5 excellent canned beers for a camping weekend

in #beer7 years ago

Hi Steemians,

I have to admit that I have been taking terrible canned pilsners to festival campings for way too many years. The reason? I just thought that nearly all canned beers were horrible anyway.

So I just went for cheap cans in the supermarket to provide myself with the necessary alcoholic supplies for those magical camping moments.

Until I discovered that there were actually some really good canned beers. Here is a top 5 you should definitely consider for your next camping weekend:

5) Rodenbach

11334_1.jpg

The Flemish red brown classic Rodenbach is also available in cans. And I must say that magical mix between sweet fruits with a sour undertone remains unharmed. Even when you have to deal with your usual beer cooling issues after a few days of camping, Rodenbach will still offer you a refreshing drink. So you might want to take some with you.

4) Goose Island IPA

beer_814.jpg

This IPA is your fresh and bitter alternative for those regular canned beers. Not one to drink for the entire weekend, but you definitely want to take a few of these with you to enjoy if you want to switch to something really tasty.

3) Caldera IPA

beer_22106.jpg

This one from Oregon is another great IPA that tastes very good from a can. I would even say I enjoyed it less on that one time that I poured it into a glass first. It just works so well. This is definitely one that ends up in my backpack for every festival weekend.

2) Summer of '17

beer_515778.jpg

I recently tasted this hoppy wheat ale of the Dutch brewery "Brouwerij De Molen" and I was absolutely stunned. A really profound taste, yet still a light beer to drink. I had it at the annual beer festival in Ghent while I was sitting on a terrace between the trees. It just works for a Summer holiday.

1) Black Eyed King Imp, Vietnamese Coffee Edition

009ce8bf-9406-46ca-bc84-12f36bcaf1c3.jpg

This one by Brewdog is probably the best beer I ever had from a can. I know that stout beers are a bit "love them or hate them" and I am definitely a guy who loves them. As interesting and accurate as the name sounds, so is the taste. You have those nice roasted coffee tones but not like you would have them in many similar stouts.

It is different, yet excellent. This would probably even make it to my overall top 5 of stout beers in general. If you want to drink good stuff out there in the nature: this is your pick!

What is your favourite beer from a can? Comment below.

PS: Upvote, Follow & Resteem as you please. You know the drill. :-D

More posts:
https://steemit.com/beer/@davenumero6/bizarre-beer-of-the-week-1
https://steemit.com/beer/@davenumero6/5-beers-that-will-fool-you-at-the-bar
https://steemit.com/beer/@davenumero6/this-beer-is-one-of-the-best-in-the-world-and-you-don-t-know-it-yet
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@davenumero6/i-m-a-belgian-so-thank-you-very-much

Sort:  

I love the rise of a cans, so many advantages over glass bottles, from ease, to safety to environmental to the most important - it's better for the beers. As for the best, IPA's all the way so anything from the Stone range, Go to and Ripper both work for outdoorsy festival type going.

Thanks for the input. I'll try to find those some time. :-)

Thanks for using the #BeerSaturday Tag

To join the challenge and win some SBD, please have a look to this weeks steemit beersaturday challenge post to join the challenge.

Been planning to participate in the challenge. Just need to pick up a bottle from the beer I want to feature in my story. ;-)

The can has certainly made a comeback in Chicago and in the USA...

Cool to see that Goose Island made it your way to Belgium.

Cheers, mate!

Yeah, you can buy quality canned beers in most Belgian beer stores these days. Many American beers to be found. Still have a lot of those to taste. (When I go camping, that is).

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85