two sense :)

Gee. You actually have evidence for calling bitcoin in a public forum back in 2013 when it was 50? Mate, you totally gotta be onto something! I'm all ears from now on! Haha

That's the spirit :)
Here's my advice today.
Don't power down. Forget where the button is.

I wasn't planning to power down at all. I'm waiting for a dip to buy and power up!

Yeah I've told a few friends about steemit but they probably think I'm bullshiting them. Oh they will regret not joining when they see steemit becoming huge in a few years.

Great post... for me I think it's hard for people to change beliefs and to think for themselves and do research to see through all the clouds. That is not something that is "taught" but in these times it's necessary.

Thanks!! I might just have to try the crumpets with some vegemite now....

Not too thick, just a thin layer.
So good.


See your post mentioned here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61