Barry the Bee Travels To Michigan: The Adventures of the Traveling Steemit Bumblebee - Promoting PollinatorssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #barrythebee7 years ago (edited)

Stop One On My BIG Adventure

Well, I started in Wisconsin, USA and now I have landed...

20170918_163353.jpg
Wisconsin with @kiaraantonoviche was my starting point for pollination and I wanted to share with you all how my travels can go far and wide.

See the original post here explaining how my adventure started.

Rain, Apples and Pumpkins Galore

It took me longer than expected to get here. I had to dodge a few raindrops along the way and Monday in rural Michigan is overcast and gray. Plus when I got here, I discovered that @goldendawne lives near apple orchards. They are EVERYWHERE!
And you know, us bees LOVE apples, apple orchards and cider mills! You probably have come across some of family and friends trying to sneak a sip of that sweet apple nectar from your cup.

Apple cider, fresh doughnuts, cider mills... oh and a few pumpkin patches beckoned to me. So, me being me, I flittered around the orchards and stopped by the pumpkin patches for a little while. IT WAS GREAT FUN!

When I finally arrived on the Golden D Homestead I was giddy with excitement!
The first stop I made was in the front herb garden for a sweet taste of a yellow rose. Mmmmm, so good!
20170918_155436.jpg

As I was heading back to the main garden, raindrops started falling again, so I zipped into the greenhouse and low and behold! Guess what @goldendawne had in there for me!?

Sweet Marjoram Oh yummy!
20170918_155229_001.jpg
(I got a little dirty and didn't have a chance to clean up before the picture was snapped. So please, excuse my messy appearance

Peppers & More Peppers

Once the rain stopped, I slipped away to check on the pepperoncini plant she has planted near the front deck. She told me she is planning on making some fresh pickled pepperoncini for her husband. He smiled and says he LOVES 'those little things'.
20170918_155315.jpg

Would you LOOK at this! @goldendawne has a potted jalapeno plant she is planning on bringing indoors soon for her winter garden. Little baby jalapenos are growing already and here is one of the blossoms. YUMMY
20170918_155627.jpg

Well, I'm off to my next destination.... Shhh, it'll be a surprise!
I have one year to pollinate and help people understand just how much I do and how far I will travel to help the gardens of the world!
So, until next time... this is Barry the Bee signing off

A note from Kiara:

Hey guys! Barry the Traveling Steemit Bumblebee is an idea I had for promoting the importance of pollinators while connecting us all in a very tangible way! If you’d like to be a part of his journey, there are a few requirements… so this is how the project works!

I will privately contact a Steemit homesteader and ask if I may send them Barry. If they accept and DM me their address, I’ll ship him to their home! Once you receive Barry, take him on a tour of your homestead and snap some photos! Don’t forget a verification photo with your username and the date (like the one above)! Post an article with the photos and tag it #BarrytheBee! This way we can all follow along with his travels! Privately contact another homesteader that you’d like to send Barry to and verify you have permission! Ship him to the next address!

Follow along with his journey! Please keep all discussion(s) between you (the sender) and the next person (the receiver) private. This will only work if we all work together!

Barry is a small glass figurine so he should be packaged appropriately. Privately provide tracking information to the receiving party if possible.

I really would like to get him back in a year if possible. This figurine was a gift from my aunt and she’d probably get a kick out of seeing his journey! I’ll be following along so he (hopefully) doesn’t get lost!

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead slack community and have fun chatting with us- click picture below.
DQmTa57Whsb55DXfodWEvxENX4NUzyU7kqqvnx9Fuf95D1H_1680x8400.jpg
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

So cute! I love this story line and following Barry around! What a great idea! I love the jalapeno blossom. That is so pretty - I had no idea and I'm from Texas! Pretty yellow rose too! Also makes me think of Texas! Thanks for the post!

Thanks for stopping by. Keep an eye out for more of Barry's adventures. He's on the flight path for a year

Keep it up #BarrytheBee I love his journey and can wait to see his next stop. Thanks for sharing his story @goldendawne its been a wonderful post. @OriginalWorks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @goldendawne to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

thank you @raserrano It was fun walking through the garden and posing the little guy

I bet!!! Nice thing I would like to see if some other homesteaders from other countries will get him :]

I know, right? I would love to see him travel overseas and bring some great pics back!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Oh my goodness this is adorable! Looks like #BarryTheBee is having fun! I'm excited to see where he goes next! Thank you for participating haha!

Glad you enjoyed it! I'll keep you updated on where he is heading off to next

Can't wait to see his full year of adventures!

@originalworks

I'd love to have you fly by our homestead Barry! Let me know in the SteemitHomesteaders Slack community if you're interested!

It was so much fun doing this! I'm sure Barry will be 'buzzing' his way to you soon!

Thanks for brightening my day!

You're welcome! Hope I brought a smile to your face.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46