The Standing Rock Bike Tour - Day 10 - The Green Gospel

in #adventure7 years ago

October 19th, Day 10

I passed out for what I can only imagine was 30 minutes, before I heard an employee walk in. I quickly repositioned myself onto the toilet, and pretended I was doing my business.

I heard a knock, and a man call out, “Maintenance.”

“Just a second” I called out.

I knew he knew I was in there, and felt as if he had been aware of my presence for a while. So I left the bathroom.

I tried sleeping upright on the bench again, but it still wasn’t any more comfortable than it was before. It took hours of fidgeting to bring up the sun, but eventually it came.

Sitting wasn’t sleeping, but it was miles better than freezing. I started to feel a little awkward as customers started showing up and walking past me, so I left for a better place to loiter.

I returned to the restaurant I was at hours earlier, and ordered a cup of coffee and a biscuits. As I chewed away, I watched two ladies a couple seats away, examine my bike through the window.

When we made eye contact, one of them waved. ”Is that your bike out there?”

“Yup” I smiled back.

“Where are you coming in from?” she asked.

“Denver” I replied. Then with a grin I added, “…heading to Standing Rock.”

I could sense a wave of fascination wash over the women, instantly igniting a conversation. I told them about my journey thus far, and all of the joys and struggles I had encountered along the way.

When I mentioned I had just slept in a handicapped bathroom stall, and used a roll of toilet paper as a pillow, I could feel their maternal instinct kick in.

“Oh my! That sounds like quite the adventure! Here, can I buy you some breakfast?”

I was down to my last $100, so I gladly accepted the offer.

She told me to order whatever I wanted, then gave me a twenty dollar bill.

“Keep the change too!” She gladly remarked.

“Really?" I asked in disbelief. "Ah, I can’t thank you enough! You’re the best! What’s your name?” I asked.

“I’m Ruth, and this is Joette.” She said, as she gestured to her friend.

“Thank you Ruth! You’re a life saver! I really appreciate this meal. You and Joette are awesome!”

“No problem. Just keep pedaling ok?” she winked at me, and then left with her friend.

Reenergized by their kindness, I hoped in line, ordered a number 2 and some more coffee, and then got to eating. No more than 10 minutes later, I was out of there.

The sun was on its way up now, and the darkness that cloaked my trailer was now burnt away. This meant all my gear- my livelihood- was up for grabs, for anyone who wanted it.

Knowing this, I leaned into the coffee, and cranked up my cadence. No one was going to get to snag my bags.

Miles down the road, I spotted my landmarks. Then, in a glimmering coat of dew, I spotted my trailer. Untouched and fully covered, she sat right where I left her.

IMG_2594.JPG

I pulled away the tarp, and dragged my trailer up onto the road. Then I sat down and got cozy. Fixing this tube would take a second or two.

A locomotive charged past me, and muffled the silence of the open road, with its mechanical chug. Ten minutes later, the deed was done, and I was up and rolling.

... or so I thought.

Somehow, in the process of fixing the tube on my trailer, the front wheel of my bike got a flat. Once again, I was digging back into my tools, and getting my hands dirty.

All my tires were fully inflated now- but I was more paranoid than ever; I felt like Indiana Jones in a snake pit. Still, in spite of my fears, I persisted.

IMG_2600.JPG

Ten miles down the road, I started to relax a little; I was still floating smoothly on the compressed air in my tires, and wasn’t seeing any signs of leakage.

Plus, the landscape was shifting. The endless green fields of weeds and thorns were evolving into more docile fields of tall grass and clustered pines. Clear skies opened up overhead. All of the stress that had built up when I was dealing with those thorns, finally rolled off my shoulders, and a calm, yet focused stride took back the reins.

IMG_2604.JPG

Nestled in a thin grove of cottonwoods and pines, I spotted a collection of picnic tables. Naturally, my curiosity took over, and I went to explore the area. A hundred feet away, I saw a small pond positioned in front of three pines trees, and a set of rail road tracks.

I unwrapped my lunch, and started tearing away at the hearty sub. Tomatoes oozed out of the bun, and dripped down onto my shirt. But I didn’t care; I was hungry.

When there was nothing left but crumbs, I dusted off my shirt and stood up. As I stretched and looked around, I felt compelled to sing. So I unpacked my guitar and started tuning up the strings.

I knew I was in a prime location to film another music video, so I scanned the field for the perfect shot. Then, when everything was set up, I walked up to the camera, and let loose.

“What’s up everybody, this is Scottie Mac, and I’ve come to tell you that if you have a dream, a plan, an idea, or just a desired emotion, all you have to do is…

Just dream it up in your head,
And harmonize it with your heart,
And let it flow through your hands,
For what you think is what you are.

So think good thoughts,
And do good deeds,
And you will be amazed, my friend,
With where your life leads.

So what are you thinking,
And how do you feel?
And do your actions,
Match your ideals?
Is there coherence,
Between your head and your heart?
And who would have known,
That breathing was a healing art?

So let's take it back to the breath,
And just remember who we are.
Bring thought, word, and deed,
Into harmony,
And just live from the heart.
You have to live from the heart.

So take an elevator ride,
From your head to your heart.
Come and fill that space,
For that's where the healing starts.

So go ahead and breath in,
That desired emotion,
And breathe out,
And feel that energy in motion,

Just go ahead and breathe in,
That desired emotion,
And breathe out,
And let that energy just soak in,

Just breathe in,
Some gratitude,
Let it fill your cup up,
And uplift your mood.

Go ahead and breathe in,
A little compassion,
And let it guide you,
In every single one of your actions.

Just go ahead and breathe in,
Some good inspiration.
Yes today's a wonderful occasion,
To engage in some creation,

Just breath in,
And breath out,
Now's the time, my friend,
To dream out loud.

So go ahead,
And dream it up in your head,
And harmonize it with your heart,
Let it flow through your hands,
For what you think is what you are.

So what is your purpose?
And what is your plan?
And are you going to follow through?
Are you going to take a stand?

Are you going to make a difference,
And be that change?
Are you going to challenge the status quo,
Even if they think you're strange?

Come on be that difference.
Make that change!
We've got a lot to do,
So let’s do it today.”

When I finished playing, I sat down, and soaked in the moment. I took a deep breath and instantly noticed a gentle breeze brush against my face. Warm sun rays soaked into my skin and for a moment, I was completely at peace; completely satisfied in every way.

Then, a rackety pick-up truck came rattling down the road and pulled into the rest area. Like a diesel thunderstorm, his loud, nearly-knocking engine shook me from my serenity. Even when he turned off his engine- the stillness had been compromised. I took it as a sign, and started to pack my bags. I didn't necessarily want to leave, but I knew I needed to start making moves.

I packed up my guitar and was in the process of munching down a handful of granola, when he finally left. I wasn't quite done though. Something was pulling me back over to the pond, coaxing me to film again. I already had a topic lined up, so I decided to just throw myself in and go for it.

This video was all about Jill Stein’s Green New Deal.

“In the shadows of a circus, it seems as if nobody’s talking about Dr. Jill Stein. Which, to be quite honest, is odd, because she’s one of the only candidates running for the 2016 Presidential Election that hasn’t been bought and sold to the highest bidder.

Sure Bernie Sanders is great, but after what happened at the Democratic National Convention with Hillary, it’s obvious that he’s no longer an option for us. What we need, is someone with a plan. And that’s exactly what I’ve come to talk to you about today.

Jill Stein’s Green New Deal is a plan that not only confronts the critical climate change catastrophe that we face, but it gets to the heart of the matter and amps up our nations education, increases the amount of jobs available, and decreases our need for military spending.

It is as if everyone’s arguing over who’s the lesser evil, while no one’s aware that there’s a greater good out there. I heard my friend say that, “Donald Trump represents everything that’s wrong with American culture, and Hillary Clinton represents everything that was wrong with American politics.”

I think he might be right, and overall, I think we have a better option.

Sure, Jill Stein isn’t a career politician, but she is a doctor- which means she knows how to look at something holistically, identify the symptoms, trace it to its root cause, and then prescribe a remedy.

When she examined America, she saw that there was no quick and easy fix to the poverty, pollution, and corruption that plagued our country. But there certainly is a solution... and it would involve re-evaluating our education system, military budget, and energy infrastructure.

You see, if we adopt her Green New Deal and run with it, we’ll be able to power The United States with 100% renewable energy by 2030. We’ll create thousands of jobs in the green energy sector, and lead the world into a new era of sustainability, to fight climate change.

Just like Bernie Sanders, her plan involves providing free tuition to public colleges across the country. Yet, she steps it up a notch, and aims to emancipate a nation of students and graduates, bound up by gigantic student debt. Her rational is that, “if we can bail out the banks, we can bail out our students”, and once those students are free, they’ll be more capable of putting their skills to use, to advance society.

All of that of course comes with a price, and forces us to look at the National Budget, and ask ourselves, “What’s more an important- books or bombs?” Is a trillion dollar stealth fighter jet really more important than freeing our nation’s students from financial slavery? ...because it costs nearly the same.

The United States’ military industrial complex is superfluous anyways. We spend nearly half of our taxes on the military, just so we can bomb countries overseas in the name of “democracy” and “freedom”. Although, let’s be real, we do it for the oil.

We secretly fund both sides of the conflict, and let certain wealthy, longstanding warmongers profit off the misfortune of others. At times, some could argue that our efforts overseas actually propagate terrorism, and leave newly orphaned children, open for radicalization and revenge.

I’m reminded of Malala Yousafzai’s popular quote, “With guns you can kill terrorists, but with education, you can kill terrorism.” That’s Jill Stein’s Green New Deal in a nutshell; curing the disease, not just masking the symptoms.

One of the main rebuttals I hear about all of this, is that it’s just not possible,” there’s simply no way to create Peace in the Middle East, and going 100% renewable is a pipe dream.”

Now, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but facts are facts. Climate change is real, and the technology we have to fight it, is well within our reach.

“But the sun doesn’t always shine, and the wind doesn’t always blow.” – Sure, I’ll give you that, but that doesn’t mean solar and wind aren’t effective technologies when implemented right. New home batteries are balancing out the energy flow and getting better every day.

We can’t expect everyone to upgrade though; we need to evolve the grid. Instead of sourcing our cities’ power through coal or gas, we could start incorporating geothermal sources of energy, as well as solar, wind, and hydro-electric energy.

We can even power our vehicles with biofuels. Sure, corn and sugar cane are sweet sources of fuel, but for the amount of land they need to grow, they’re not 100% practical. Growing hemp is a step up, but still needs farmland as well. Algae on the other hand can be grown in polluted waterways, and not only filter the water it grows in, but also produce natural oil that can be extracted and turned into fuel.

If you really want to geek about the matter, you can scour the internet for new renewable energy technologies to get excited about. From translucent solar cells, that turn windows into solar panels, to small wind turbines that look like trees, and only need a slight breeze to spin.

new-wind.jpg

These kind of technology needs to be embraced. And since “the gospel” can be roughly translated into “the good news”, I’m declaring this to be my Green Gospel. We can celebrate the fact that the solutions we’re seeking do exist! Our challenge is to bring them to life.

Yes, it’s up to us! We can be idle no more!”

I finished up the video and hung out by the pond a couple minutes longer. I knew that I wasn't the most charasmatic speaker, with the most elegant prose, but I prayed that the video would still be well received well.

I really wanted to influence people to live better, more sustainable lives. And, even though I knew I wasn’t perfect, I wanted to encourage people to join in this noble pursuit with me- right by my side.

I pulled out of the rest area and started thinking about the world at large. At this very moment, there were thousands of people fighting overseas. Hell, there were people fighting amongst themselves in our own country. Yet I was at peace. Was that just another face of my privilege? Or did I cultivate that?

I wasn't sure.

IMG_2671.JPG

The dark asphalt road kept me company as I pedaled on. Fifty feet to my right, a locomotive chugged away and slowly crossed the endless prairie. My train of thought was rolling in the opposite direction though, and I had no choice but to follow it.

'How could I be happy, when so many were sad? How could I feel so at peace, while so many were being ravished by war? How could I truly enjoy my life, while so many others continued to suffer?'

It wasn’t easy chewing this matter over, but out here on the open road, there wasn’t much to distract me. If unsettling questions arose, I would have to face them, and deal with them head on.

Luckily, my subconscious was packed with all sorts of goodies, and I quickly recalled a Wayne Dyer quote-

“You can’t make anyone rich, by being poor. You can’t make anybody healthy, by being sick. And you can’t make anyone happy by being sad.”

To me, this meant that I couldn’t let my privilege make me feel guilty. If I wanted to be a powerful healing force in the world, I will need to be a happy and healthy human being, completely unburdened by guilt and shame.

For how could I make the world a better place, if my inner world was out of place? I can’t ignore the fact that I was dealt a good hand, but if anything, I need to use that as a motivating force, to make this world better for others.

By all means, I had to work hard to get where I was, but I knew I was blessed by circumstance. I had a family that loved me, friends that inspired me, and all the right conditions to set sail on at least one adventure every year. More than anything, I wanted this for others.

Eventually Alliance, Nebraska emerged from the plainness of the prairie. Two gas stations formed gates to the small town, and as I passed by them, I could feel the energy slightly shift.

IMG_2678.JPG

Unlike the wind swept plains I just rolled through, this town seemed quite settled. Undoubtedly a t.v. screen community, I could tell that there wasn’t much to do here. I spotted a baseball field on the map, but besides that, there was nothing; no woods, no cool parks; nada.

My stomach was roaring, so I embarked on a quest to find a sandwich. It wasn’t a hard pursuit, and in no time, I was tearing into the soft bread and juicy tomatoes of a BLT. As I started to dig into a bag of chips, I noticed a drop of water on the window.

Then there was another drop….and another one. Thunder cracked and echoed in the distance, then like the flip of a switch, another rain storm had commenced.

I quickly ran out to my bike to cover it up. It was a cold rain and finding, unfolding, and draping my hammock's rain fly over everything was anything but fun.,

But, by the time I returned to my seat, and finished chewing over a chocolate chip cookie, my usual grin returned.

I wasn’t a huge fan of the rain- at least not right now. All I wanted to do was find a nice, dry spot to sleep. Yet my options seemed slim. I wound up asking a couple strangers what their suggestions were, and they pointed me to the dugouts at the baseball field.

The forecast suggested another couple hours of rain, so I killed some time and loitered at the sub shop. After an hour or so, I felt out of place, so I threw on my coat and braved the storm.

It was actually more of a sprinkle now, but still, everything was wet. I ventured across the town to the baseball field, only to find it locked up, damp, conspicuous, and all in all, unappealing. So, I turned around.

I kept my eyes peeled for a sheltered nook to call home, but couldn’t seem to find anything that would work. Eventually, I went inside a K-Mart to pick up some food. I’m not sure how I managed it, but somehow, I convinced the clerk to let me sleep in the store’s breezeway for an hour or so.

Every time someone would come in, they’d let in a gust of chilly air. They’d look at me, and silently pass their judgments, then I'd respond by sinking deeper under my covers. I wasn’t embarrassed to be in such a strange position, but it did feel odd. I hadn't planned on this.

When the store finally closed, I had to leave. I thanked the clerk and store manager for their kindness, and left to find refuge somewhere else.

My default was always a fast food place. They always had cheap food, and as long as I kept buying something every once in a while, I was allowed to loiter. I grabbed a chicken sandwich and some fries, and watched the news being broadcasted on the tv overhead.

I had never been a big fan of watching the news, and always thought it seemed more like show business than real journalism. There wasn’t much else to do though, so I indulged.

Naturally, CNN was obsessing over the elections, and as I listened to the anchors rant about Hillary Clinton and the Benghazzi attacks, I saw a scruffy old man in suspenders approach me.

“I hope they lock her up!” he gruffly remarked. “If she gets elected, I swear, this country’s gonna go straight to hell.”

I could tell he was talking to me, so I replied, “Do you think Trump would be any better?”

“Of course! He’s a business man! He’s gonna drain the swamp and turn this country around!”

“You mean run into the ground?” I’m not sure why I responded so impulsively, but I really didn’t like Trump. “Don’t you think that if Donald Trump was a decent businessman, he wouldn’t have had to claim bankruptcy a half a dozen times?”

My response didn’t seem to faze him. “At least he’s not completely bought and sold like Hillary is. Unlike all those other shlobs running, he doesn’t need anybody's money to run for president.”

“Maybe that’s because no one would want to give him money.” I tried not to be rude, but at times, I couldn’t help myself. Our banter continued for a while.

I tried my best to weave my girl Jill Stein into the conversation, but the old man always dismissed her immediately.

“Isn’t she’s the anti-vaxxer? I don’t know if I could trust anyone who doesn’t believe in modern medicine.”

Of course she believes in modern medicine. She’s a freaking doctor! I’m not sure what she thinks about vaccinations- all I know, is that she’s the only choice that doesn’t make me feel like I’m shooting myself in the foot.”

After that remark, he disappeared into the bathroom. I continued to loiter. Hanging out at a McDonalds wasn’t my favorite thing to do, but at least I could relax a little. Curling up for a nap on the bench wasn’t exactly welcomed behavior either, but I still attempted to doze off covertly.

The crew that worked there didn’t seem to mind, they just needed me out at midnight. So, around 11:30 I started ordering coffee. A couple refills simmered into my belly, and slowly, I felt my heart rate elevate.

I wasn’t used to caffeine, so I prepared myself to get shot forward.

Then, like a rock out of a slingshot, I whizzed into the night. The stars blurred as I exploded into the darkness. Holding on for dear life, I engaged my quads, and blasted into the darkness.

Juiced up like a locomotive on jet fuel, I barreled straight into the infinite abyss in front of me. I wasn’t sure how long these thrusters would last- I just knew I couldn’t stop. Not now.

My wild scarf flapped zealously in the wind behind me. The air was becoming increasingly bitter, the further I went, and stung my at cheeks. Fortunately, a ball of heat radiated from within my jacket, and kept my core plenty warm. I knew the heat would only last as long as I pedaled though, so I started looking around for trees.

Once I sobered up from my caffeine bender, and started to feel my eyes sting from sleeplessness, I spotted the perfect pair of trees to perch up in.

A hundred feet away from the road, right next to an unused parking lot, two prime trees stood erect, and basked under the faint glow of a nearby street light. It was the only street light within miles and miles, but it hung above a major intersection, so I guess it made sense.

Either way, I was thankful to have some light as I hung up my hammock. It was still cold, so I was extra quick about it. After a couple quick knots and a handful of blankets, I was ready to nest. Yet seeing my breath reminded me that I wasn't done yet. I still needed to protect the sacred mineral water I had brought with me.

The forecast said it was supposed to dip into the mid-twenties tonight, and I was worried that the glass bottles would freeze, and shatter in my bags. So I came up with a simple solution, and put hot hands in between the glass bottles and the wool socks that they were kept in. Then, I brought the bottles under the covers with me, so I could use my body heat to keep them warm.

Together, we laid there in prayer, looking up at leafs and galaxies.


Just now tuning in? The Standing Rock Bike Tour is getting released exclusively on Steemit, day by day, for the next two months.

Previous Chapters Include-
Introduction- Igniting the Fire at Unify
Day 1- Indigenous People's Day
Day 2 - Musical Mantras
Day 3 - Bottling My Prayers
Day 4 - Glorious Heights
Day 5 - Inner TurmOil
Day 6 - Massive Strides
Day 7 - Sunset Stallions
Day 8 - Wind River
Day 9 - Storms and Thorns

The Story Continues...

Learn more, and access all available chapters at-
http://www.righteousendeavors.com

Sort:  

This was a great place to jump into the story! Very engaging writing and bless Ruth and Joette for buying you breakfast :) I am curious as to your method - were you writing nightly on your ride, or writing later looking back in your memory? Very happy to have found you, looking forward to getting to know your back inventory when I have some time :) This is a very impressive post! Your song rocks! Sort of a Cake x G Love with Special Sauce vibe, nice performance!

Even though you are already serializing this, my only constructive criticism would be to seriously consider breaking these down into more manageable chunks. People don't have the time that it takes to properly enjoy a post like this, and only posting one big post every infrequent period doesn't generate the engagement that posting smaller chunks more often would. I mean this in the friendliest of all possible spirits, and of course take it with a grain of salt suitably sized for an alien eyeball on a tentacle.

Cheers - Carl

Thanks Carl!
I'm glad you found my story!
And I'm glad you like the song :)

My strategy for making this book involved taking tons of photos and videos during the ride, then reflecting on everything when I got back from Standing Rock.

And I really appreciate your insight!
Making pennies for putting in such hard work to craft this story was at first, rather disheartening. But I'm working through it, and committed to telling this story, no matter what.

Breaking the chapters down is a good idea. But I probably won't do it, due to organizational purposes.

I want my readers to be able to access all the chapters from my main website- and that just looks better in solid, day by day chunks.

http://www.righteousendeavors.com/the-standing-rock-bike-tour

The good news is- the book is already written, and we're still not even 1/2 way through the entire story. (Everything really picks up when I'm actually at Standing Rock)

Hopefully its reach will grow more as I start tapping into more Steemit communities and resources.

If it doesn't- well at least I got to share my story with some cool people along the way. :)




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original work of the post author. To learn more about this certification visit the Badge of Originality genesis post:
https://steemit.com/art/@carlgnash/the-badge-of-originality-human-certified-original-works

Thanks for being an original content creator! You rock!

All I want to do, is help this world. But in order to do that, I'll need some capital to work with. If you feel compelled to send some energy my way, so I can put it to use, feel free to feed my bitcoin wallet.

1LXk69AsLbSBPEqoiEAEBBN2MKRGT1MVGK

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40