🎨IMPOSSIBLE PROPOSITION

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

IMPOSSIBLE PROPOSITION

Lately I've been working on some small drawings, and this one I just finished yesterday.
I am going out on a limb here, but leave it up to people to interpret what basically was derived by subconscious doodling until the forms started to emerge and I began to fill in details.
I tried to come up with a title that suggested itself, and after thinking about anamorphic, parthenogenesis and hyper-dimensional images I stuck with my first instinct: a impossible proposition.
And then I came across this:

“The human mind is a magical labyrinth. It is a mystical universe within you, where everything eventually materializes. So be careful of what you put in it. For it is only your thoughts that can decide the possible from the impossible.” ― Ashwini Shenoy


IMG_1390web1600.jpg

graphite on paper, A4 - 21 x 29.5 cm, completed 2018-08-21
shared on WhatsApp, I already had offers to buy it ......


🔍 you can right-click all images for a larger view 🔎

THE PROCESS - how I got from here to there .....

DSCN9752-process4.jpg

DETAILS

IMG_1393-combo1-web1000pxH.jpg

IMG_1396-combo1-web1000pxH.jpg

IMG_1395-combo1-web1000pxH.jpg

Prints are available here: Otto Rapp Pixels Website
also posted on my Flickr


“Parthenogenesis means never having your mother tell you to stop doing that or you'll go blind.” ― Seanan McGuire, Discount Armageddon

..... oh - speaking about Parthenogenesis, here is a rather rare piece by Canned Heat for some musical background to my drawing:



Recent small drawings posted previously:

UNTITLED A4 2018-08-01
UNTITLED A5 2018-08-01



visitmywebsite-small200.gif


1014714_10152239141141477_955721172_o-500sm.jpg
LET'S GET RETARDED

Note: I am an Austrian Artist living in Vienna


About my Work

Sort:  

It is extraordinary, my head is spinning trying to find the logic of the drawing, but i can not find it, it is very abstract and complex, but impressive. I like your work.

then you can imagine how my head was spinning drawing this, haha

Well, i've always wanted to draw something like that, so maybe something comes out of my head.

just let it flow - don't overthink it, because when you think about what you are doing, your conscious mind will interfere.
Some of my art evolved with what I called "telephone doodles": when you talk on the phone and are just doodling on the desk blotter. In fact, at the beginning of the surrealist revolution, they showed a Cabinet Ministers phone doodles on a blotter, which Louis Aragon stole for the "La Revolution Surrealiste" publication in 1926.
Tis is a sort of didactic comment - but forgive me, I am also a critic and art historian.

his interesting story leaves me speechless, knowledge is so important to be able to grow. You are very extraordinary. Thank you very much for your advice. His works are really inspiring.

I love story in artwork and find it even when it's not meant to be there, so I'm always happy to make up my own interpretation. :)

My first thought was the embryo of a bird. I've raised and hatched chicks and other poultry since I was a child and have always been fascinated by it. And liked, as ghoulish as it sounds, to crack open the eggs that didn't hatch to see how far they developed and would sketch them too, I was an odd child.

So, to me this looks a growing alien or mythical creature of the avian variety slipped from it's developing egg by a well meaning alien child wanting to investigate just what was going on inside that egg :)

thank you - this is a interesting view you have, born of curiosity. I can relate to being an "odd child" - we have this in common, and in a way, I still am......

Impresionante. Es usted un dibujante de gran talento y precisión, pero supongo que eso se lo habrán dicho muchas veces.
Agradezco enormemente que haya compartido acá este regalo visual. No me canso de verlo.
Gracias.

What a nice thing to say - thank you very much!
Qué cosa más agradable de decir, ¡muchas gracias!

wonderful work - very inspiring for me also to read your comments here. i love subconscious doodling - and this is encouraging me even more.
thanks for this post !

I am glad you liked it - and especially also for reading the comment section.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by The Mystic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you very much!

love this kind of work of yours!

Thanks Romanie - I probably do a few more. How many, idk - not like Vesna, lol - she set a goal of 50 for her mini-paintings. But if I set a goal, I just cause myself some anxiety which would be detrimental to my creative process. In such case, my quality would suffer if I am anxious to move on to the next, trying to fill a set quota.

I set myself time to paint goal.. but not results, that depends on how the process goes! We all have different ways of being creative! ;-) I love Vesnas art!

I can see an octopus in there :)
I am so strange haha...

why would that be strange? I t could be anything you can imagine. If a hyperdimensional entity enters the 3 dimensional level, all you can see is just a slice of the whole that appears to be changing and shifting.

Yes..it's the first thing which came to my mind when I saw it..

Apart of the fact that i'm in love with the details, and the scenary creeps me out
i'm kind of confused about trying to understand the form xD
great work, my friend :)

attracted an repelled at the same time - happens to me often. Maybe confusion happens when you try to decipher what I meant - which is hard for me even, since it comes from my subconscious. But maybe there are elements in there that speak to you on a different level - i.e. we may not understand something, but it vibrates on some level with our own hidden feelings. How I searched myself is hinted in the text and quotes I supplied. That does not mean you should see it the way I do.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

thank you! I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74