You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Autism Club: Autism Awareness Swag - Do We Really Need It?

in #autism8 years ago

@jazzyfish I feel your pain, I too am a mum of two nonverbal autistic kids one 7 (girl) one 5 (boy).

There is a very good reason neither of my children have ever had haircuts, it is just too much stress for them (plus they look super cute with long hair anyway).

I have a close friend who wears an autism awareness shirt out, when she's going to big events with her boys. Mind you as an outspoken aussie chick and she has no problem "explaining" to people what's happening when her son is having a meltdown.

I will actively tell people myself, especially if they are staring, pointing, commenting or if they try to intervene on my behalf because I'm obviously an incapable mother (it's happened - I usually say "I wouldn't, he bites").

I think in some ways a shirt would help, I could remain focused on my child who needs me mid meltdown - rather than having to care about some adults inconvenienced shopping trip.

But really we just don't venture out enough to warrant one, it would probably be useful if you're out and about a fair bit.

I too have also had a hard time with the facebook "support groups", my life is hard enough without out other mothers taking their frustrations out on me, berating me for my opinions or trying to force theirs on you.

There is a large amount of hostility in these groups and I don't understand why they were all usually created with idea of support in mind, but the "autism mums" can get really aggressive and hostile even when unprovoked.

I hope that all members on steemit, can get actively involved in the autism community that is evolving here . I have had an amazing response with one of my autism related posts about nonverbal communication.

My goal on here is to create some real awareness about autism and the different ways, it can impact both the child and carer.

I praise you in your bravery for daring to venture, into the wild unknown of the shopping center hairdresser with an autistic child.

Here's some links to my autism posts so far if you want to take a look :)

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@krystle/hey-i-m-krystle

https://steemit.com/autism/@krystle/what-it-means-to-be-non-verbal-autistic-from-a-mum-s-perspective

https://steemit.com/autism/@krystle/the-worst-20mins-of-my-life

https://steemit.com/autism/@krystle/please-think-twice-a-plea-from-an-autism-parent

Sort:  

I'll upvote posts like this every time I see them. I knew the support here would FAR outweigh the crap that gets slung in those "support" groups elsewhere online.

Thank you for the links! I have followed you and I will give them a look. As far as the salon goes, it's the only one in town that has chairs that keep him occupied. They have a police car chair, an airplane, and a taxi chair, and all three of them have steering wheels he can spin and enjoy. The owner this morning said that about 60% of her clients have SPD/Autism. I think it's because she has the chairs! We usually have a good time there, but it was just crowded today. We don't venture out a lot right now either, but when we do, I try to pick off-peak times to go so it is quieter and easier to process for my son.
I look forward to more posts about this topic!

I'm going to check out those links as well.

Being a mom of a 5 year old it angers me that the other mother didnt acknowledge that your son was trying to look/play with the toy. Autism or not I have started at a very young age that if he did not want to share his toys he could not bring them out. Of course we have had melt downs when sharing actually begins but now he is totally on board. I just hate when we run into mothers or fathere that are totally blind to these things. No you shouldn't have to turn to shirts or jewelry to let everyone know, man kind should have compassion and I know that's a lot to ask. Who's to say that the family didnt have the money to buy the toy the other kid had and the other child was really trying his hardest to see and/or at least touch it. I know that this world my 5 year old is growing up in is something else but we have to teach our youth the right thing. Thanking for posting\sharing and sorry for going on and on but it's up to us as parents to open out eyes and help each other out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49