The Blue Mansion, George Town, Penang, Malaysia - #BeautifulSunday and #SublimeSunday :)

in #beautifulsunday6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the #BeautifulSunday challenge, initiated by @ace108. Thanks, my friend!

And I'm also posting today inspired by #SublimeSunday, a tag from @c0ff33a! Thanks!

Today I'm writing about a special place: the Blue Mansion, in its original name called “Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion”, located in George Town's UNESCO World Heritage Site, in Penang, Malaysia.
#malaysiatrulyasia

Penang maison bleue 47.jpg

Penang Maison bleue 1.jpg

The Mansion owes its most popular name due to its wonderful índigo blue color. Today, is a boutique hotel, the one I choose when traveling, as a solo traveler, this absolutely must-visit heritage place when one travels to Malaysia.

Penang Maison bleue 4.jpg

Penang Maison bleue 5.jpg

It was built by Cheong Fatt Tze, a Chinese merchant at the end of the 19th century, and its exquisite and rich architecture, all made of noble materials, is a mix of Chinese and Western styles. Features of the house include Gothic windows, Chinese cut and paste porcelain work, Stoke-on-Trent floor tiles made of encaustic clay in geometric pieces all shaped to fit a perfect square, Glasgow cast iron works, and Art Nouveau stained glass Windows. Also, the mansion was originally built under the principles of Feng Shui.

Penang maison bleue 30.jpg

Penang maison bleue 17.jpg

It was restored and know is a heritage building protected by the Government, and a museum open to visitors, but guests can visit it for free, with a tour guide, which, of course, I did.

Penang maison bleue 63.jpg

Penang maison bleue 20.jpg

In the tour, I learned that the Mansion has been featured in various movies, like the Oscar-winning French film "Indochine" starring Catherine Deneuve, "The Red Kebaya", "Road to Dawn", "3rd Generation" and the critically acclaimed "The Blue Mansion" (

) in 2009 by Singapore director Glen Goei of "Forever Fever# fame.

Penang maison bleue 66.jpg

Wow! Isn’t it amazing? I’d never guessed I would be visiting any places that served as movies sets locations during my travels around the world! (see this last post for more: https://steemit.com/beautifulsunday/@nolasco/all-movies-that-were-filmed-in-ait-ben-haddou-ouarzazate-morocco-beautifulsunday-and-sublimesunday)

The museum exhibits some materials used in the building and in the restoration, as well as some antiques, pieces of decoration and outfits that Cheong Fatt Tze and his wife wore in special occasions.

Penang maison bleue 58.jpg

Penang maison bleue 61.jpg

Penang maison bleue 57.jpg

I also learned that the merchant created his own wine brand, also a surprise for me, as Chinese are not, as far as I knew, traditionally known in the winery business. Well, now, the winery he created is among the 10 largest wineries in the world!

Penang maison bleue 65.jpg

Penang maison bleue 49.jpg

He was a man much ahead of his time, a fortune seeker that built an empire: he also invested in banks, glassworks, cattle, and textile. As his empire grew, Cheong began operating steamships, eventually inaugurating a trans-Pacific shipping line between China and the United States.

Penang maison bleue 28.jpg

Penang maison bleue 67.jpg

Original text, based on the sources (and some excerpts): Wikipedia and https://www.cheongfatttzemansion.com/

All photos were taken by me.

I hope you all enjoyed the visit :)

Thanks, @ace108 and @c0ff33a :)
Have a great Sunday, my friends!

Hippiesoul @nolasco
Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

DQmc75yMiEvNZwe9U2sA7t4ghotVDAWpZp3VsJaRYaJ3fDV.png

DQmSSjgs1swFwv64uXRVpB9DAtzSnDv2Eeqr3CnPAup4WVV.png

steem sugarsDQmeZR5gxMRsGvanJAzkyHoYaXBTVWCfHEYqiycvb4rLJtU_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-20T09:18:03
Account Level: 7
Total XP: 7021.57/12800.00
Total Photos: 283
Total comments: 376
Total contest wins: 116
And have also received a 2.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Thanks, my dear Pix!

Excellent post, Isabel... That looks fantastic. It's si nice that it has been converted to a hotel. This gives travellers a chance to stay closer to History. Well done.

Thanks so much for your appreciation! It's indeed a beautiful place! have a wonderful Sunday!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nolasco
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-blue-mansion-george-town-penang-malaysia-beautifulsunday-and-sublimesunday


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This is a beautifully preserved building, glad they've kept so many original features.

Indeed! I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for passing by and give me the chance of meeting you!
Now I'm following you, that's it :).

A lovely place of history. These looks like the setting of a drama made in Singapore about the nonya and baba.

Thanks, sweetie. True... and now that you say... just check out this I found there too.

Penang maison bleue 53 bw.jpg

Oh, you always show me the most amazing architecture! I love that the museum is free of charge!

Simply fabulous!

Thanks, sweetie! It's free for guests, which was good for me as I was a guest ;). The most beautiful place to stay and the breakfast was perfect! Xoxo!

I love all the photos but still, the second is my favorite! Well done!

Thanks, sweetie! This was also on my bucket list! George Town, I mean!

Looks like you have a very long bucket list.

I do! I'd love to go everywhere... I guess I have to start to quit some, I'm no longer a young person... let's see... ;)

This post is just incredible, I love all the detailed photo's such an amazing place and you captured some perfect shot's of it - I adore 3 and 4 from the outside perfect.

So much information and detail, it's like I have been there. And perfect for #SublimeSunday - so wonderful thank you so much for sharing this.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

I'm the one who is grateful, my dear! I hope I can get your recognition in future posts! I'm happy you liked it, how awesome! Thanks so much for your comment and reward!

What a stunning place thank you for sharing , it was a pleasure to see.

Thank YOU :)). My pleasure, thanks for passing by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60222.69
ETH 3303.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36