BeerSaturday - Three Belgian Beers & Victory in the World Cup Against Tunisia!!

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Today the Belgian Red Devils played against Tunisia in the world cup. It was a really fantastic match that ended in 5 - 2 in favor of Belgium. Went to the shop beforehand and picked three tasty beers, two of which I've tried before.


By @daan


Beer!!

I opted to drink the lighter ones first, the Kriek Boon at 4% ABV and the Quinto at 5% ABV. I've had the Kriek before, I think it's one of the best cherry beers out there, slightly less sweet than most Kriek beers. I've always been a fan of Boon brewery, especially of their Gueuze beers.

The Quinto is a beer I had never heard of, brewed by Vicarus brewery. Very light beer and it goes down pretty easily, definitely a tasty bitter flavor. Not too complex though, but that was definitely a good thing, since I had a saved a very strong beer for last.

Maredsous is a very heavy beer at a whopping 10% ABV, luckily there was quite some time between when I drank the second beer and the last one. Still had to take it slow with this one, it packs quite a punch. The taste is very bitter and complex, but it's not for people with a sensitive stomach (looking at you @slobberchops ;-) )


By @daan


By @daan


By @daan


Football

As expected, Belgium won against Tunisia, they were dominant during the entire match. Very exciting football, we played very offensive, but so did the Tunisians when they had the chance. Granted, we shouldn't have gotten two goals against, but our 5 goals definitely made up for that. I'm not going to share any pictures of the match itself, since that could cause some copyright issues, but here's a recap on Youtube.

Sort:  

Are you sure you got the score right after consuming all that beer? Maybe Tunisia won 5-2 :)

I have to admit that things got a bit hazy after I drank that last one ;-)

Hey @daan, welcome to the #BeerSaturday challenge and thanks for your wonderful post.

This is how it looks like in East of Belgium 🇧🇪 yesterday during the game

561FCD24-98E6-4399-B38E-D65F40100229.jpeg

Have some of those in stock for the next game ;-)

Gooooo Red Devils Goooooo!

I love those high ABV Belgian beers, but they really do pack a punch. I am a on a quest for a more traditional, low ABV Saison to make at home, because we really don't get low ABV Belgian beers here in the U.S. that often. Plus, Belgian beers are quite pricey: an 11 oz Rocheforte 8 costs around $5.99 at a beer store and about double that at a bar.

Yeah I wish I could just send you some, too bad it's illegal to do so. That's pretty expensive indeed for a beer. Here I can get that Rochefort for around 1.6 euro (33cl)

Belgium is making a run for it man, super cool to see!

Curious how they will do in knock out, but for now...time to celebrate Id say!

Maredsous definitely not suitable for me, but the colour looks nice though! haha

I did try the Maredsous already. Didn’t know the two others!
Cheers

I am not a beer drinker but: Cheers lol

Those beers look good, sound good keep enjoy both football and beers @daan

Horray for the beer! First time I have seen a beer that has a color like a punch. The bottle almost looks like a wine bottle looks really good and must taste good too.

Man Belgium is looking good man. I think you guys are going to go far in the tournament. I hope we meet in the finals. hehe :) For me I am already glad Croatia went through the group. What happens from now on is extra. :)

Anyways, good luck in the later stages. Have a great day. :)

I really hope we'll beat England next time, if we can do that we're golden! I think Croatia will do fine, you'll just roll over Iceland, just as you did with Argentina.

Great day to you as well ;-)

We will see. We are going to rest players probably but we have great players off the bench as well. So we will see how it goes with Iceland. :)

It has been exciting World Cup so far. Germany almost getting eliminated by Sweeden. Argentina almost out...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71