Bad Whale Harassment - berniesanders flagging again to keep me down

in #badwhales7 years ago

beernieflags.jpg

The concentration of power in corrupt individuals who think they can go around and abuse their power while they vote up other content higher without a qualm. The wealthy who choose who can and can't get rewarded certain amounts. This is bad for a community. A community that tolerates this isn't a welcoming place for newcomers, or existing people.

Sort:  

You should never hit children as a parent because your buttons get pushed and in an emotional state you can never be sure the punishment is appropriate. There are of course many other reasons like the message it gives the child about problem solving and violence. Some whale behaviour could be viewed like someone powerful hitting a child. Irrespective of the system design, the powerful have the opportunity to see the result of certain actions and acknowledge the affects. Some whales are clearly emotional and inconsistent. As such, their actions cannot be measured or appropriate even if following the current 'rules' so some self-restraint would be appropriate. I could smack my child and get away with it, I could convince myself that it was an appropriate punishment on occasion, but there would be no escaping the consequences or the strong possibility that I was wrong. I would be failing to wield my great power responsibly. I'd be behaving no better than the child I was attempting to educate and control.

This is not about whale bashing and I know the analogy isn't perfect. Krnel doesn't deserve to be victimized because he's making an effort to produce for Steemit and has collected some bot votes. Attacking krnel isn't the best way to help authors who have not yet been recognised. The best way to help them is to grow steemit's user base.

Whales upvoting chosen accounts crap for the rewards is one thing, attacking the rewards of a genuinely productive account is utter madness. All bot owners must continually update their parameters and make an effort to read the material they are voting for or rely upon a heads up from the community.

The issues in steemit are not all about whale power...... please check out this post from lok1 that re-raises the more serious issue of SBD limitations on Steem.

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@l0k1/a-fable-about-a-shepherd-who-also-raises-wolves#@l0k1/re-benjojo-re-l0k1-a-fable-about-a-shepherd-who-also-raises-wolves-20170303t094344717z

Very good analogy!

Kind of Ironic that he calls himself Bernie Sanders who bashed the 1% frequently when campaigning yet this user/whale acts just like the people his namesake frequently bashed. :P Perhaps the name was chosen because it was a good buzzword at the time and there may be no ideological affiliation in the actual choice of the name.

Sigh... yeah. Well, I will keep calling it out.

Kernel I have reached out to a guy that helped me when I was being attacked- I told him that you provide high quality content and reminded him that free expression is critical to the success of this platform.

Indeed. The concentration of power prevents free speech in many cases because people are afraid to get involved and speak against those with the power. None of my posts where that great today, but this issue of choosing who can and can't get rewarded certain amount is not good hehe. Thanks for the support, but the guy you talked to is he going to join steemit? Or whats up? I'm a bit confused.

I don't fear squat and will fight oppression of free expression relentlessly regardless of the consequences because the consequences of NOT doing so are far more detrimental to what truly matters- our souls.

I'm so sorry, I love your articles. My husband agrees with me flagging to reduce rewards of high earners is very bad for Steemit....

I wouldn't worry about it. I think it's a stretch to even refer to him as a whale anymore.

I'm sure that he loves these types of posts though, so it would probably serve you better to simply ignore the flags. Eventually he will stop when he sees it's no longer effecting you. That, or within a couple of weeks his flag will be about as damaging as mine anyway, so you will have nothing at all to worry about.

IMO, reducing reward due to subjective disagreement on value of contents is acceptable. But if it's a flagging on a person itself, it can be bullying. I cannot tell which of it is now going around, but will figure out probably soon.

he kills accounts

Your an inspiration. Your posts rock. Never shut up!
SHUTup.gif

I will, also, work to have a voice. I want everyone to win and sometimes I stay quiet but, you are an inspiration.

IMO its gaming the system.

What do you mean Steemit is a gaming system?

I agree that some folks have too much power. Not much we can do about it right now.
I commented on his a bit ago saying to renounce the bots.
Maybe it is not right for me to say that. The only way I see this flagging stopping is by doing this.
Maybe I am 100% wrong in suggesting this.
I dont know, but I like your posts and I wish this stuff didnt happen.
I hope you are not upset with me over this.
Its a tough situation.

I don't know much about bots and guilds but I do know when the power whales go off the deep end using the tools to create chaos and despair for good or bad intent the tools (bots/guilds/rewards) should not be taken away from the community that wasn't abusing them in the first place Take them away from the ones that are abusing them. Power down the whales for a season until they get the message not to mess with the community. 3 strikes and your on the bench with no power plays.
whale fail.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66735.55
ETH 3509.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71