Hey Hey Beer Review for Beer Saturday

So I decided that even though I have been under the weather last couple of days, I would suck it up and drink a beer for #beersaturday, can't miss that contest, I might actually win one of these days. Kind of changing things up, going with a beer I am unsure how it will be, usually for beersaturday I like to p-ick an awesome beer but this time, not sure what it will be like. Plus since I am not 100% didn't want to waste a good beer. :)

Upslope Brewing - Christmas Ale

IMG-3785.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Upslope Brewing - Boulder, Colorado
  • Alcohol Content: 8.2% by volume
  • IBU: 25
  • Company Description: Holiday spices complement the dark fruit and spicy notes from Abbey Ale Yeast. The distinctive holiday aroma, ruby red color and rich malt flavor make this ale perfect for spreading Christmas cheer.

IMG-3786.JPG

Packaging
This beer, as with all Upslope beers, comes in a recyclable aluminum can, 12 oz in this case (they also offer 19.2 oz cans for some of their limited releases). In a festive red colored can, with white accents, it has the standard Upslope shield with beer name and Limited Release pastered across the front and back. The side of the can lists the ingredients which includes snow melt which pretty much always cracks me up. That just means water for those of you who might not realize that, but from a mountain stream for this Colorado brewery located in the Rocky Mountains.

IMG-3787.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: Pours an amber color with a modest light tan foam head.
  • Aroma: Smells of abbey hops, and holiday spices.
  • Taste: I have to admit, this was not a very tasty beer for me. I found it to finish alot like most Belgian ales, which I really don't like. Maybe it is the dark fruits they speak of or the particular spices they used but not a beer I liked the taste.
  • Mouthfeel: I will have to pass on this as my mouth was not the best right now, dealing with a sore on bottom of my tongue, so it kind if irritated that.
  • Drinkability: I sipped it to the bitter end, so not very drinkable in my opinion. The abv was pretty high also, at 8 plus so that would limit it but these types of beers are brewed to be kind of a single drink, after a meal and such.

IMG-3789.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


As you might have noticed from my description, not a favorite, I ranked it at 2.5 on Untappd, where 2 friends gave it a 2.75 and overall rating was 3.58 by over 5400 peeps. Untappd calls this a Belgian Duppel so I now know why I didn't like it! We get a lot of the Upslope beers here in Montana and overall I like most of their beers but sometimes there are gonna be beers you just don't like. I bought this as a 6 pack filler at a grocery store, not knowing what to expect as Winter type seasonal ales can run the gamut on taste. So far I am not batting well on that 6 pack. 0-2 on the two beers of the 6 I picked, and the first was the worst beer I have had in a long long time. The remaining 4, i Know at least one will be good, but after that, it may be a total loss but every beer has to be tried. It's all about the Untappd numbers! :)

2.5/5

If you have followed me for a while, you will notice I went back to my old format, pre-sevendaybeerchallenge posts. Let me know if you like this type of post of my sevendaybeerchallenge style. I'm not sure how many people really care about aroma and mouthfeel and things of that nature? I truly would appreciate some feedback on that from my beer drinking friends on #Steemit.

As I stated before this is going to be posted on the Week 41 Beersaturday contest so after you like it here, go check there for an upvote. I am going to keep tagging sevendaybeerchallenge also, just cuz that is a cool tag page.

Sort:  

I have yet to find a Christmas beer that had been any good although I always hold out hope.

Regards your current posts, i like the layout/subheadings. Except mouthfeel. I have always found mouthfeel to bea funny one because lots of people don't care about that aspect. But I know that lots of beer tasters do. Tricky!

Thanks for the input on the format, the one I struggle with the most is mouthfeel, I generally never have given that much thought in the past but I know it is critical to beer experts. I may combine it in with taste in the future tho as they are pretty intertwined.
Agree on the Christmas Ales also but this one in particular was a loser as I am really not a fan of Belgian ales
Thanks for the big boost on this one, my first plus $1 post in a while. I’m surprised you didn’t see the Irish whiskey aged coffee stout I posted couple days ago. Seems like that would be right up your alley!

I noticed the lack of dollar busting :0)

I really like this format and think its very visual friendly. Also, thanks for the review. I've tried many holiday spiced stouts and I have yet to find one that I like.

Thanks much, appreciate the feedback!

Good review! I like the format, it's very informative and I found it useful is it gave most of the information I'm looking for about a beer. Now I know I probably won't be a huge fan of this one. :)

Thanks for the feedback, appreciate it!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 01:54:40
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 81.35/100.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I have tried a few Christmas/winter spiced beers and many have been okay. Some better than others. I think the amount, and type, of spices used affects the flavor and drink-ability greatly. A lower ABV might help as well, keeping the focus on the beer and it's flavor instead of on how powerful a kick it can give.

Yeah, I think you're doing well on your posts. (sorry about the sore) Sometimes I feel that something like "mouthfeel" is just always there - meaning that it's something to bring up if it's exceptional. The Red Velvet actually feels smooth in the mouth, which makes it kind of exceptional. Or, if it feels like sand, that might be good to mention. That's just my feel. I don't think I'll try this beer, but I appreciate the review.

Congratulations @bigskycustoms! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61232.75
ETH 2977.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60