The Standing Rock Bike Tour- Part 1 - Unify (Steemit Exclusive)

in #travel7 years ago

The Standing Rock Bike Tour

By Scott Mackenzie-Low

IMG_2359.JPG

Tugging at their hearts, Water Protectors from around the globe heard the echoes of an earnest Lakota Prayer. Originating around a Sacred Fire in the early spring of 2016, this prayer reverberated off canyon walls, desert floors, and skyscrapers, and across rolling green hills and vast mountain ranges. Beyond the Great Plains of United States, it was carried with the wind to the ends of the Earth.

When the Prayer finally reached me, I was volunteering at Unify Festival. I had been given the title of "Greening Manager." I spent my days gathering and sorting recyclables, picking up trash, and ensuring that the land we were gathered on was clean, and free from debris. Knowing that the festival was held on sacred ground gave my job meaning, so I didn't mind the long hours or grimy tasks.

1476213778740.jpg

This unified gathering was unlike any I had ever been to before. Not only was it free from drugs and alcohol, but Indigenous Elders and spiritual leaders from across the globe had gathered to pray and hold ceremony there. Renowned yoga teachers, permaculture experts, and esteemed craftsmen of all trades came to share their wisdom, with the young, heartfelt seekers who assembled, and while most of us knew it would be an epic event- I don't think any of us expected its full magnitude.

There were four stages spread out across the somewhat mountainous ranch, each honoring a different element. The Sol stage honored the Sun and the fire within us, while the Aqua Stage honored the water. The Tierra stage wrapped itself up in a tree and honored the Earth, and the Viento stage blessed the wind. At each stage, an equal amount of time was dedicated to learning at workshops, praying at ceremonies, and dancing to mystically nutritious music. Indeed, more than just a music festival, Unify was a spiritual catalyst.

IMG_1376.JPG

Late one night, after a busy day of work, the breeze swept me off my feet and carried me to the Viento stage to dance. Kicking up a twister of debris, the transcendental tune brought me down to the earth to let loose in a wild break dance. A cloud of dust and dirt lifted around me, pulsed with the beat, then eventually, fatigue pulled me back to my feet. Panting from exhaustion, with a goofy old grin stretched across my face, I looked up and saw all my friends gathered around. They somehow always knew where to find me.

My friends felt pulled to a different stage though, so they tugged at me to join them on an adventure to the Cacao Ceremony at the Agua Stage. I was ready for anything- so I put my shoes back on, and ran with them across the river and through the woods.

I had been to a Cacao Ceremony once before, but that basically consisted of a couple friends brewing up some exotic hot chocolate, meditating in a circle, and drinking it together... A delightful laughter yoga session was held afterwards. Those past shenanigans were fun, but I had a feeling that whatever I was dropping into was going to be much more... substantial.

A large blue canopy hung above a crowd of about 200 people who were all sitting in folded lotus together. On stage, a handful of monastic musicians filled the space with the melodic hum of serene enchantment.

My friends and I took off our shoes and found our place at the back of the event. Then, as we settled in, I pulled out an essential oil blend called Joy, and dabbed some on my heart. I passed the bottle around and drop by drop, blessing by blessing, the light floral aroma of Rose, Frankincense, and Jasmine filled the air.

We all slipped into a relaxed meditative state as the guitarist on stage serenaded us. Then, in perfect meter with the song, he spoke up, “We would like to invite anyone who has not yet received any Cacao, to come up, and enjoy this sacred drink.”

I hadn’t gotten the opportunity to try any, so I made my way up to the front. Politely tip toeing through the crowd of blissed out hippies, I made my way to the back of the line and waited for my turn.

It was by no means a quick line, and I didn’t want to obstruct anyone’s view, so I sat down. Completely saturated in peace, I scanned the scene with gratitude and reverence. From the crowd of beautiful faces, to the gorgeous venue and heavenly music that filled the air, I knew I was in the midst of something rare- something deeply profound.

The man on stage spoke again, “For the next part of this ceremony, we ask that everyone puts their cameras away. We are going to have the women bless the men with a song, and invite the Spirits in.”

I inhaled deeply and closed my eyes. I held the breath in, and then, as I let it go, a surreal sensation swept over me. Radiating from my heart, and fluttering like a hummingbird's wings set in slow motion, I felt a gentle pulse of energy course through my veins.

Then, as the women in the crowd started to sing louder, the ethereal tingle increased and a warm energy started to pour from the wellsprings of my heart, out into the room.

As the choir continued to sing, the sensation continued to grow, until at last it overwhelmed me.

Without taking a sip of the Cacao, I was filled with what I could only describe as the surreal sensation of an indigenous spirit hijacking my vocal chords. Taking control of my voice, it spoke through me, not in words but in emotions. My hands began to spin and spiral, forming into mudras and tracing meridians. I did not know what any of this meant at the time- but I could feel it move through me. It was as if I was channeling something.

Then, as if suspended in a dream, or psychedelic realm, my world disappeared; everything beyond the few people who surrounded me vanished from my perception.

It was all feeling at this point- except for the angelic singing. All the women were mixed in among the crowd, but as they sang, “Your dreams, are our dreams," I got goosebumps.

"Were they singing directly to me?" I asked myself.

After years of building up plans and activism projects, I felt as if all my dreaming and doing was finally getting recognized. Not by any single individual, but by the essence that brings life to all things; it was as if I could hear Her sing.

Completely held, in ultimate love, I felt the warm nurturing spirit of the women who surrounded me. I looked up to the sky, and softly whispered “Thank you," as I began to cry.

Large tear drops rolled down my puffed up checks, and fell upon my smile. I could taste the salt on my lips.

Then, I felt a small stone get placed in my hand.

I opened and refocused my eyes. In front of me was a beautiful young woman, with kind blue eyes and golden blonde hair. She held my hand in hers, then folded my fingertips in so I could fully grasp the luminous quartz that she gave me.

Then she looked at me and said, “I want you to remember how powerful you are!”

I couldn’t speak, but still managed to smile a warm, sincere "thank you" back to her.

Then, I fell into a dreamlike state once again.

I relaxed the grip of the stone, and let it rest on top of my palm. I was lying down now, and could feel that the energy had shifted. Someone had removed the quartz that I had been given, and replaced it with a piece of black tourmaline.

Then I heard a man say, "This isn’t about him and boosting his ego, it’s about what he’s supposed to do.”

I got even more goosebumps. Music continued to play in the background, perpetuating the dreamscape. I felt the smooth piece of tourmaline in my hand and traced my thumb along its edges. As I held it tighter, I felt it slowly pulling me back into my body.

Falling from the clouds, through the haze, I returned to the venue. Still in mild shock, I finally started sobering up from the experience.

I looked around; my friend Rebecca and her boyfriend Matt, sat beside me. Smiling warmly, they held space for me.

I needed that. My world had just been rocked, and I needed some sanity to cling to.

When I was ready, we stood up. Rebecca offered me some water from her large glass jug, and after I thanked her, I began to drink.

With playful apprehension she asked, “So, uh…how are you doing?”

I didn’t know how to answer her. Words seemed so ineffective at this point. Still I needed to say something, so I kept it light.

“I’m good.” I said, “I’m not exactly sure what just happened! But uh, yea…I’m doing alright.”

I do not remember exactly how he phrased it, but within a couple questions, Matt asked if I took any drugs.

“Ha, it sure felt like it! But no, I haven’t taken any substances at this festival. I didn’t even get to try the Cacao.”

“You mean you were sober for all of that?” Matt asked.

“I definitely wouldn’t call whatever that was- sobriety... but I definitely didn’t take anything.”

We talked for a minute or two more, but I knew I needed to processes what just happened on my own.

I put on my socks, laced up my shoes, and then walked off into the night. Music echoed across the valley, and stage lights illuminated the surrounding trees- yet I remained focused on the heavens.

Looking up to the stars, seeking guidance, I asked, “What just happened? What does all of this mean?”

I paced around the star filled campground for over an hour, waiting for an answer; seeking guidance from the Milky Way. Then a lyric came to me. It wasn't necessarily the answer I was looking for, but it seemed relevant.

With my footsteps keeping the beat, I started humming...

“We are standing on Sacred Ground,
Listening to every sound;
Tapping into how we feel,
And yes we got that Faith,
So now we are healed.

So come and nourish our mind, body, and soul,
For all we want to do is help this world.
Yes, come and nourish our mind, body, and soul,
For all we want to do is help our beautiful world!”

I climbed in my tent and found myself in a restless state, waiting for a deeper revelation. However, neither sleep nor answers came.

After an hour or so I knew I was wasting my time, so I unzipped my tent and wandered over to the Sol stage. Tubby Love and the One Tribe were playing a late night set, and that seemed to be where all the energy was drawn to.

In between songs, various members of the group discussed Standing Rock, and the situation with the Dakota Access Pipeline. For whatever reason, it all really resonated with me.

Uncle Robert, a Lakota Elder and United States Veteran, spoke up during the set, and began to share his testimony. Half way through his speech, I felt the smooth tourmaline my pocket. Then it clicked. I needed to go to Standing Rock.

In fact, that was just the beginning. With my long history of bike tours, I knew that I was being called to ride my mountain bike across the country, to travel to help the Sioux Tribe stop this pipeline.

Upon returning home from Unify Feat, I worked tirelessly for the next three weeks to raise funds for the expedition. I spent hours planning and researching. I even hit up a couple of friends and encouraged them to research with me.

I wasn't sure if I’d be returning home in the near future, so I packed up my room and put it into storage.

On October 10, 2016, the moment arrived to set sail and ride the waves of another adventure. It was time for the Standing Rock Bike Tour to begin.

Sort:  

All I want to do, is help this world. But in order to do that, I'll need some capital to work with. If you feel compelled to send some energy my way, so I can put it to use, feel free to feed my bitcoin wallet.

1LXk69AsLbSBPEqoiEAEBBN2MKRGT1MVGK

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57241.75
ETH 2428.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40