Contest Entry for ART EXPLOSION WEEK 24: Theme LIGHT by @juliakponsford

in #artexplosion7 years ago

Hello Dear Friends,

I like weekly contest themes by @juliakponsford and @vachemorte so much, that I just can't resist participating! This week's edition theme is LIGHT, and that's exactly what we love and cultivate in Shiny Forest hah. Thank you guys for organising this great contest!

So, a vision came to my mind, of a cat staring into darkness, with eyes emitting light like they were torches. I think I had this idea because I saw recently this hilarious photo of a dog at night (and also made it my temporary Fb profile pic in an instant). The dog's eyes were lit up by camera, and together with a sweet and careless expression of the dog it looked very funny and cool to me. I really enjoy this effect and I wanted to include it in my art for quite a long time. I was thinking for example about a scene where a troop of torch-eyed dogs chases after an intruder in a dark, haunting forest. This fantasy may still become a reality one day ;) Speaking of inspirations, also the Catbus from My Neighbour Totoro comes to my mind. Nonetheless I know that this time my inspiration was mainly based on the pics and films of a nocturnal wildlife, and also on the shiny stares of my own animals at night.

Where there's light, there's also shadow, and I wanted to expose some of their inevitable relationship in this piece.

8.jpg

Pen and ink on paper, 21 x 29,7 cm

Traditionally, I created my work with pencil, pens and markers, and processed it in GIMP (resizing and GIF creation). The paper is a stock paper for printer (if you happen to now a good quality, smooth, low-absorbent paper, you are more than welcome to hint me).

I love using printer paper but recently I'm getting more and more frustrated with how badly it behaves at the final stages of work. For example it sort of deforms and/or absorbs ink in an uneven way, which eventually leads to quite serious distortions of my drawing. I stick to it because of its qualities, but I'll definitely be moving on to a different, more predictable medium. I'm also thinking about using other techniques, but shh, let's not spoil the surprise ;)

I'm in a quite reflective (and chatty) mood tonight. The truth is, I haven't been drawing on a regular basis for a very long period of time before I joined Steemit. I sort of picked up where I left, meaning high school, so not only I'm quite rusty, I also have a lot to learn. There are things I need to remind myself, and things I never properly grasped, which still need to be learnt. It's relatively easy to feel overwhelmed, and frustrated, too. I feel some kind of loss because of that, but at the same time I'm very thankful for any progress that I experience. Being aware of the shortcomings of my amateur artwork as I am, I try not to give up ;) You can keep your fingers crossed for me, if you enjoy my drawings ;)

PROGRESS STEP BY STEP

My contest entries (especially for ART EXPLOSIONS) tend to be more conceptual and less detailed, I'd say, than classic Shiny Forest postcards. Here we have a pencil sketch of only a cat, the light coming out of cat's eyes and the darkness spilt all around (caution: depending on your monitor settings the work can be hard to see, it's a delicate pencil sketch).

1.jpg

After I used pen I thought that cat's shadow would supplement this piece nicely. And I went for it! The cat's cute but serious.

2.jpg

I went rough with the base of the shadows. I wanted to be the shapes of the darkness and cat's shadow to correspond nicely with each other. I wanted them to be diagonally oriented and a little wavy.

3.jpg

I started with stippling right away, because the thick lines left by marker were a total eyesore. I decided that cat's shadow's texture will be thicker, and the background will be fine and grainy, to get a pleasant contrast.

4.jpg

I worked on a texture by adding countless dots, organized in lines. This process was gradual and global, I wanted to observe the whole piece's change at once, rather than work separately on different parts.

5.jpg

After I was starting to feel good about the background I got rid of pencil marks, and began to work on the cat. I added some lines on the beams of light.

6.jpg![7]

Cat was shaded very delicately, I wanted it to sort of glow on its own.

7.jpg

At this stage I decided to finish. Sometimes I get the impression that I should underdo my art rather than overdo it, because I have some bad experiences not stopping when I should hah ;)

8.jpg

Here's a little GIF for you:

tutorialik15.gif

I hope you enjoyed my art. I had a lot of fun creating it and hopefully you'll like it ;) Here's my last week entry for @juliakponsford and @vachemorte contest, if you're interested, where the theme was conspiracy. IT was related to the Steemit exclusive WORLD PREMIERE of THE JUJU GUM CONSPIRACY. It's a very cool, hilarious and dark series by our fellow Steemians juliakponsford and @vachemorte, you can watch first episode here and the latest one here :) Totally worth it!

footer 1.jpg

Love,

Klaudia

Sort:  

Nothing beats laser beams that come out from a cat's eyes. Hahaha. Here's my tiny upvote for this cool piece shiny bro :D

Awww thank you @lordkingpotato :) yeah, this cat has some serious laser game going on :) That's very sweet of you, I appreciate your support!

imageedit_60_2185700867.gif

Cool, thank you @occupywallets, I appreciate your support :)

This has lots of work in it, everybody can see it!. Still, loving the way you shade things (even though is not as powerful as it is obviously in your footer) and THAT BACKGROUND! Love love love this ♥

Cool cat!
I really liked reading what you had to write. I suck at drawing but I feel I can at least try and see what magic I can produce.

Thank you @ronyxoxo, I see you're a writer, I'm curious how would your drawings look :) let me know if you decided to post it here on Steemit ;)

Definitely. Thanks.

You are so good at creating moods using lights and shadows. I think you really did your homework in that regard. The fact that it's a cat is just a bonus!

Awesome drawing and thank you for sharing your process! Also I'm a huge fan of cats :D
Also I find the art with dots fascinating and usually soft, but too difficult to make xD
And your banner is so adorable <3

Thank you, @kristyglas! Very nice of you to show support , I appreciate that a lot. I see you're a talented artist, some great pixel art you got there! I'm following you so I won't miss a thing! :)

I love it! great job! The process photos are fun too. Thank you & congratulations!

Thank you @colormecalamity, I appreciate your support! :)

Again! I love our work. Its simultaneously sweet, funny and dark. The contrast between the dark and light places on the drawing is perfectly measured. And the cat reminds me of a dance improvisation I did some time ago (I worked long years as a dancer)... The goal was to learn to move in absolute slow-motion while doing very strenuous movements which involved supporting one’s weight on hands etc. And to have a tranquil, slow, and silent appearance we all should envision our eyes as big flashlights which cut through the darkness.

Thank you so much for this drawing!!!!

Wow, this is absolutely amazing! I would love to see your dance! My imagination is trying to picture you dancing, your description brings yoga somehow to my mind but perhaps it's not a very accurate association :) I'm very happy that you like my drawing, makes me wanna draw more :) Love, Klaudia

You asked for it :-DDD
here are some of my short animation films (I made the choreography). I am the one with the dress and the braided tails
http://www.buerografic.de/index.php?/film/wald/

again with braided tails, but this time with trousers :-D
http://www.buerografic.de/index.php?/thebirdthewolfdistrep/

and here a more filmic project i directed and where you can see me (the one with the long red hair)
https://www.facebook.com/simone.neumannsalva/videos/vb.100001550962800/132612926800405/?type=2&video_source=user_video_tab

(but beware, here are some naked women to see)
sadly from all of the life dance performances there are no videos online.

And yes: draw more!!!! You are amazing

baciolino simone

This is some serious awesomeness, @neumannsalva! I always perceive dancers like yourself as those artistic cool people who have amazing lifestyles, because of how magical the world/act of dance seems to me. I don't know, like your life is more vibrant and bohemian... I think that the concept behind those dances and the performance is really great, I'm impressed! Not only you dance beautifully, but you also paint and draw! I like to dance myself, but avoid any way of capturing it on film or photo hah (and that's a good thing ;P)

Thank so much :-D And yes I liked my time as a dancer/choreographer very much. It was so exciting to perform (and I have to admit, also party afterwards) and to live so close with you fellow esemble members. I loved to get feeback from an audiance. I still miss them and the time so much. But naturally there are also downsides I would have not imagined when I was younger...no insurances, less money and a overtaxed body which finished my carreer. I still love to dance, but its no longer only joy, because afterwards everything hurts for days - thats the reason I started to paint, to have a possibility to be creative without hurting myself.

And I would love to see you move - there is no bad movement :-D

Hehe wait till you see me ;) The physical strain in professional dance is I think often a not very well known or realized aspect by the audience, but I may be mistaken. thank you for your insight ;)

I love it, it's a laser cat!

Thanks for the entry :D

Haha cool, thank you @juliakponsford! :D

Oh my gosh, I flipping love it and want it in my room XD
They way you do textures (with the little dots) is amazing. It works so well with what you do.

Wow, thank you @caleblailmusik, this means a lot to me! So nice of you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30