Please think twice. A plea from an autism parent.

in #autism8 years ago

Please think twice, before you stare at my screaming child in the middle of the shops.
The fluorescent lights flicker is too intense for them to tolerate.

Please think twice, before pointing and laughing as you see my child flapping their arms at the park.
Flapping their arms helps them cope with the overstimulation they feel from the sand touching their feet.

Please think twice, before commenting on my child humming loudly as we wait in line.
The constant bombardment of sound is too much for them and they need to filter it to a tolerable level.

Please think twice, my child isn't misbehaving my child is trying to live in a world that wasn't built for them. My child struggles with everyday tasks you and I take for granted.

Please think twice, before making our lives any harder.


Learn about the author - Read my introduction post!

Subscribe here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86