Barbara-Anne: PITCH PACKAGE for Steem

in #barbara-anne6 years ago (edited)

100% of the proceeds on any Barbara-Anne Post go directly to making the film!!!

Steem loves,

The love and support for wanting to make my movie has been so positive and amazing. But now...I wanna get down to business and treat each of you the way I would if I were pitching to a private investor or network. The reality is, your up votes, your comments and possible other donations are what will make this movie the same way someone who would fund it out there in the real world. My Barbara-Anne updates will now fall under #barbara-anne so you can always find it and will have more order and consistency. I will of course still share my artistic process with you and have fun off the cuff videos but I want you to also know that you aren't just throwing your support at a fun idea but a competent team of creatives who know how to get the job done. Bad ass business babes, female film makers and creative creatures!

#Barbara-Anne Pitch Package

image2 (8).jpeg

My Why:

This is the first film I have written and will be starring in and co producing. I am fortunate to be an auditioning and working actor but often the parts that are being cast on larger shows don't offer an opportunity to really dive deep into character development. I have a vision for the types of roles I want to play and offer other women the opportunity to play. I am inspired by Lucille Ball, Andrea Martin, women on SNL and those larger than life type parts that get to exist on screen. I want to write female roles that take up space, that are quirky and full of character. In this industry I have learnt it's very rare to just be handed a dream role, it needs to be cultivated and created by the actors and you need to take the lead of your own career. That's why I wrote this film.

Since my first draft I wrote back in July I have been developing this character in a class at Second City and calling on my more experienced writer friends to help mentor me through the process of writing a short film. I have been overwhelmed by the love and support and have chosen to surround myself with women who have more experience than me who also believe in creating this type of work. I hope for this film to be the first of many character driven scripts with a majority female team that I spear head.

Promoting Steem to a new Community:

In trying to fundraise the majority (if not all of the funds) through Steem my goal is to also be promoting this platform to my industry and community! I want people to know about how awesome the resources are here and I want to show film makers and artists the potential of Steem. Should I reach my goal of fundraising $4000.00 I want to include the Steem logo in the credits of my film and take every opportunity I can to share my experience with fellow film makers and audiences. Trying to explain Steem Blockchain can be difficult but I think having this film to show the potential of it is an excellent way to bring people's awareness to what's going on here that they may have otherwise doubted.

The Budget

Screen Shot 2018-10-19 at 1.53.07 PM.png

Breaking down the Budget:

The above first draft budget break down shows where costs will be allocated. This is subject to change as script details are finalized but the goal is to make the film as cheaply and efficiently as possible (without compromising quality) Where there are 0's I am able to call in favours or have connections with people/places that are willing to offer in kind services or free labour.

Cast and crew will be working for free on this project. We will be engaged under an Actra Co-op Agreement where by all members agree to work for free and should any profits be made they are split equally amongst the team.

Where will additional funds come from?

My goal is to fund as much of the film on Steem as possible. Any earnings on my posts related to Barbara-Anne will go towards creating this film. I am also currently pitching the project to private investors and will also host a public fundraiser in Toronto to raise money and also spread the word about the film. Should any additional costs be raised my top priorities will be paying the artists and marketing the film.

Get to know the Movie:

Meet the Characters:

Barbara-Anne is a 28 year who lives in present day Toronto but exists like its 1950's and speaks with a Southern Accent. Neighbours may find her a bit odd but she is sweet and makes a mean casserole. She is married to a business man named Charlie, has two children but is also a people pleasing serial killer.

Emily is a 29 year old cop who was born and raised in Toronto. She is a modern, confident, city gal who recently joined the police force. New to her position she hasn't been in any high pressure situations yet but is eager to get her career rolling and prove herself a reliable member of the team.

Synopsis:

Rookie cop Emily thinks she's come to handle a domestic disturbance but little does she know she's about to pull the trigger on Barbara-Anne's ultimate plan.

The Creative Team:

Director: Kat Webber
28059433_10104305685948130_472798260941743139_n.jpg
Kat is an editor and director who refuses to be put in a box. Most recently has edited the past 3 Drake music videos, numerous commercials for brands such as Nike and Joe Fresh has directed multiple music videos including Hanson and Jane's Party. Her work has been seen all over the world including the short The Aerialist which played at The Cannes Festival. She has also worked in narrative on films such as Satisfaction and CBC's A Christmas Fury.

Actor: Emily Coutts
Emily-Coutts--1024x720.png

Emily is currently playing Keyla Detmer on Star Trek Discovery and has worked on a wide range of Canadian and American films and TV shows including Guillermo Del Torro's Block Buster film Crimson Peak, The Girlfriend Experience, Designated Survivor and Murdoch Mysteries. Emily is a graduate of the prestigious CFC training program and has also spear headed her own projects such as the film Barn Wedding.

Writer/Actor: Katelyn McCulloch
349EB752-D724-429C-8C44-F0BC6CC3D209.JPG

Katelyn is an award winning actor and aerialist. Barbara-Anne is Katelyn's screenwriting debut but in front of the camera you can catch in her Becoming Burlesque, Club Six, Incorporated and Reign to name a few. This fall Katelyn will be a series regular on the new CBC Digital original comedy Mind Fudge. Theatre highlights for Katelyn include working for Mirvish Productions, The Stratford Theatre Festival, The Company Theatre and The Citadel Theatre. She holds a Dora Mavor Moore award for Best Ensemble for her work in Jerusalem and a Broadway World Award for Best Actress in a Supporting role for her work as Ben Gunn in Treasure Island at the Stratford Theatre Festival

Dreams for the Film

The goal of this film would be to submit it to film festivals and do a film circuit and then release it online.

Please comment, up vote, Resteem or if you're interested in a private donation WE WON'T SAY NO :)!

xo
Katelyn

Sort:  

nicely laid out @lifesacircus... you played in Reign? I loved that series

Thank you!!! I did one episode in where I got to be real angry and yell at someone with my British accent 🙃 it was a great set!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love the idea and the fact that you have the vision and determination to go out and get what you want from life. There are a lot of people that are all talk but very few willing to chase it.

Have you looked at fundition at all?
I'm not sure how popular it is at the moment but i have seen some projects doing well. It's a decentralized crowdfunding platform and might be worth a look. It's also on the STEEM blockchain.

https://fundition.io/

Thank you so much!! Gotta follow your dreams and out the work in! I was working with Fundition and made a page and did an update but have decided it's not the best route for me and this project. They have been having some technical issues and technical things aren't my strong suit so when it wasn't working I would get so stressed out.

If it's not for you that's fine. There are plenty ways to get the same result. If you keep posting and get people interested in what your doing then hopefully the support will follow. I follow @curie and they are great to support people like yourself who are promoting great projects.

I was able to chat with some of the tech team and am back on the Fundition wagon! Wanted to let you know as your comment helped me re investigate!

That's great to hear and hopefully it can help towards the success of your film. I had planned on looking into fundition properly when I had a day off next but it seems you beat me to the punch.

I'll be watching your progress eagerly and if i can help with anything let me know and i will see what i can do. I love the vision for your project and want to see it get to the finish line.

This looks pretty fantastic & Ya’ll really got ur shit together breakin everything down. I’ll look forward to seein this one day :)

Thanks babeeee!!! Shooting before Christmas- so it is GO TIME 💪🏼💪🏼💪🏼 xoxo

Posted using Partiko iOS

I loved this project from the very beginning. It will be a pleasure to help and support it. You are already a star!

Thanks a lot for you intention. I also believe that if your movie will be successful, it will help promote steem a lot. Because steem need famous people and interesting creators like you. It will attract more investors and other actors to steem. Maybe even Hollywood in the future will be interested to share their content here. Just imagine how famous and strong steem will be that time. Thanks for the inspiration. ☺

haha working on that fame! Thanks for your support xo

Let See how far we can push creativity. Looking professional so far.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I want everything to be laid out so it's clear and how I would submit a project to get funded. I took some liberties here in formatting because it's online but I want there to be a solid frame work so people understand what's going on and then I can make dtube videos that share the personal side of it too! I would love for it to be successful on Steem so I can put Steem in the credits and when I hopefully tour with the film can talk about Steem and how it made art possible!!!

That's an exciting prospect... I didn't think of this project as potentially being an advertisement/case study/success story for the creative side of the Steem blockchain. I've had you on autovote since the classy Canadians re-introduced you, but if there's anything else I can do to help please let me know.

Also, having Emily attached to the project is really exciting!

Well I'm glad you had me on upvote before you even realized my ULTIMATE GENUIS lol And Kat and Emily and I all went through theatre school together and they are my best gal pals. So I'm prettyyyyyy lucky and I mean so are they...cause I'm so cool hehe

Hahaha, well, to be fair, my upvote was 80% Willow 20% Your Potential Ultimate Genius, so I really couldn't lose.... but I'm glad you're all funsies besties, that'll make this project all the funnerer!

Also... Kat's tattoo is the best!

Should I reach my goal of fundraising $4000.00

lets do the math

with you current upvote power with about 1000 SP you have about 0,05$ 100% upvote. This goes down 2% with every upvote. so lets say you can make 2 100% upvotes everday on your project you get 10Cents US. This will take you too long.

what about creating @barbara-ann account via anon.steem.network so you can split your personal stories and barabar ann project? so every steem that goes directly to the project can be donated there and you just post the process so you can entertain us here on a daily basis without mixing it too much with the project.

so here is a tool to simulate your voting power. https://steemworld.org/@lifesacircus

this is a tool for automate your self upvotes and automate votes for other people: www.steemdunk.xyz

so right now we need 5000 Steem to get the project going. ( i think steem might down in price a bit as we dont know how bitcoin price goes up or not).

so far so good.
stay high

whoa! This is lots of info THANK YOU. I guess I felt like I didn't want to make a separate account and try to build that up on its own versus building on the friends here who are getting to know me and the project. I will still be posting all my entertaining stuff (don't worry) and like that it gives everyone more of an overview of my full creative life. Goofy dance videos are just as important as the producing side of a film because it all feeds into my creativity and career ya know?
Let's chat more on discord... I'm @lifesacircus#8828
Also...I didn't know how to automate upvotes but I know people do so good to understand how that's happening

gosh i acutally dont like to chat that much. for business i am on the phone all the time anyway.

i will keep track on your circus lifestyle and try to provide you with funds/upvotes/steem or at least good ideas.

Steem on!

haha understood! Just incase I had more questions but I'll just post here! your comments and votes are always so appreciated thank youuuuu

Hmm, with all due respect @felix.herrmann, I think this project will reach it's goals much quicker all being on the same account. @lifesacircus will get upvotes from lots of different people... the math you suggested only works if literally no one else upvotes her work, which is not the case here...

I personally think the best move forward is to continue going as she has, while ever increasing her reach with new followers and interested/supportive communities... while also crowdsourcing posters/competitions, etc from the Steem community. Her votes are probably far more valuable engaging with others than just upvoting herself.

good point, but self upvotes are plannable, the votes of others not. But she already has decent support. she will be fine.

Looking forward to seeing this project move forward successfully.

If I can be of any assistance just message me Katelyn.



Thank you sooo much. Your support has been so appreciated you have no idea!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

That's very exciting. You've put a lot of time and effort into your film. I wish you all the best.

thank you :) still a lottttt of work to do but here's to the Steem community helping me out!

I have a lot more to say than this, but for now I'll just say...wow you're freaking awesome.

awww well shucks thanks babe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57