🍻Mazzle Reviews Beer - Balter - XPA!🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)


Diving into another American Pale Ale - This is Damn Impressive Beer


This week I stumbled upon a beer at my local bottle shop that I expected very little from but turned out to be one of my new favourite beers.

You know when you see a can that is covered in a design that looks like it was made solely to grab your attention and make you buy the beer? Balter have done that, and this approach normally leaves me thinking the can will be amazing, but the beer will be very average. The can design is very modern and clean. It draws your attention to it, so after seeing this can in the fridge a few times, I finally succumbed and bought a couple of them.

It's been a tough week, so I grabbed a pizza to have with my beer. While driving home I got a call I had been waiting for all week. It was from my printer who was making some Steemit shirts for me, she'd also designed an Aussie Steem Stubby Holder for me which got me very excited.

I stopped by her house on the way back, picked up my shirts and stubby holder and headed home to sip on my beer and have dinner.

I haven't ever heard of Balter Brewing before. But as it turns out, they are quite a successful craft brewer. They claim that:

Our #1 philosophy is that your taste buds come first. A neat can and cool place to hang are great, but if our brews don’t tickle your tongue and put a grin on your head then we haven’t done our job.
Source

Their XPA has won a stack of awards and is described as being:

It might be pale but there’s nothing weak about this bad boy. This XPA’s tropical and floral aromatics set off a fruity palette that will punch your taste buds in the pleasure zone. Tailored for those who enjoy a fully-hopped beer that’s still easy to drink.
Source


So what's it like?


Balter's XPA pours a cloudy amber colour with a solid head. You'll see how it pours in the video above. The head lasts for a reasonable amount of time and is almost pure white.

This beer is meant to be chock full of hops and fruity aromas, And it is certainly both of these things. The beer is mild to strongly carbonated and on the palate you'll be hit with strong flavours of hops with tropical fruits.

Ratebeer.com gives high praise for this beer, and they should. I was really impressed with this beer. The strength of hops and fruits in both the aroma and flavour was fantastic. It's an incredibly solid XPA, and I'll definitely be heading back to grab another pack of these beers. Fantastic stuff, I highly recommend you give this beer a shot.

I'm keen to give the rest of Balter's range a try now however I doubt they'll top this XPA. It's well worth trying their other stuff though.


Introducing Steemit Shop Australia!


If you're wondering about the stubby holder pictured in this post or other STEEM inspired merchandise that I sell in my online store you can check it all out at Steemit Shop Australia.

The store is quite new but the shirts have been selling well. I'll be adding more products very soon and am happy to ship internationally. Check it out!

The best thing about my store? You can buy all my products using STEEM, SBD, BTC and other cryptocurrencies!


The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Balter XPAAmerican Pale AleCurrumbin, Qld5.0%4.5

All ratings are out of 5

Rating and Reviews at Ratebeer.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I like the article, but I'm going to need you to keep on your #winesunday posts as well. dont slack off mate!

Haha you’re quite right. I was just thinking about that last night. I’ll crack open a bottle this week. :)

Sounds like a great beer, indeed, Ian. Cheers!

Happy to hear that the store is doing well. Expanding already, huh? Watch out Amazon.com! Here come the Aussies!!! 🇦🇺

Thanks Jeff. I’m working on something that I hope will make the store much bigger. We’ll see what this week brings.

How’s France going?

I like the video and the beer looks great.

Thanks mate.

Yo, what a great find. Yeah, there are times the artwork is the best thing in the can. But it's fun when you get a surprise. The Aussie term is Stubby Holder? So Cal calls them Beer Coozies. Very cool design. Well done.

I’m trying to invent the term “beer sleeve” but people keep telling me it’s creepy.

I think I've heard "beer sleeve" before. Actually i like it. Beer condom?

Can Condom. :P

You got it there! :-))

Balter is a great beer, it won the hottest 100 craft beers earlier this year, so yes they are fast becoming quite successful, also of interest is that Balter a part owned by surfers Mick Fanning, Joel Parkinson, Josh Kerr and Bede Durbidge, so they probably don't need more money, but they make darn good beer.

That would explain why they are able to hire such a talented brewer.

It is a fantastic beer though. I’ll grab one of their IPAs soon.

I love beer @mazzle. I gots to try this one day..

You sure do buddy. It's a great one. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58