What's In Store for 2018

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Bitcoin is not the only thing experiencing astronomical growth; I have been fortunate enough to see this YouTube channel "Crypto Investor" grow from nothing to over 100k subs in just 4 months! Here's some of what you can expect in the future from the channel and associated platforms:

  1. More frequent uploads on a variety of subjects, not limited to just Bitcoin and price action (although there will be plenty on those). News events coverage, price action coverage, altcoin coverage, etc.

  2. More high quality videos with related articles. These will be designed to make you think more and will be well organized and sourced. They are the type of videos / articles that will improve your understanding of this crazy ecosystem we are playing a part in. Those articles will go up on Steemit, Seeking Alpha, and Medium. I will be promoting these articles with Twitter and Reddit, so if you'd like to help, check out my Twitter at twitter.com/Truth_Investor. I am /user/Crypto_Finance on Reddit.

  3. A new video series called "An Investor's Guide to ...", a series where I will go into detail on all that you need to know about a particular cryptocurrency for investing (e.g: inflation, block speed, transaction throughput, catalysts, community support, developer support, Github analysis, white paper analysis, etc.). Might even have a few "special" episodes that go into traditional investments like stocks, fixed income, derivatives, etc.

  4. More guides for some of the more basic elements of investing and cryptocurrencies (e.g: how to buy them, how to use certain exchanges, recommended exchanges, how to store them, recommended wallets, technical analysis vs. fundamental analysis, etc.).

  5. Podcasts might come soon

  6. At some point, will begin hiring other people to help with production of videos so they are more enjoyable and interactive to watch

  7. Much more, some of which I can't talk about yet...

All in all, the big goal for 2018 is 1m subscribers on YouTube. I picked an insane number because we're already 2 months ahead of where I wanted to be (I originally was aiming for 100k subscribers by beginning of March). If the Bitcoin craze continues the way it has, we should be able to reach that mark. Even if we don't, aiming for it can't hurt as it will push the channel to new heights.

Finally, expect me to promote Steemit as my primary distribution channel outside of YouTube for content. I plan on promoting Steem posts on Reddit & Twitter over Seeking Alpha and Medium as there is a monetary incentive for me to do so, a monetary incentive for YOU to engage, and it's cryptocurrency based so how could we not? Right now, on January 1st, I'm averaging around 1.5 - 3k views per Steemit post. Let's aim for 10k views per post and beyond.

Happy new year everyone!

Sort:  

I found you on youtube, among the others... I deleted most by now and kept the chart guys, crypto bobby, trade devil, real-crypto and haejin lee plus a few who don't post frequently... with you, it was mostly the critical point of view that I found interesting as it refreshingly countermands the general trend. I think you shouldn't get all excited about quality (it's okay so far, I can hear you) and entertainment, it costs much time to imitate Hollywood.

People in crypto agonize over information and they value your diverging opinion most, because what they need is help to make decisions, and it's terrible for them having to make their own just because none of their gurus is posting at the moment - never forget that we're herd animals ;)

While I'm very interested in backgrounds of the finance sector et al (and often listen to youtubers talking in the background, especially those with half-hour videos or more), I think most here will keep watching your channel for warnings of what they should stay away from, in the sense of, "if crypto-investor feels good about something that haejin lee propagated a few days ago, then I might actually risk putting money into it..."
I call it synergy - on youtube/social networks, you're never alone.

jojo,

It's always nice to hear your opinion. You're definitely one of the top posters here on Steemit (I see you everywhere) so I defer to your thoughts related to the field of coverage in general. I'm happy to hear I'm providing some type of value and in case there is any worry, there won't be any changes in who I am or what I do, just how much I do and how good it is. Thanks for always watching and commenting!

Thanks for making me aware - I hadn't realized that... this is a comparatively small and fresh network, I bow my head in shame for bringing the chatty habits of Google to this virgin platform ;) I'm by now means always watching, I'm just used to digging up the information I need, and I don't follow that many people. I wouldn't be surprised if many more youtubers eventually end up here...
I've never hesitated playing the Cassandra myself, so I appreciate it if someone has the wisdom and the guts to do it, and even more that many others actually seem to realize the value of that. Maybe not all hope is lost for humanity ;)

Honestly, I don't think you need "higher quality" content. I watch all of your videos because you have a background in finance and you know EXACTLY what you are talking about. You are basically the only crypto channel I watch who actually understand the markets and what the graphs mean and make accurate predictions for the future. I have learned so much from your videos about how cryptocurrency works, that it is insane. In fact, I actually get kind of upset when I watch other videos talking about crypto because in my head I go, "That's not right!", or cryptoinvestor said exactly the opposite of that and his explanation made sense! When you said other bignames only scratch the surface of the issues, I 100% agree with you on this. That is why I typically only watch you.

In the beginning, your monotone nature kind of set me off, but I have gotten used to it and now enjoy it when you make little jabs at things or jokes. I especially laughed reading your response to a fellow youtuber who is "all in" on ripple a few days ago, and how his username of "teenage investor" fit him well. LOL. I actually joined Steemit because of your promotion of it.

Some questions I have for you / video ideas are what is your opinion on Wallstreet getting involved in crypto in 2018 ( you may have answered this in a previous video but I may have missed it), and what is your opinion on Bitcoin losing a ton of market share, down to 37% currently. I know in the past you said you are weary of Bitcoin losing market share because when the market corrects everything typically gets hurt worse than BTC.

All in all, great job growing your channel so fast! You're one of my favorite channels on youtube.

Wall Street won't be that important until we see an ETF get approved - most of Wall Street is not allowed to own Bitcoin or cryptocurrencies directly. So the big thing to follow will be ETF submissions and responses from SEC. I think the declining Bitcoin market share is an opportunity - all it takes is the launch of the Lightning Network for everyone to suddenly switch from altcoins to Bitcoin. Recall that while Bitcoin had its bull run from October to December, everyone thought altcoins would never see any love ever again. Now people think Bitcoin is too slow and expensive, thus Bitcoin will die a slow death and altcoins will start to take over its market share. But I bet you that Bitcoin will come back with a ferocity, as it always does.

I agree with this. I like his monotone, and truthful speech. It's soothing over all these shillers. I dig his dry humor crypto_investor throws in subtly as well.

First of all, I want to thank you for all the great content. From all of the crypto youtube channels (and god are there many), I keep coming back for yours - I find your understanding of the field broad, genuine and overall trustworthy. So keep up the great work!

I wanted to ask you a question about a Rebalancing strategy - do you use it on your crypto portfolio, and would you recommend it? If you do use it, do you compare your relative portions of the portfolio to fiat or to BTC value and what is better?

Another question is related to the last one. From what I generally notice- Bitcoin value and different altcoins value, alternate in growing/depreciating. My hypothesis is that once Bitcoin is consolidating or dipping, new money is waiting on the sidelines. Once that new money decides to buy the dip, day traders and others want to capitalize on that uptrend and move some of their altcoins value back to BTC, then - after a few days when the BTC price stabilizes again, the new buyers want to diversify and buy altcoins thus creating the other trend. I don't know if that sounds reasonable at all or not, but for me it makes sense and I want to hear your thoughts about it. If it is true it means that a rebalancing strategy can be a smart idea since it will always capitalize on the asset which is growing. Would love to get your two cents on the matter.

I don't rebalance generally unless the opportunity is (in my opinion) large enough to warrant realizing capital gains. I tend to believe Bitcoin does better than alts when it is moving rapidly in either direction. Consolidation is what kills Bitcoin's dominance. If we see another bull run like we did in beginning of December, I suspect we will see as you expect (altcoins moving to Bitcoin). But I also think the opposite is true too: If we see a bear run for Bitcoin, then I also think altcoins will flee to Bitcoin.

Hey! Like your videos man, I think they're very informative. Good to hear we can expect even more content the coming year. I've had a question for a while now. It doesn't really relate to the content of this video, but Im gonna ask anyway.
I don't understand why certain tokens are worth money. VeChain for example. I get that the idea of being able to store product/production line information in a blockchain is very valuable, but why is the VEN token valuable? What is the incentive to buy VEN? It's not like VEN will ever beat out a dedicated blockchain currency, as it is not it's stated goal to be a currency. Should you just see it as a sideways investment in the company behind VeChain?
Im using VeChain as an example now, but ofcourse there's loads more. SALT, Steem, Substratum, etc.. Basically any crypto that's not a dedicated currency in some way, I don't understand why that token would be worth buying, except as an investment in the company/team behind it. But that would make so many coins so ridiculously overpriced. And yes, I also feel like the entire market is already overpriced, but this would be ridiculous. Any insight would be much appreciated!

Also I can't figure out where the money from steem is coming from. As I understand it, you can upvote something you like on steem, with the steem token. Which you can buy. But what is the incentive to buy it? I mean, right now there's incentive because the whole market is crazy and people just buy because they expect things to go up, but what's the long term incentive to buy steem? I dont have to buy any steem to be able to see content.

Anyway, keep doing what you do, me and my crypto partner in crime really appreciate it!

Oh and a happy NY

Well a lot of times the token has a utility in whatever ecosystem it is designed for so it has value. If the demand for that service increases, then the token value increases - hence why people invest. It's like instead of setting a static price for a product / service, you let it free float. If the product / service is in high demand, price will rise. That's how most tokens work.

Steem is an interesting case study. The incentive to buy Steem (and vest it) is to become a stakeholder in the platform (as the network of Steem applications grows, Steem becomes more valuable) and to gain influence on said applications. Of course, we don't know how this will work over the long-term. But it is one of the only solutions I've seen so far in an attempt to monetize social media content without ads. If abuse could be stunted, I'd be much more bullish than I currently am.

Thank you for the comment and hopefully some of my future videos clarify any further complex concepts.

Hi Crypto Investor,
With all your plans to expand and push for one million subscribers, I feel I should warn you of the dangers of sitting passively in front of screens emitting blue light and with EMF buzzing around your cells for hours on end, seven days a week. I spent 10+ years trading FX. I wanted very high volume markets that kept trading around the clock moving from one global sector to the next, so that manipulation was less likely to occur and my chart analysis was more successful as a result. I burnt myself out with adrenal fatigue, weight gain, poor mood, and worst of all my neurotransmitter balance changed so that my judgement also declined.
When I stopped trading my account as a profession, I studied functional medicine and nutritional therapy with advanced supplements use. I needed to get to the underlying causes of the massive decline in my health and correct those imbalances. I am not a believer in managing symptoms with pharmaceuticals that are not designed to cure anything. I have come to Steemit to hopefully start writing about this stuff and explain how you can keep yourself healthy. There isn’t exactly one simple answer to this, but managing the functionality and maintaining the number of your mitochondria is right up there at the top of the list and yet rarely discussed when you visit a doctor. They power cells, but also your immune system and even effect your changing genetic expression.

I am more of an investor these days in cryptos, than a trader. I am not glued to every second of price movement, and even let a couple of days drift by without checking prices. I also feel if you are successful in this field, it is prudent to move some profits into the metals such as gold and silver. These should be exploding to highs equal to those of cryptos, but they are very heavily suppressed. However, just like a pressure cooker simmering away, the lid will blow off them and they will find their true value one day. In my mind the big swing into metals, such as in the Far East, and cryptos is simply people not wanting to have their money in any bank apart from daily needs. In the UK, the government guarantees to pay back a certain amount of money of savers when the next bank goes down. In reality this would not be possible.
Crypto Investor, don’t expand your business at any cost, especially to your health, without understanding how you can bring yourself back to health naturally.
Happy New Year to you all

Thanks for the kind and thoughtful words. Yes, I am aware of what type of path I am going down. I've done this type of stuff before and I won't put myself at too much risk. Honestly I'm far too lazy of a person to become a true "work-a-holic," but I am going to do my best to achieve that. I've been given a massive opportunity here, far beyond what most people are given. I feel it is an insult to not put my best foot forward and seize that opportunity.

Final off topic paragraph:-
Your best investment for 2018 would be a Joovv panel or possibly even a VieLight Neuro. 810-850nm is the critically important light range you need.
Photobiomodulation is also the most life changing word you will hear this year.
Take out 50 mins to watch this:-

Great Advice! I totally Agree

I would love to hear your take on Fedcoin. So far the stuff I've read/watched suggest the entire crypto market will be squeezed to death once they enter the scene.

(https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/bitcoin-is-big-but-fedcoin-is-bigger/2017/12/18/53e2e79a-e1b8-11e7-89e8-edec16379010_story.html?utm_term=.55265b20a1ec)

Then there's this article featuring economist Joseph Stiglitz who basically takes a bit shit on Crypto currencies in general. This is troubling because he's a very influential economist.
(https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-11-29/bitcoin-ought-to-be-outlawed-nobel-prize-winner-stiglitz-says-jal10hxd)

there's more but I'll leave it there. The more I look at stuff like this the more clear it becomes that Crypto-currencies are a direct "fuck you" to the banking system. Which are arguably among the most powerful institutions on the planet. They Hate CC and are simultaneously fascinated by it as long as they are the only game in town.

When I look out my window I see a telephone pole with cables and a three phase transformer. I see the internet cables running to my house and to the the next house and the next. Decentralized my ass. If they wanted to shut this thing down, they could, it wouldn't be hard.

The only hope I see is in tech like this: (

)
Or this:
(
)

Stuff that actually pulls the information we exchange off the legacy wires that have connected the country for so long. I got into CC because I read the book master switch by tim wu and I thought Blockchain was the next step in disruptive tech. Wrong. the next disruptive tech will be something that allows for communication without relying on legacy systems. I gave some possible examples with the links above but I don't fucking know man I'm just some asshole from Ohio. I'm looking for anyone that has a different take on this.

Also I wanted to thank you for talking about steemit on your youtube channel it was the first I heard about it.

Idea,

I'll be talking about government intervention with cryptocurrencies at some point, but I honestly don't think the end is going to be the replacement of fiat currencies. I think the end goal is a better Paypal / Square and alternative option for those who want to exist SOMEWHAT outside of the current system. In short though, as long as the government can tax it, they probably won't outlaw it. It's not a real threat to the government - They don't have to make Bitcoin capable of paying taxes, pay down debt, or make it legal tender. Without those things, Bitcoin simply can't replace fiat currencies unless those governments are overthrown entirely. Good luck with that.

Concerning your last Etherium video - I watched bitcoin do a mini symmetrical triangle similar to what Eherium is doing now last Friday night on the BTC 1m ticker and it basically flatlined before it dropped.

Is there a way to determine the breakout direction of the symmetric triangle the chart is doing? What are the possible dynamics in that situation?

@vpredoehl :

Hi.

I know your question was not directed at me, but if you don't mind reading my two cents on the subject...
I personally see this comment as much as a way of gathering my thoughts than trying to produce a helpful comment, actually, so please pardon me if it's not the answer you were expecting.

Before going further, I've got to say this : please don't take my words for granted here.
First warning : I'm not a professional investor and quite a newbie in the field.
Second warning : while it worked not so bad for me in the last few months, technical analysis may be not so useful and/or reliable in a market which seems to be somewhat surprising (read: irrational) even for veterans (and that's our host stance on the subject, provided I understood correctly what he said in various videos) .

So...

  1. Everybody's trying to predict the next market move, but in the end there's no certain way to determine the breakout direction of a compression (triangle), and that's why you basically have to wait for it to happen : wait for a signal. There again, there's no certain signal predicting what will happen in the next few timeframes, but when you see a long held pattern breaking, you can reasonably expect a change in the trend.
  2. The point is not to pinpoint the exact moment at which the trend is modified (let's say 'breaking up', as that what's you will mostly looking for with a basic buy order), the point is to identify a clear/trustworthy signal. There's no "too late"... as long as it has room to continue to go up and that you're able to sell at a higher price at some point in the (near or far) future. There's no "too soon"... as long as it doesn't go down forever after you bought at an all-time-high. I know this does not seem helpful at first, but what I'm trying to push forward is that, while the "buy low, sell high" rule may seem quite difficult to follow, it never was meant to be "buy at the lowest, sell at the highest".
  3. Be careful to the timeframes you are using. Would you expect to be able to spot a new fashion trend just by looking at the people crossing you street in the next minute ? Of course not. Same applies for candles. Even if your looking at dozens of 1 minutes, there are 1440 in a day, 10080 in a week.
    Of course, market rallies or dips can happen in a few minutes, but you won't die if you miss a part of the action or wait a little bit to make sure the breakout is really happening. And hot price action happening does not mean you should base your technical analysis on the shortest timeframe you can find.
    Actually, most of the time it's quite the contrary. First, sticking to the 1 minute leads to FOMO, and you absolutely want to avoid that. Second, the more you 'zoom in', the more you'll see false flags/signals.
    The more you 'zoom out', the more you'll average the movements and will have an accurate look at what is a meaningful change. Take some height there, and at least pay attention to the daily candles. Draw you trendlines based on multiple day candles, then zoom in to the 6 or 4h to spot a breakup during the day. Even better, also have a look at the weekly to get a grasp of what going on in the bigger picture, and pay attention to past resistances and support on wider timeframes.
    Big even numbers are also something you should take into account, as investor psychology plays a big role in market moves (think about automated orders, for example : imagine you are going for the long run on a crypto - where would you set a stop sell order ? Isn't that a big even you have in mind ?).
  4. And, finally, remember that, while drawing lines on a graph generated by raw price data can be very useful, it's final purpose is to help you identify and understand what's happening in a market driven by human beings. It's useful, but you also have to pay attention to the rest : the fundamentals of the project behind your crypto (usecases, team, roadmap and delivery, competing cryptos,...), the good/bad news surrounding it, and so on...

Once again, take all this with caution, but I hope this helps a bit - and I wish you profitable runs.
Be careful, though...

Thanks for jumping in. Your answer confirmed my basic intuition, but I wanted to be sure. I'm new to investing and signed up for Coingy's free trial. I am overwhelmed by the number of tools they offer and hope I can become sophisticated enough to use many of them. Crypto Investor's videos have so far been leading in a common sense direction. For example, the head and shoulders pattern is very intuitively understood from the perspective of investor's mindset. This amazed me as I assumed all analysis must be mathematically based.

I guess you have to get burned once to get rid of that "I gotta jump into the market" hysteria.

@vpredoehl :
Hey there. I just stumbled on this and I think it's a good watch :

Have a look at tradingview.com ; the free account features and tools are quite impressive.

Hey I thought about trying a new approach this year after looking into these crypto index fund platforms and their growth seems crazy compared to just holding coins.

Like Bit20 has been around for a while, but now there seems to be several popping up like the recent ICO Crypto20 which will start trading on HitBTC in a few weeks. There's also Bitwise which is more on the high end side requiring you to meet accredited investor status and a $25,000 initial investment.

One of my favorite services so far is called CoinCube. They offer a wide array of different indexes and allows you to create your own indexes as well. You can set your own weightings for each coin and the rebalancing frequency.

The craziest part of their platform is how much their indexes are worth now compared to the initial investment. Their Top50 Coin Equal Distribution index went from a $1000 initial investment to almost $100 million in only 2 years. In the same timeframe holding Bitcoin would have returned about $55,000.

Anyway what is your opinion on these types of services? Every one of them I have looked at so far has shown to beat Bitcoin over time, no matter if it was equally weighted, market cap weighted, 10 coins, 50 coins, rebalanced constantly or every month. Obviously diversification is a powerful tool but this almost seems too good to be true.

I found you on the kryptokitties video wondering what that was and stayed for the awesome content. On one of your videos you mentioned a couple other people that you follow on youtube but I forget, would you mind sharing that again here? Thanks.

Datadash, Crypto Bobby, Boxmining, Ivan on Tech, Chris Dunn, and Ameer Rosic are all good.

Hi Crypto Investor, new member here. Love your stuff. Excited to see all your high quality and high value videos in 2018. I think i saw you post somewhere that you thought you could learn more about technical analysis. Have you seen TradeDevil on youtube? He's the most technical I've found so far online. I'll check out the other ones you recommended.
Thanks and Happy New Year!

I pretty much just watch Cryptovestor and DataDash... they're the best ones.

CRYPTO DAILY !!!
funny bloke aswell

You are by far my favorite cryptocurrency video maker. I've tried to watch some other people but it seems like they are more interested in hyping their preferred currencies instead of giving true analysis. Keep up the good work!

Thank you pach, I appreciate that. Hope you stick around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52