How to Buy Bitcoin with Your Local Fiat Currency (Europe and UK) - while sitting in your garden

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

When I first looked around to buy BTC there were only a few obvious choices

On Local Bitcoins most merchants wouldn't trade with you unless there is a trust established between the parts, which might mean than you might have to stay and watch the price go up without being able to buy more than 300 pounds worth of bitcoin at times.

Bittylicious is an option for quick conversions to Crypto Assets, but it does have quite low limits and high fees.

However after some diggings I found some that would improve on my experience, from those, my favourites are:

  • Coinfloor: Only recently I discovered this really well put together little bot which helped me discover coinfloor. Coinfloor is simple and reliable, has 2 main features for buying bitcoin using only 3 fiat currencies: EUR, USD, GBP. The pairs are obvious and simple, which makes it straightforward for selling bitcoin for fiat currency as well. Main sellers are reliable and a minimum deposit of 1000 pounds on transfers makes me cheer as I could barely make a transfer that size before, in 3 or more trades.

    Update as per Coinfloor to discontinue the Express Buy service, change deposit minimums, and reinstate trading fees the New Minimum deposit amount for GBP will be 2,500.00 .

  • Bittybot can be useful in many other ways as well, to start with, it can help identify the best rate at which you can buy bitcoin with a few other fiat currencies than GBP, other supported coins are USD, EUR, CAD, NZD and AUD.


This post is an update of an older guide I wrote to myself a while ago How can I buy bitcoin with pounds ?

@heiditravels also published a quite comprehensive article on How to Buy Bitcoin with Your Local Fiat Currency (Plus an Awesome Guide for Many Crypto Wallets)}.

Although I have not used it, Uphold which was recommended by @marketingmonk in Near $11,000 BTC 📈 Time To Cash Out And Take Profit? Here's How With Uphold.com would be one of my next things to try in order to improve on my experience.

Please allow me to reiterate Heidi's tip on exchanges:

They are designed for individuals who want to exchange cryptos at a fairly rapid rate. They are not designed for secure storage of your investments.


My preferred Romanian Exchange, in case someone needs to use RON would be BTC XChange. They have a nice smart feature that would be nice to see in other exchanges, as well, which allows you to send BTC and RON would be automatically transferred to your bank account.


Short recap on resources:

Bittybot
Coinfloor
Bittylicious
Local Bitcoins
BTC XChange

How can I buy bitcoin with pounds ?
Near $11,000 BTC 📈 Time To Cash Out And Take Profit? Here's How With Uphold.com
How can I buy bitcoin with pounds ?

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.35% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

beautiful pictures of friends

This post has received gratitude of 1.70 % from @appreciator thanks to: @decebal2dac.

You got a 1.03% upvote from @upme requested by: @decebal2dac.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

This post has received a 3.62 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @decebal2dac. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43