Beltane sabbath - a pagan celebration of sexuality, passion and LIFE

in #beyondtheveil6 years ago (edited)
Yes, pagans have a holiday that celebrates sex, and why wouldn't we? We were all born into this world because someone somewhere had sex. This celebration is not vulgar in any sense but sacred and joyful in our expressions of gratitude to all divine energies that are coming together and joining on this day.

If this is the first time you have heard about Beltane, I am happy to be the one who will tell you something about it. You will find some history in this post and the lovely customs and meaning of this pagan holiday.

Beltane is the third major sabbath in the pagan year but is considered, by many, to be the biggest pagan celebration. It is commonly held on 1st of May but it falls differently each year since the date is calculated using the time when the Sun is at 15° Taurus. This is because Beltaine is at the midpoint between the spring equinox and summer solstice.

“Paganism is the worship of life itself in its supreme mysteries of ecstasy and love.”
Jane Ellen Harrison

Nature that surrounds us is vivid and playful and all the God-like energies are coming together and combining into one. On the last sabbath, God and Goddess were equal but on Beltane, they are joining and becoming ONE energy. We are celebrating their holy marriage. This sabbath represents abundance and is closely related to sexual energies and creativity that brings life.

The word Beltane originates from two words, Bel or Belonos which is the name of Celtic god of Sun and Life, and the word tene or tinne which means fire. Based on that, we have several explanations for this holiday like: "Fire of life", "Sun fire" and many more. Together with Samhain, Beltane represents a major turning point in the year but its history reaches down to a prehistorical time when people were celebrating Sun, abundance and sexual energy that was needed for the propagation of the species.

At this time, Celts were celebrating the fertility of the Gods by offering them various sacrifice. They would burn huge fires and drag the cattle through the holy smoke that appeared.

Old Romans, on the other hand, made their offerings to Lares, spirits and protectors of the home and fireplace. They also celebrated Floralia, a three-day sexual celebration in which they had nothing on themselves except flowers in their hair. When those 3 days were over, cattle would be led into Circus Maximus and showered with beans to ensure their fertility and bright future.

Romans celebrated the festival Bona Dea celebrating fire and Greeks honored Goddesses Artemis and Atens. Throught the history the famous Green man symbol appeared at this time that is often conected to Celtic Cernunnos.

One of the popular customs is burning and jumping over the fire. Young people jump over it to find a partner, travelers for luck on their voyages and everyone in general, makes a wish and then jumps over the flames.

The other very popular tradition is the creation of the May Pole, and yes, maypole originates from Beltane and is a pagan thing. The pole represents phallus which has to be put into the Earth that represents sacred female organs. The pole is decorated with colorful ribbons. Every dancer takes hold of one ribbon and the dance begins. As people are dancing and moving around holding their ribbon, a pattern on the pole is formed. So next time you see a maypole... Now you know it is really a sexual symbol.

Speaking of sex... There is "The Great Rite", the most important and sacred part of Beltane, the physical joining of male and female. In the past there was a sexual act performed in the middle of the holy circle and even though some people still have this practice the more common one is symbolical. Dager is put inside a chalice where dagger represents male and chalice female. Since this holiday celebrates sex, it is recommended, of course, that you have sex so the woods are filled with people enjoying their time. If you are not a fan of the outdoors, your bed is just fine too.

“Come Fairies, take me out of this dull world, for I would ride with you upon the wind and dance upon the mountains like a flame!”
William Butler Yeats

There is also a link between Beltane and fairies, so be sure to leave some sugar in nature for them.

Bells! I almost forgot about the bells! Bells are used on Beltane, in the ritual but also during the day. People usually tie a couple of them around an ankle so the sound could be heard as they walk. They are called Morris Bells and date back to 19th century England where they were first used in the maypole dance.

We celebrate ourselves, our ancestors and our future children, we celebrate everything that was, is and ever will be.

On Beltane we celebrate diversity and abundance in all its forms. We talk to different people with different opinions and celebrate ALL religions because they are all coming together on this day. At this time we exceed our differences and accept them as a blessing, we rejoin in love toward each other.

We celebrate the sexual energy and the fertility in plant, animal, and human world. We celebrate everything we touch, see, hear, taste or smell. We celebrate male and female, young and old, familiar and unknown.

SIMBOLYSM: fertility, love, reunion, diversity, progress, abundance
SYMBOLS: maypole, ribbons, fire, bells
PLANTS: primrose, hawthorn, rose, birch, ash, lilac, ivy, lilies, daisies
FOOD: honey, cereals, dairy products, fruits, ice creams, vegetable soups
SCENTS: rose, lily, vanilla, musk
COLORS: vibrant colors, red, dark green, white

thealliance_pagebreak (1).png

This article was exclusively written for Beyond the Veil. A newsletter that is prepared weekly, by a collection of people, containing articles surrounding the spiritual and the supernatural. To subscribe to the newsletter please follow @beyondtheveil, to stay updated about our community.

All images used in this post are made by me. You do not have permission to use them in any way if you do not ask me first. Thank you for your understanding.

For my philosophy of happiness posts, please find them on my steemit page and for the "Into the quantum world..." novel that I am writing exclusively for steemit click here:


made by @simgirl

Sort:  

Do you practise the apple seed tradition? And did you know that this nursery rhyme is actually about Beltane?

Ride a cockhorse to Banbury Cross,
To see a fine lady upon a white horse;
Rings on her fingers and bells on her toes,
She shall have music wherever she goes.

Fun fact the people of Banbury have no idea that they have a statue of the goddess in the middles of their community , LOL

1200px-finelady.jpg
Image source wiki commons

Have a good Beltane love :)
Blessed Be & Joyous Be

I didn't know this! What a great comment, @tygertyger!

I never knew that rhyme was about Beltane! How fascinating, and it is a very happy rhyme too. Some nursery rhymes are quite dark.

Hahahaha, how funny and interesting about Banbury, I love it! I know about the apple tradition and do it on both Beltane and Samhain. Thank you for your lovely and informative comment! 💚💚💚

This is the first time I hear about beltane.
It's always great to learn something new ^_^

I like the way you put humour into an informing article.

Humour needs to be in everything, at least that is my humble opinion lol, I am glad you liked the post, thanks 💚

He he...my kinda holiday 😎

Right? 😎

I never heard about Beltane before and it was really fun to read and I love the way you write with a little humor and You in it 😉
So funny I just talked to @c0ff33a today about the bonfire thing we have here on May 1st
And how I didn't have a clue about the story behind it. Was a little embarrassing but I said I will check it out and then your post came and...
😃 Is this why? Now I know that it is.
Thank you for sharing this and now I know tomorrow at the bonfire why we are there.. Only
No sex for me 😂😂😂 lol
Happy Monday super sexy girl (ssg) lol 💜

Hihihi, yes, Universe sometimes gives us all the answers that we need in unusual ways. It is so lovely that you have a bonfire at your place, wow, that must be so nice to see. Have a great one and enjoy yourself honey, much love 💚💚💚

hmmm...you should right more of this kind of posts .. :P

Hihihi, I will. Now that Beyond the Veil newsletter is launching, I will do one of these posts a week.

I just made a Beltane Blessings post myself, but mine is not this lovely in depth analysis but a photosession around my blooming neighbourhood. Well done! lovely post, lots of info and loved your picture with the broom in green, green is the colour now for sure :) Wearing green all times myself :) Beltane Blessings
the waking of the sring - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-4.jpg

Yeah, I really like that picture but there is an even better one where I have jumped in the air and it looks like I am flying on a broom :D
Thank you for your kind words, have a blessed and joyful Beltane honey 💚💚💚

I have a good friend that make ceremonial bessom brooms, so pretty. I am not wicca. I am very spiritual in my own way though due to my experience with tle and sleep paralysis, but most of my best friends actually are. They always tell me, flock of the same feather... Lol
Post it want to see you in flight!
Loved your article

I am not a Wicca either, even though a lot of people think I am ;)
I will post that picture someday, do not worry
💚

Same here... But then I hike all cloaked with a pointy hat haha so that might be why. Not even joking. My best friends are pagan. And I ibserve them worshipping Nature which I do. I love myths, legends and fantasy. And I have a wild problem of visualization I convey into art. But I bet if we were close we would be hugging trees and dancing in the woods.

This is a great write-up. Thanks for sharing, and happy Beltane!

And a happy Beltane to you too honey 💚

What an absolutely lovely write up about Beltane! I love your writing. Thank you for educating in such a light-hearted way, and inviting us on a journey to celebrate natural rituals like this. ((hugs))

It was my pleasure to write about this and it gave me so much joy 💚💚💚

Lots of information that I didn't know about Beltane. I wonder if the saying, "bells of her toes" comes from this... most likely. :-)

I think they do ;)

Great post! and a beautiful post. I appreciate the info about this most important feast. I don't practice anything in particular, but I would probably lean toward Pagan.

A lot of people lean toward pagan without even realizing. It is a really lovely and natural path.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61026.32
ETH 3397.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56