BARRY THE BEE AT THE PAPA-PEPPER HOMESTEAD!

in #barrythebee6 years ago

Guess who came to our homestead for a visit?


For those of you who are unaware, Barry the Bee has been travelling around visiting different steemit homesteads! Barry the Bee began a quest of promoting pollinators with his "mom" @kiaraantonoviche. I'll let her tell you about it first.

I am a small (very small) bumblebee with big (very big) dreams! I currently live with my mom @kiaraantonoviche and have adventured around the Wild Rose Acres homestead with her! It’s great! I love being outside among the beautiful trees and flowers… but I know this is just one small plot of land in a huge world!

I had a long talk with @kiaraantonoviche and we’ve agreed I need to spread my wings and see the world! You see, bumblebees like me are becoming endangered! We’ve been losing our homes and suffering from pesticides for a long time now! I want to save my fellow brethren and I need your help!

I want to travel to Steemit homesteads all over in order to promote the importance of bees. Not to toot my own horn but even though we’re small, we’re a pretty big deal! We help pollinate your crops and flowers! These little cherry tomatoes are ripe and delicious thanks to our effort!
source

THE TRAVEL SO FAR!

After starting out in Wisconsin with @kiaraantonoviche Barry the Bee stopped in Michigan, the next state over to spend some time with the amazing @goldendawne. Then Barry came down into the Ozarks of Missouri to spend some time at the homestead of @hethur240 before taking off to see North Carolina with @greenacrehome. After stopping by @wholesomeroots for a visit in Georgia and learning about the importance of winter nectar sources, Barry made his way over to my homestead!

BARRY CHECKS OUT THE HOMESTEAD

Barry the Bee came at kind of an "off time" here on the homestead, so we did not have any flowers or blooming plants ready for him. He did enjoy himself when we was able to meet some of our animals, like Crockett above.

He also was able to see that we are expecting to get power soon. Unlike a bee hive, we will be on grid.

For such a tiny bee, he was impressed with the incredible size of our shipping container. More than just being impressed with the size, he was amazed that it was the world's first STEEM-powered shipping container, since it was purchased with SBD that I had cashed out!

Barry the Bee was also very excited to inspect our compost and mulch piles, as they will be used in our garden later this year. A garden means plants, and plants mean flowers! Flowers mean nectar, and that means that bees will be pollinating our garden and playing a crucial role in our crop production. While Barry will not be back to help with that task, some distant relatives of his certainly will be.

Along with the plans for the future here on our homestead that I shared with Barry the Bee was the intention of getting some bees on site and learning the art of beekeeping. Nearby our homestead are the remnants of some old beehives.

These are now empty and falling apart, but we are hoping that history will repeat itself and that we will once again have thriving hives in the area, and even a few of our own. We will see what actually happens, but just like a bee riding on the wind, we have high hopes! Next door, @bluerthangreen and @allforthegood have similar ambitions, so we will see.

WHAT IS NEXT FOR BARRY?

On this card above, you can see the travels of Barry the Bee so far. Rather than mailing him to another steemian, I dropped him off in person, just to make sure that he would be safe. I'm sure many of you may be wondering where Barry the Bee is now.

Here is a photo of me handing the note off to another steemian. Barry the Bee is already visiting their homestead, and soon you should see another post featuring Barry the Bee. Do you know who that steemian pictured above is? If so, be the first to reply to this post with the correctly spelled username of that steemian and win 5 STEEM!

A note from Kiara:

Hey guys! Barry the Traveling Steemit Bumblebee is an idea I had for promoting the importance of pollinators while connecting us all in a very tangible way! If you’d like to be a part of his journey, there are a few requirements… so this is how the project works!

I will privately contact a Steemit homesteader and ask if I may send them Barry. If they accept and DM me their address, I’ll ship him to their home!
Once you receive Barry, take him on a tour of your homestead and snap some photos! Don’t forget a verification photo with your username and the date (like the one above)!
Post an article with the photos and tag it #BarrytheBee! This way we can all follow along with his travels!
Privately contact another homesteader that you’d like to send Barry to and verify you have permission! Ship him to the next address!
Follow along with his journey!
Please keep all discussion(s) between you (the sender) and the next person (the receiver) private. This will only work if we all work together!

Barry is a small glass figurine so he should be packaged appropriately. Privately provide tracking information to the receiving party if possible.

I really would like to get him back in a year if possible. This figurine was a gift from my aunt and she’d probably get a kick out of seeing his journey! I’ll be following along so he (hopefully) doesn’t get lost!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-barry-the-bee

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Thanks. I feel a bit guilty winning though. I guess the 5 SBD will allow me to sleep tonight at least. 😇

As long as I don't see you peeking in the window when I'm posting, it counts!

Yay! So happy to see BarryTheBee buzzing around your homestead! Looking forward to seeing him with @beatitudes8 next!

The bee is sick! Great post!

Barry is one of my favourite 'finds' here on Steemit. I love to follow his adventures.

lol- It's been SOOOO long since Barry came to visit me! SO happy to see he's still making the rounds in his pollination travels!

Hello,@papa-pepper,Long time no see,and you had upto 77,Congratulations!
And how is your fig trees now?

Now they are dormant. Soon they shall awake!

Hi @papa-pepper barry wants to go for a walk. bees are very important than some people think. barry needs to come visit all countries. Warm greetings from me!

There are no bees left (we'll very few anyway) in Maryland, except for those that have absconded from my hives, I guess. Barry has a very important job. Good luck to him in his mission.

We have to stop CCD!

community is very important things
i like it
thanks for sharing a nice blog

The bee is no have foot. sick! Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31