Early Morning Conversation. Seeking the perfect Sunrise. Original Photography.

in #australia6 years ago (edited)

But Ally, it's only 4 o'clock.

'Oh but, the sky is so clear tonight. The stars are so bright. I can see the Milky Way. Not a cloud in sight.'

'But Ally, you need more sleep.'

'Oh but, I really wanted to photograph the Roseville Bridge again. At sunrise.'

'But Ally, you'll be tired for the rest of the day.'

'Oh but, it's Sunday. I can always have a nap later in the day. Besides, there won't be so much traffic. It's the perfect time to GO.'

The conversation abated as soon as I closed the front door. I was on an adventure and felt so at peace under the magical star-filled silent sky.

My journey took me through the quiet back streets of Roseville and Roseville Chase. Streets I'd never walked down before. All was new under the cover of darkness.

Until I approached the Roseville Bridge.

untitled-1289.jpg

Approach to the Roseville Bridge.


There isn't a pedestrian access on the side of the Roseville Bridge that I had envisaged would give me the ultimate view of the sunrise.

So I slowly made my way from one end of the bridge to the other and then back again. It was too dark to photograph with my Sony. I did try.

And the conversation rebounded:

But Ally, this is crazy. You're not on the right side of the bridge to photograph the sun-rise. You could have just gone back to bed.

Oh but, what other time could one be on the middle of the Roseville Bridge and be more aware of the salty fragrance of the water rather than the deadly fumes of petrol?

But Ally, this is REALLY crazy. You aren't even going to see the sunrise from ANYWHERE on this bridge. That mountain is in the way. And it's still SO dark. How long can you hang out on this bridge, waiting for something that's not even going to happen?

Oh, I think you may be right this time. Maybe we can come back again later.

But Ally, it's way too dark, too isolated, to scary, even for you, to go down that road that seems to lead under the bridge. So where are we going to go now?

Oh, I think you may be right again. But lets just walk on and see where we end up.

Heading back towards Roseville.

untitled-1296.jpg

Looking back to the Roseville Bridge from the Overpass.


From the overpass we were back in the tranquil back streets.

Dawn was almost breaking. The welcoming symphony of kookaburras and cookatoos.

Sweeping streets, high above Middle Harbour now. Although I live in Roseville this area is totally new to me. I understood now after seeing the largest Babbage Palm tree ever, how Babbage Road came by its name. Gigantic palm trees. Monumental estates.

Followed a sign to Roseville Marina. Locked gates. Security cameras.

Recalling another conversation now.

'But Ally, you've just walked up this HUGE hill and the gates won't be open until 8 am. It's so close to sunrise. You're not going to see it. Not from the water anyway. Maybe risk the security camera and find a way in.'

'These gates are way too high for me to climb. Excellent security. If I lived on a boat, I'd feel very safe here.'

'Let's go home. I'm tired. And right now I'd love a kombucha.'

'We just need to back track a little. There was another road, a few hills and curves ago, that may go down to the water's edge.'

Short Story: And there was.

untitled-1321.jpg

Sun rising over the mountain. Sydney's Middle Harbour.


We stayed by the water for a short time: Watching fishermen setting up under the bridge. Watching a Water Dragon. At peace with one another ~ Finally.

Tide was up. It was time to return home. Through Echo Point Park behind the Marina.

In my article Underneath the Arches of the Roseville Bridge I mentioned this spacious garden area that leads down to the marina and the restaurant there.

It was so relaxing walking over the soft grass covered in dew. A balm for our feet and spirit after walking many a rocky trail and roadway.

untitled-1306.jpg

Drinking font at Echo Point Park.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: 35 mm:

Creative Commons License
All works are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License


Terms of CC BY-SA.

  • This ShareAlike license will allow you to reproduce and/or manipulate this image even for your commercial purposes.

  • You are required to attribute me, Alison Lee Cousland as the designer/artist.

  • You also need to be willing to license any of your new creations that make use of this image, under the identical terms IE allow others to reproduce and/or build their own art upon your art, as well as granting their right to commercial usage.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1.png

Sort:  

hi @allyinspirit, great photos you got there. And I love how you capture your thoughts in a monologue manner. You totally deserve to be Curied. I've seen your other photos and they're so pretty. Thanks for making 'em available as creative commons <3
 

*This amazing post was nominated to, and upvoted by @curie. Support what we do by voting Curie as a witness

Debbie, what a delightful surprise. Thanks so much for your @curie nomination. I truly appreciate the encouragement. It's certainly come at a good time for me.

I wasn't expecting this post to draw a lot of 'attention' as the images are far from being colourful and bright. But I mainly wanted to tell the 'story' as a dialogue between the fighting parts of myself and how eventually they made 'friends.'

There was a lot of inner struggling going on most of the morning and so rather than just show the cheerful personality, I thought it would be fun to show the grumpy resistant personality as well.

Really pleased to know that you like my other photography too. I fluctuate between or juxtapose the perfection found in nature with the gnarled and decaying. Also pleased that you appreciate this work being available as Creative Commons. This has only been a recent step for me to take (although I've thought about it for eons) and has largely resulted from my interaction with other artists at Steemit.

I've read a few of your articles today Debbie. Love how you are working and I was impressed with articles like: What makes a photography post irresistible. Shared with some friends who are new to Steemit. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest.png

Sounds to me like you're suffering from an imposter syndrome here ;p

I wasn't expecting this post to draw a lot of 'attention' as the images are far from being colourful and bright. But I mainly wanted to tell the 'story' as a dialogue between the fighting parts of myself and how eventually they made 'friends.'

I know many great creatives and bright minds would start questioning their work and worth, And these people usually can't see how good their work is. Which is why it's important for me to notice great work and to have Curie curate them. It hurts me to see when some great works go unnoticed or unrewarded for the longest time. It's not 'cause they suck, it's simply 'cause they let their content speak to their audience- organically and that takes hell lots of time esp when you're not boosting your post with bid bots etc. I won't encourage bid-botting all the way 'cause then we can't curate you within the 24 hours. But one thing's for sure. Keep creating contents from different angle and do what you're doing now :)

You have a different take on photography and I find your pics vsco-like. You also include stories in them which is great. I've checked out your blog as well so as long as you're providing awesome content like you already did, you're on our watch radar :) ...bear in mind though, that your contents must be Steemit original (not published elsewhere), then only we can propose your genuine post for curation worth <3 Again, congrats dear @allyinspirit

Please forgive the delayed response Debbie. Sometimes I can't return a comment immediately because the words simply aren't there to express my gratitude.

I've thought for what seems like a lifetime, at least my creative lifetime, that choosing to be an artist gives one a brilliant opportunity to test one's belief in one's work. And as an artist, 'one's work' mean's one's whole body, mind, heart and spirit.

Recently I've been considering writing another Introduce Yourself post because when I first started Steemit, I introduced one side of my art and not the person behind the art, and certainly not all the successes and failures, trials and tribulations of finding an audience for my art. And definitely not revealing how the successes and failures impacted my being and hence what could be produced from that being.

Steemit is such a huge community and somehow each one of us finds our tribe. I love seeing how different people work in whatever their chosen field. I also draw a lot of support from the interactions I have with other creatives. So my focus is not so much on the financial rewards that can be gained from Steemit ~ Although I would love a digital pen for my tablet. I'll be writing about this at some stage, because I've decided to not buy the pen I want, until I can actually buy it from my Steemit savings.

Your encouragement to keep producing original content has really given me such a boost and I wish to wholeheartedly thank you once again. 🦋

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

It was a wonderful morning's adventure ~ Wandering unfamiliar areas within my own suburb @pixresteemer. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest.png

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=allyinspirit
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=early-morning-conversation-original-photography


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks so much @steemitworldmap. Sydney and her surrounds are becoming well represented on the Steemit Worldmap now. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest.png

But Ally, beutiful captures! 😉

Oh Di, so pleased you like these images. No tripod and hands-free. High ISO, so very noisy. The photograph doesn't do the golden glow rising up from behind the mountain justice.

But it was fun telling the tale of the adventure.

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest.png

But Ally, you did a great job! :)

Oh Maya, I had visions of seeing the sky being painted in beautiful reds and oranges as the sun rose over the harbour. Until I realized that the mountains were between the sun and where I was standing on the bridge. 😊

The glow behind the mountain was especially beautiful. It wasn't visible at all in the image until I reduced the exposure in Lightroom. Was a lovely surprise. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest.png

I'm glad you were rewarded in the end @allyinspirit.
You are a true artist. 😁 I don't think the promise of any shots would ever get me out of bed at 4 in the morning! 😍

Ah, but Gillian, Sydney's 4 am is absolutely delightful at the moment. And it was so refreshing to walk on moist suburban (what we call) nature strips after another really hot day yesterday.

After writing this I felt really grateful that the 'artist/adventurer' had won out. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest.png

I'm happy the 'artist/adventurer' won out too @allyinspirit. It's lovely to see you enjoying your "work", whatever time of day! 😍

Nice picture!
You got an upvote, so it would be kind to follow this account for more upvotes in the future :)

Beautiful photos excellent post my friend 👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12