🍻Mazzle Reviews Beer - Hook Norton Brewery - Twelve Days!🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago


Giving a Porter a Go!


I decided to swing by the local bottle-o this evening after work to find something different so that I could put together my review for this week. I found a beer with a goat on the cover which I thought might give me an excuse to tell this bizarre story but decided on a beer with a Pheasant on the label instead.

I don't have any strange Pheasant stories so we'll just settle for talking about beer today.

Twelve Days by Hook Norton Brewery


I quite like this random purchasing of beers without knowing anything about them. It's kind of like luck-of-the-draw. Some weeks you get a very average beer, sometimes you get something amazing, and other weeks you just get a beer that's pleasant and quite drinkable.

In this case, we have quite a drinkable beer. This isn't anything outstanding but it's definitely a good beer.

Hook Norton is quite an old brewery, they've been around since 1849. So they're not a small, local craft brewer which is what I tend to focus on.

Twelve Days is a Porter from their seasonal range. It's described as being:

A strong dark brown beer, offering a dominantly malty palate with nutty overtones, giving way to a lyrical sweetness that speaks for its strength.
Source

And impressively, this beer has won quite a few awards, even as recently as in 2016.

Ratebeer.com also has rated this beer quite highly and describe the beer as being a beer for Christmas. This is suggested by the name but, personally, I wouldn't call this a Christmas ale at all.

So what did I think of this beer?

I really enjoyed this beer. It's not as good as the American Pale that I had last week, but this is definitely a good quality beer.

The beer pours with a lovely deep amber, along with a decent head. The head doesn't linger all that long and is a dirty white colour. There are strong aromas of malts with some nuttiness. The beer is only mildly carbonated which is well suited to this style.

On the palate, you'll have strong notes of malts, a mild sweetness, mild bitterness and some nutty flavours. As I mentioned in the video, this isn't a complex beer. But it isn't so simple that you'd just pass it off as your standard macro beer. It is actually a good beer that comes from what I can only assume is a macro brewer.

Overall, I really enjoyed this beer. What I found surprising was that I got through one, and simply wanted more. Normally, after a beer of this heaviness, I'd be satisfied with one. But after finishing this beer, I was seriously considering heading out for a second or third bottle.

The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Hook Norton Twelve DaysPorterUK5.5%4.0

All ratings are out of 5

Rating and Reviews at Ratebeer.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Happy to see people going out of their way to try something new, good on ya! (shameless self promotion) I just attempted to run a contest that is based exactly on these principals. Each week I choose a new style and hopefully people go out of their way to try the type of beer and post about it. Like #beersaturday, but narrowed in on a particular style to get people out of their comfort zone a bit. Hope to see you participate!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 88%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "You learn to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

This one doesn't seem to be very dark at all, but maybe the porters tend to be a little brighter, than stouts. This is not always true... And the style definition has nothing to deal with this tendency, but may be a thing in the modern times.
Definitely would like ti give this beer a try. I want to try all the beers ever produced! :D

Cheers, mate!

Thanks buddy. I'm not particularly familiar with Porters but enjoyed this one. I think I may have had a porter before but found it rubbish, so I don't count that time.

Hey mazzle! We are sure your videos would do better if they weren't recorded vertically. :-)

You're quite right. I need an actual vlogging camera. :)

Hi @mazzle, great post and I have to check why my bot / srcipt does not got it.....

Let's do a in-depth investigation

Thanks mate.

Dark beers are definitely becoming more popular these days, this one sounds great!!

They are. This one was good. Not amazing but very drinkable.

Lol nice review

Congratulations @mazzle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72