Smoked Sloppy Joes

in #bbq8 years ago


I've had a smoker for a lot of years (decades actually) but last night I made something simple on a smoker I'd never tried before but after I thought about it I couldn't believe how natural it was for a smoker, I made smoked sloppy joes. The recipe is extremely simple.

2 Lbs. ground chuck
1 medium onion, medium dice
2 cayenne peppers chopped
Your favorite sauce, sloppy joe sauce, bar-b-que sauce, or whatever. (If you use bar-b-que sauce I would stay away from ones with smoke flavor added.)
Salt and pepper to taste.

Place the ground chuck, onions, and cayenne pepper in a skillet (I recommend cast iron) and put the skillet into your smoker at about 220*f for two hours stirring occasionally. Add your sauce to the mixture and move the skillet to direct heat for 20 minutes, remove and serve.

*Note - I used hickory wood to smoke with this time but think I'd like to try mesquite next time. There was a definite smokey flavor added to these sloppy joes.

Sort:  

That sounds tasty! Now I need a bigger cast iron pan...

Congratulations @rouletterun! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @rouletterun! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rouletterun! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24