Steemit Beer Exchange Tasting - Gruit ('Cosgruit' by @costopher - Hand Brewed)

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Beer without hops!? Is it like STEEM without SBD? Not really, it is Gruit! Different, but tasty! Let’s see how @costopher did!


At first the name reminds me of Baby Groot! I can already feel the melody


Image credits

@costopher really outdid himself this time. I’ll quote him a bit so you get the idea. For the full experience of the making of this beer check out his account here and please upvote it!

https://steemit.com/beer/@costopher/the-gruit-experiments-beer-exchange-beer

What did he use instead of hops?

For the herbs and spices [@costopher] used rosemary, lemonbalm, pineapple mint, coriander seeds, orange zest and a little bag of indian spicy chai(this contains cinnamon, clove and ginger; and tea of course). [He] made a tea out of all these and added it to [his] beer at the end of fermentation instead of dryhopping.

Whoa! That is a mix indeed! He tells us that it changes taste a lot. So, like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get. I am excited!

This is the second beer I’ve tried. Both travelled from the UK. More in the old post of mine. Don’t bother upvoting it.

https://steemit.com/beer/@buzzbeergeek/first-steemit-beer-exchange-cooperation-has-been-successfully-finalized

The whole sending process took about 5-7 days and it shipped from the UK to Croatia! That is almost 2000 kilometers away!


I have to admit, I have never tried, or even heard of, gruit. So I have nothing to compare it to. I’ll keep an open mind. Ratebeer classifies Gruit as a Traditional Ale style. In their words:

ancient or resurrected styles of antiquity

Photo-shoot

Cosgruit by @costopher - hand brewed

StyleGruit
Country@costopher’s abode, the UK
AlcoholUnknown
--------------
AppearanceLight amber color, hazy, sparkling. Decent head but dissolves quickly. I don't even have to emphasize how much I like the label :)
AromaAroma gives way to wheat beer on the surface. There are underlying herbal notes difficult to discern but quite a lot. Definitely mint and herbal tea, a bit of citrus. It is a lively, thick aroma. Very promising.
TasteLight sweetness, lightly bitter. I am not convinced here. Falls flat in comparison to aroma. Almost as if someone mixed tea with beer. But, never had a Gruit before.
PalateExtremely light body and thin texture. Carbonation is quite fizzy and packs a punch. Finish is... unusually, like bitter tea.
--------------
OverallOverall, I liked @costopher's Hefeweizen more. Gruit seems a very challenging style and it is great he was willing to tackle it. You can notice that it says #1 on the label so there is room for improvement. I would very much like to try some of his beer again.
Score (subjective, personal)15/20

Price: @costopher’s hard work (time, materials, labeling and bottling + shipping costs. Priceless basically!

Please drink with style and responsibility!


Camera: Cell phone - Moto G4 Plus 16MP

Beer devotees: @kingscrown @meesterboom @beers @uwelang @steemswede @rynow @mk40 - you encourage me to write every day!You can find a lot more beer posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Buy BTC with Coinbase. You and I both get 10$ for free if you use this link and buy 100$ worth of BTC.


Here are two FREE airdrops for you
100 WCX tokens airdrop here (worth over $10) https://wcex.co/?ref=U0jLWVT0
21 CS tokens airdrop here (worth over $60, goes down over time) https://wcex.co/?ref=U0jLWVT0

If you use the referrals, we both benefit!


A bit strange, but @jeezzle served ice cream with beer. Check him out. More in his post!

Anyone else willing to exchange handmade beer?

Sort:  

Sounds kind of like an ancient ale.

This comment has received a 15.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @theabsolute. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Pfft, can't believe it took me a full day before seeing the review of my little baby Gruit :)
Glad you enjoyed trying this out!
Cheers

Whoot, that's cool.

Love to have this tasted in Belgium 🇧🇪 and at the #BeerSaturday

Cheers!
I've never had one, well besides mine, if I ever see one, I'll get it for sure¬

Cheers man! You are the king of beer!

This time it's @costopher's artwork ;)

does sound very nice @buzzbeergeek

As utterly bizarre as the idea of beer without hops is, I have to say it sounds delicious. I'm normally not a connoisseur of crafted beers, but I might have to give this a try.

Let's hope @costopher opens up his beerworks! :)

Yeah this actually looks quite tasty and we are not beer drinkers :P

Thanks guys, you and @costopher made my day!

Thanks guys! Glad to see I piqued your curiosity!

@anarcho-andrei, how can you call beer without hops beer, however what @costopher has created is a ale as
it is gruit he has used

Woah that's really cool.

When I read the word 'gruit' I immediately thought of Groot from guardians of the galaxy haha!

Yay ! we make it on beer brand as well ?! Well done @costopher ! thanks for the review @buzzbeergeek !! cheers !

Hehe, why not? Thanks guys

Welcome to Whalepower Tag Usage.
Please Read the Whalepower Guidelines First - click here

This post have been Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated. 👍 ✅ 🖋
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Follow, Upvote , Reblog , Visit Our Page when ever you can.

This message come up when #whalepower Tag Applied

@bullionstackers @paul-gillbanks Curator for #whalepower Tag

#whalepower Tag - Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog - Please Click to Read

Thanks! I'll check out other #whalepower posts periodically, that is how it's done, right?

What an awesome idea. My boyfriend is quite into brewing but I don't know the first thing about it...I just like to drink the stuff!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Buzzbeergeek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great post, thanks for sharing!
Im following you !
Resteeming this to my followers. Hope it helps a little, and let´s drink beer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71