Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest

in #aswcontest6 years ago

No. 9- Graveyards @customnature #aswcontest

image

These dilapidated crypts are in the Saint Louis No.1 Cemetery in New Orleans, Louisiana. I was glad it was a bright sunny morning when I was there.
The cemetery was established in the late 1700's and is the oldest graveyard in the city.

Today is the last day to enter!

SHADOW PHOTO CONTEST Round 8-Super Hero/figurine

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Love that place!
IMG_9948.jpg

Oh! I love it!! How often does that happen? I do a #cemeteryphotos challenge every Monday...use the tag if you post cemetery photos so that I don't miss your NOLA shots!!

Will do NOLA & Savannah cemeteries are beautiful.

I love Bonaventure! I just did a photo essay of Charleston cemeteries on Monday.

I have to remember to check it out tomorrow- i’d Love to go to Charleston. . Bonaventure was great!

I wonder if this place was under water during the floods? Looks pretty spooky even in broad daylight.

I was told that it only suffered minor flooding after Katrina. It certainly has an atmosphere unlike any other place I have been!

Seriously, that is so sad to see, yet the younger generation does not go there to take care of graves for the most part. Sad to see them run down.

You always wonder why this happens...has the family just died out, or moved away, or do they truly have no one that cares. Maybe it is simply a matter of not having the resources. When I went to buy a tombstone for Jim's grave last year I was shocked at the cost, and all the rules that had to be adhered to!

I am sure you are right on all accounts. I know the costs are out of control when it comes to stones. It is no wonder that people only buy the plagues that are at ground level now. Have a great week Melinda

On the tour, we were told that many of the graves had new bodies put in the tombs. According to her - the heat and humidity make the bodies decompose very fast. I remember her saying that could replace them in a year + one day.

It is a good system...and I rather like the idea that my bones could be commingled with generations of family members.

Awesome photo @melinda010100!

I really like the colours of these ancient
crypts! Very contrasting with the vivid
blue sky!

I loved taking pictures there!

Where was the natural skull rock photo taken I seen
on another posting the other day? Scrolled through
your postings to see if could find it. :-)

Skull Rock is in Joshua Tree National Park in southern California. image
Isn't it wonderful? I posted it to @claudiaz s photo contest last week.
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@claudiaz/contest-winners-week-11-weird-creations-of-nature

That is so cool, thank for putting it here, I'd forgot
where I seen it lol

I know there are a lot of beautiful old cemeteries in New Orleans. I'd love to wander around there. I guess it's safe to wander off in that cemetery?

I see that this particular one is no longer wanderable. You can only enter as part of a paid tour group..Good way to capitalize the tourist trade, I guess. Glad I was there a few years ago when you could wander!

I was on the tour one - which I could have spent much more time in, but you are rushed.

As for safety - I’d say if you have expensive camera equipment - don’t go alone. We went into one of the other cemeteries and my wife and I seemed to be the only ones in there - then out of nowhere a pretty scary looking guy showed up. He may have been homeless- nothing happened, but he seemed to be near us for a while. I still kept taking pictures and hoping one of his friends didn’t trap us. Just be aware of your surroundings-

I guess precaution is necessary when visiting any cemetery. Hey I'd love to see the photos you took there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60953.94
ETH 2920.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57