Long Weekend Brewery Tour!

zekes-hops.jpg

It is #beersaturday again and I MUST conclude the long weekend brewery tour I started on the long weekend. You may recall I toured a few craft breweries in the region via different dapps and shared them with the folks here.

text16.png

#Beersaturday and Abe Erb and Block 3!

I am combining 2 more here as I didn't give Abe Erb a fair shake the first time, and adding Block 3 because I can't stretch the tour into the next month.

text16.png

Abe Erb Brewing Co.

IMG_6200.jpg

Some may recall that my company provides the technology support and built the networks for many breweries including Abe Erb Brewing http://abeerb.com/. I took a new technician to the Kitchener location known as The Tannery for a little look in preparation for supporting this location, and envisioning what it will look like when we open the next location. Neat place where the cans come from the fridge and the growler is filled right from the taps so you better finish it quickly.

IMG_6241.jpg

In preparation for a long weekend of yard slavery, I picked up a couple cans of my stand-by favourite Buggy Whip IPA. Not as sweet as other IPAs these days but I appreciate the bitterness and full flavour. Not sure about their description "Aromas of ripe honeydew and citrus, with notes of white grapefruit, clementine, sherbert, and pine" as that would be quite a mouthful but you get the picture.

I also managed to fill a growler of Sabrotage IPA which is a one-time brew allowing the brewers to experiment and the progressive explorers to taste something different. It was a little more subdued than the Buggy Whip but had a nice combination of hops that produced a substantial flavour that kept me guessing. I would grab this again if they decide to revisit it and you can see the welcoming haziness and body in the glass.

IMG_6240.jpg

Definitely great fuel for the long weekend.

text16.png

Block 3 Brewing Company - St Thomas

IMG_6226.jpg

The last time I visited the small town of St Thomas and Block 3 Brewing https://www.blockthreebrewing.com/ was when geocaching with my little one before the winter. They are very well known for their Saison and dutch style beer which is a nice change for an IPA hop-head like me. The outside of the building reminds me of a west Texas building that might stand along side of the Alamo or something. Very unassuming for a great brewery.

IMG_6227.jpg

There were a few taps to choose from but no IPA in sight. They also fill the bottles from the taps so I went for something nice and crushable that tickled my fancy.

IMG_6254.jpg

Like with Abe Erb, I went for something new out of the tap and an old favourite out of the fridge. The growler was easy for me as I opted for the Jaromir Lager for a couple reasons. I love my Czech Pilsner and enjoyed brewing it myself back in the day. I am a hockey fan and enjoyed the play on words and reference to a future hall of fame Czech hockey Jaromir Jagr. Finished it just last night and it was flavourful enough for me not to wish I had opted for an IPA! Nice and clear and refreshing as it looks pictured in the glass.

Out of the fridge, I grabbed a couple Cryotherapy American Pale Ale which they describe as a "pale ale double dry-hopped with massive doses of Mosaic Lupulin Powder. Strong aroma of blueberries and citrus. Light-bodies with a massive hop flavour and dry finish." Listed at only 30 IBU, it has a great mix of hops for a nice flavour, and the double dry-hopping gives it a punch. Love the big bottles too.

text16.png

Go create your own Beer post and share it with @detlev and the folks here https://steemit.com/contest/@detlev/103-weeks-of-beer-join-our-growing-challenge-now

zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Great post, I love these smaller breweries, mostly the people are very enthusiastic about their beers and love to share info.
Here is a nice !BEER token for you.

Me too! I have had the beer at each of these places before and it seems to taste so much better with the smell of hops and malt in the air served to you by a guy with a beard! :)

Thanks for the beer!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Breweries has always fascinated me. Unfortunately, I never ventured into one. This, excellent post, is such a time travelling machine. I felt like I was physically there!
and so;


This post has been selected for @SteemitBD curation support. We will be sending 0.100 Steem to @SocialBot with memo of your post link and will include the post in our upcomming curation support issue. In addition to small upvote from @Steemitbd and @socialbot, the post will be promoted by @Steemitbd on our social media channels.


Join us on Discord
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

A Youth Run Community Organization from Bangladesh
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

Thanks so much @blind-spot! I will have to check out @steemitbd and @socialbot and find more great content providers to support.

So awesome to meet you in the show!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you zekepickleman! You've just received an upvote of 65% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @zekepickleman, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83