The Standing Rock Bike Tour - Day 16 - Riding Through the Rez

in #bikes7 years ago

October 25th, 2016 Day 16

I woke up the next morning, wrapped up in bliss, and soft, warm covers. I had taken a shower the night before, but I figured I’d indulge again. Who knows when my next shower would be.

My bike bags were a mess and filled with crumbs, so I took a couple minutes to reorganize everything. I didn’t expect my blankets to be wet, though, and when I felt their dampness, my heart dropped.

The mineral water had spilled! … At least one of the bottles had. I knew I should have given that couple the entire bottle! I still had the one though, so I dug into my bags and pulled out some masking tape. Once I was sure that the bottle was sealed tightly, I wrapped up the cap in a dozen layers of tape; I couldn’t afford another accident.

Luckily, it was looking like I could afford a couple snacks, though. A couple of my friends saw my post and were quick to help; I was just waiting on the money to go through now.

I did a load of laundry and washed all of my clothes and blankets, then updated my travel blog with a post.

“105 miles left until I reach The Standing Rock Reservation in North Dakota! I feel refreshed, recharged, and ready to push myself (and all this gear) as far as my legs will take me.

I'd love to make it there tonight- but who knows if I will.

All I know, is that I've grown- and if I can put as much effort into bringing my ideas to life, as I do in pedaling my bike, we will start to see some awesome solutions start to manifest!

Big love goes out to everyone praying and supporting me on my journey, as well as those supporting Standing Rock!

We are warriors. We are heroes. We are the change!

And we will soon see, a beautiful new day! Our water will be protected, treaties will be respected, and injustice will crumble away! I have faith! We will win!”

I met the owner of the inn, and he asked me what all the cancelations were about, so I told him about the sketchy woman at the gas station, and her potential trap. He didn’t seem surprised, but after hearing that, I noticed his voice took on a more compassionate tone.

“How far do you think you’ll go today?” He asked.

“I don’t know. I want to sleep at Standing Rock tonight…but that’s still over a hundred miles away. So, my strategy is to just pedal until I collapse.” I replied.

IMG_3111.JPG

Before I left the inn, a couple hunters pulled up. They were amused at my endeavor and suggested that we should all take a photo. I didn’t have anything to loose, so I grinned a little more than usual for the camera, and huddled up amongst the men.

IMG_3112.JPG

The next thing I know, mile markers were flying by. I knew Philana was going to be driving back to Colorado today, so I kept an eye out for her silver Subaru.

I wasn’t willing to leave our reunion up to chance though, so I called her when I stopped in Timber Lake. Coincidently, she too was near Timber Lake. She just past it actually, so she turned around and came barreling towards me.

I was listening to some Cas Haley when I saw her pull into the lot. She immediately jumped out of her car and came running towards me. I too started running towards her, and in a moment of blissful reconnection, we dove into each other’s arms; I picked her up and spun her.

Love was finally within reach- in fact, it was here!

We celebrated the joy we found in each other’s gaze and kind embrace, and began to dance to the music we heard!

Dipping and spinning across the parking lot, we invited a twist of magic into the space. When at last the song ended, she rolled into my arms and we held each other. This was all I ever really needed.

She couldn’t stay in my arms forever though; being part of a caravan, she needed to catch up to the group. Before she left, I gave her a little gift. It was a small, heart shaped stone that I had been carrying since I started the journey. It wasn’t much, but it was something.

When our friend Ahva gave the signal, we said our goodbyes. Dust kicked up as they spun out of the parking lot, and I was once again, all alone.

1.jpg

IMG_3145.JPG

I didn’t have much cash left, but I did snag a personal pan pizza from the gas station before I continued on. Once I made it to Standing Rock, I wouldn’t need any cash, I just needed to make sure my last couple bucks would stretch that far.

On my way out of town I rolled past two giant lakes. Ahead of me, a white van pulled over on the side of the road, and waved me to his window.

IMG_3155.JPG

“Hey! I saw you riding a couple miles ago, and wanted to give you this.” He handed me a reflective safety vest. “It’s not always easy to see bikers out here, and I don’t want you getting hurt. Are you heading up to Standing Rock?”

“Oh wow! Thanks! Yeah… I am heading up there.” I replied.

“Excellent! You’re almost there! Just be safe alright?” he spoke to me like a father would, and even offered me a granola bar.

I didn’t have much time to express my gratitude before he pulled off. When he did, I adorned the neon yellow garb and took back to the streets.

It was still pretty gloomy out, but the headwinds had died down significantly. Walls of hay bales lined the road, and occasionally, I‘d spot a flock of birds, swarming and folding into kinetic black clouds overhead.

IMG_3163.JPG

Barns and grain towers were now common features, and even though it was peaceful, I longed for something a little more stimulating. So I dug into an audio book of Dale Carnegie’s “How to Win Friends, and Influence People.” It wasn’t my first time reading this book, but it was a great refresher.

Sometimes I needed a reminder that “a man offended is harder to win than a fortified city” and that criticism only creates a rift between people. I needed to remember how much people love sincere appreciation, and how important it is to “get outside ourselves” and see things from another’s viewpoint.

IMG_3183.JPG

IMG_3163.JPG

Every chapter I listened to got me closer to Cannon Ball, so I read on. The only I distraction I had out here, was the giant green tractor that chased me down the road.

Eventually he passed me. I took a left to go north, then found the sign I was looking for-“Welcome to the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Reservation.” I made it!

…Kind of. I was still out in the middle of nowhere, and was pretty sure I was still in South Dakota. I still had to cross another state line if I wanted to get to where all the action was happening.

IMG_3187.JPG

The night crept in, but I kept pushing on. I looked to my right, and through the darkness, I saw more horses running alongside me. These thunderous beings were much further from the road than the sunset stallions I encountered in Wyoming a week prior. Yet their presence was still undeniable.

Inspired and amazed, I kept racing forward long after we parted ways. It wasn’t until a minivan flagged me down that I slowed my pace. A man and his wife were heading up to the Prayer Camps, and asked if I needed a ride…or any snacks.

I had to refuse the ride, but boy was I ever grateful for the granola bars they sent my way! After we exchanged introductions and briefly chatted about what brought us here, they loaded up, and let me return to complete the last bit of my ride.

Dipping down to the river, then trekking over what felt like a giant hillside, the road stretched into the night. Finally rolling over the top of the hill, McLaughlin appeared in the distance.

IMG_3189.JPG

The city lights burned into the horizon like embers, and above it all, a glowing orange orb of ambient light hung. If my vision was blurred, I would have believed I was heading straight towards a forest fire. Yet all that imagery burnt up as I got closer.

The closer I got, the easier it was to see everything. What at first appeared as embers, were now nothing more than a gridlocked neighborhood, comprised of small cookie cutter homes; to a certain degree, it reminded me of an impoverished suburb.

More than ready for a break, I pulled in front of the town’s school, and sunk into the bench outside. For whatever reason, it felt good to be sitting under a street light.

IMG_3190.JPG

It had to be somewhere between 8 and 9 at night, yet I still saw kids walking around the building. I suddenly felt out of place and left.

My belly started to rumble, so I sought out a gas station for sustenance. Before I could get to the door, a man called me over to his truck.

Waving me closer, he asked, “Are you heading up to the camps?”

“I am.” I replied.

He scanned my bike and trailer, then asked, “Where ya coming in from?”

As I replied,” Denver” a sense of accomplishment washed over me.

I imagine the man was impressed, and somewhat delighted to hear that, because he offered me food immediately. “Are you hungry? Here, have some chicken.”

He opened up the small carton of fried chicken he just bought at the gas station, and offered me a leg. Then he reached behind him and pulled out a brown paper bag.

“Here, have this.” He said.

I wasn’t used to receiving handouts, but it felt like God was in the midst of it. I was broke and hungry, and without even asking for help, it was given, so I accepted the kind Lakota man’s gift.

“Hey, do you have a second? I want to get you something.” I said.

He nodded, so I got off my bike, and dug into my trailer for the mineral water.

“I want to share this with the people at camp, but I if you’d like a sip, I’d be honored to share it with you! It’s some mineral water that I prayerfully bottled up in Manitou Springs, Colorado. I’ve brought it up as a gift… you know, as a symbol of ‘water, without oil’.

I know white people have been messing with your people for hundreds of years, and I for one, am ashamed of the legacy. So this is my apology.”

The man was clearly moved, as was I, but from across the parking lot, a younger Lakota man called out and interrupted the exchange.

“What are ya’ll drinking over there?” He walked closer. “Is that some hooch? “

The driver took a reverent swig, and then handed the bottle back to me.

“Nope, this is some mineral water that I prayerfully bottled up in Manitou Springs, Colorado. Would you like some?” I said as I offered him the bottle.

“Sure.” He replied.

He took a moment, as if to pray, before he took a swig. “Philámayaye.”

As he briefly let the water roll over his tongue, his face lit up with the peculiar taste.

“Wow- that tastes interesting!”

“Right?” I asked. “I think it’s the natural lithium that gives it that electric bite. I collected this from 8 different mineral springs back home, which all taste slightly different… so this blend should be something special.”

He handed the bottle back to me, and then lowered his voice a little. “Speaking of something special… do you smoke?”

I thought about it for a moment, and decided to settle for the truth. “I do.”

“Here, come with me.” He said as he walked off towards his car.

I turned to the Lakota man who had given me food, and thanked him again for his generosity and kindness. In return, he thanked me for coming in a good way, and for helping to protect his water.

When I made my way over to the young Lakota man’s car, he was half way in, scrambling to find his stash. Then, as he proceeded to roll up a pinner, we got to know each other. He even taught me some Lakota phrases.

“When you finally get up to the camps, introduce yourself by saying, ‘Aƞpétu wašte! Mitakuyepi ’…followed by your name, then ’ Táku eníčiyapi he? ’”

He could tell I was lost, so he continued slowly, “So I would say,’Aƞpétu wašté ! Mitakuyepi Brave Eagle. Táku eníčiyapi he?”

I looked at him, in confusion.

“Aƞpétu wašté” He said.

“Ampet- oo –washtay” I echoed.

“Mikahuyepi...” he continued.

“Mit-ak-ooo- wape?” I stammered back.

“You’re name. ‘”

“Scott” I replied.

As if pausing from the language lesson, he extended his hand and said, “Pleased to meet you Scott, I’m Brave Eagle.”

“The pleasure’s all mine.” I smiled back.

Returning to the lesson he continued, “Now say,’ Táku eníčiyapi he?’”

“Takoo en eesea ape.” I replied.

“Now all together.” He instructed me. “Aƞpétu wašté Mitahuyepi” He gestured towards me, “Scott” Then continued,” Táku eníčiyapi he?

“Ampet- oo –washtay, Mit- ak-oo whope, Scott.”

I blanked out.

“Táku eníčiyapi he? ” he chimed in.

“Taku emasee yapee”

With a good deal of excitement he replied, “Excellent! If you introduce yourself like that to people at the camp, they’ll love you for it.”

The phrase was hard to pronounce, let alone memorize, but I did my best to engrave it in my mind. The two of us talked for a couple minutes before his friends arrived.

Two women had pulled up beside us, and started talking to Brave Eagle. When we all introduced ourselves, and I told them my story, one of the women proposed to me.

I was in a playful spirit, so I joked around, “I’m kinda busy at the moment… but you know- many next time I’m in town…”

All four of us hung out for a moment, but when the conversation slowed down, I slipped back into the night. The Prayer Camps in Cannon Ball were within reach, and all I wanted to do was get there.

I made it less than five miles out of town when I gave up and decided to rest for the night. I figured it would be better to arrive in the day light anyways.


Previous Chapters Include-
Introduction- Igniting the Fire at Unify
Day 1- Indigenous People's Day
Day 2 - Musical Mantras
Day 3 - Bottling My Prayers
Day 4 - Glorious Heights
Day 5 - Inner TurmOil
Day 6 - Massive Strides
Day 7 - Sunset Stallions
Day 8 - Wind River
Day 9 - Storms and Thorns
Day 10 - The Green Gospel
Day 11 - Prayers for Pine Ridge
Day 12 - The Cattle Choir
Day 13 - Deadly Highways
Day 14 - Hanging in there...
Day 15 - Ceremonial Exchange

The Story Continues...

Learn more, and access all available chapters at-
http://www.righteousendeavors.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47