ART EXPLOSION WEEK 20: "Power''

in #artexplosion7 years ago

This drawing is my entry to Art Explosion, Week 20: Theme - POWER, organized by @juliakponsford. Thanks for arranging a fun contest!

I saw this guy on the street once, in Baltimore, Maryland, USA (I lived there a few years ago, working on the Elder Scrolls Online game).
I was struck by how strong he looked, even though he wasn't huge or a bodybuilder or anything. Kind of independent, self-sufficient, don't take no bullshit from anyone. And so when I started thinking about the word 'power' for this contest, I remembered him and tried to draw from memory. Difficult. I probably failed, but it was a fun exercise. :)

Power8.jpg

Here are the steps.

First loose sketching, with Photoshops default Pencil tool. Then lots of erasing, moving stuff around, and refining with a darker stronger brush.

Power1.jpg

Power2.jpg

Power3.jpg

Power4.jpg

Power6.jpg

Lastly selecting some parts on a layer and filling them with black, reducing opacity, erasing softly to the top to create a gradation, then refining the tint layer.
I tried to keep it loose and sketchy because that can sometimes give a feeling of vibrancy and energy to the final image. Not sure if I succeded though.

Power7.jpg

Well, that's it, thanks for looking, see you next time! :)

Power8.jpg

Sort:  

Holy crap man, I looked through your Steemit blog and you got mad skillz! I believe somewhere inside I have the ability to improve my art to be 'somewhat' in the realm of being this good but often self-discipline is a killer and the fact that I have very few friends that care about my art so I get into the whole "what's the point?" sorta mindset.

Thankyou for joining Steemit and helping to motivate and teach other artists to grow. I will be following you for sure!


Thanks! I saw some of your work just now, but I had to scroll way down, no recent work?... It's good! You should keep at it!
You mention discipline, I know that's the biggest problem for almost everyone. Just decide to do a tiny bit each day, at some specific time that suits you best. Like tell yourself 5 minutes, and then don't keep count, if it turns out longer it's a win-win. :)

Thanks mate. Yeah I've done a bit of art but haven't posted much recently. I should get onto it. I've got a few that are worthy, I believe, but many more half finished sketches. Great advice, I will try to some kind of drawing each day and do my best to stick with it :)

I liked it a lot! Good luck in the contest, I'm also participating I hope you can go through my blog watching it (;
https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@winizart/art-explosion-week-20-power-mind-original-illustration

Very nice step by step tutorial and great artwork! I get inspired by you to move more often to the digital art and leave the traditional pencil and paper behind. Which should work wonders for me, I guess. I had several painful moments lately, when one little mistake ruined a whole piece for me. Wouldn't happen with digital art. I saw we both took part in the https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-20-winners-the-theme-was-power, congratulations! Looking forward to more of your art. All the best! Klaudia

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! To join the ResteemSupport network and be entered into the lottery please upvote this post and see the following rules.

Congratulations @stahlberg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This guy looks pretty bad ass, I wouldn't mess with him! Awesome entry and thanks for showing the process!

Great drawing, love the steps, thank you for participating to the contest!

Thanks! I see you're making a movie with juliakponsford, that's so cool.
I love movies, always have, I'd be an extra for snacks. :) In fact I was once, when I lived in Hong Kong they were filming Knockoff with van Damme, not his best work lol but yeah you can see me in that movie. :)

Haha totally Van Damme doing the split in spandex always a classic. Julia pointed out a few of your post to me and impressive is an under statement. I garanty you will have success on the plateform with the quality work you are presenting. The movie is complete and will be release on my page starting January 8th!! check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51