Jellyfish At The Circus

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

medusadancingatthecircusfinal.jpg

The idea for this piece started yesterday while trying my hand at creating new fractals with Sterling2.

This one below was an happy accident that inspired me to do more: I saw in it a delicate alien face, and the idea of an alien jellyfish or medusa dancing somewhere in a strange landscape suddenly took form in my mind.

Screenshot - 04072018 - 07:03:00 PM.png

Then I came across this contest and was inspired to try my hand at a fractal composition. I wanted my jellyfish or medusa dancing at the circus, an alien circus!

Many hours and two computer crashes later I finally had something to show. The image is a mix of around 15 different fractals I made between yesterday and this morning, put together and tweaked in gimp.

Screenshot - 04072018 - 08:53:50 PM.png

This is my entry to the contest by @juliakponsford.

Sort:  

Congratulations @elisea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

What is a fractal for you exactly? You mean in the mathematical sense @elisea?

For me a fractal is an image/pattern that can be described/translated/created by mathematical formulas. Please feel free to correct me, I'm no mathematician.

I'm using “fractal” in an artistic sense I suppose, as in digital-art→fractal-art→fractal-generator program output image... Am I making any sense?
I use fractal-generator programs, and spend a lot more time than I should to get an image I'm pleased with. If I understood the math behind the formulas probably would make my life a lot, lot easier. I don't know.

Do you like the end result?

Hehe, I was just curious, not critizicing. And yes, I do love the end result!

A fractal is kind of a mathematical object that is generated recursively, that is, following a repeated rule, and within its own definition, and without being infinite.

An example of an operation defined recursively is the factorial:

1! =1
2! = 2x1! = 2
3! = 3x2! = 6
4! = 4x3! = 24
5! = 5x4! = 120
...
You get the point: once we define the operation, we don't need to elaborate, because we have a repeated rule applied to itself.

Fractals are one of the most amazing mathematical objects because this recursive property can be seen in self-similarity:

KochSnowGif16_800x500_2.gif

It doesn't matter how close you get, the image is exactly the same. The fractals can be seen also in the nature, pff, there are a lot of things I can say hehe. I think I'll write a post of this.

And yeah, great art!

Good morning! Glad you like it. A post about fractals sounds interesting, do write it I want to learn more.

Actually your questions were great because now I have a budding idea for a short story involving... fractals. Yay!

Let's see if I can come up with an interesting tale later in the day.

It's sunny today and I want to make the most of it outside as I have been hibernating from the rain all week. ❤

The day turned to rain yet again :(
Very interesting job you have @alonsomath. Now you got me into reading about imaginary numbers...❤❤❤

That's a shame for you...Not for me, cause love the rain hehe.

I hope that not from Wikipedia...

I like rain but not for months on end without stopping plus it's very cold and windy, not a good combination - it destroys umbrellas and makes it a nightmare to go on foot anywhere so I must capitulate, hibernate and write :)

Ahaha! You got me there... Wikipedia it was... over breakfast.

I'm so happy, I won 3rd place in the contest with my Jellyfish At The Circus. Hurray!

Congratulations @elisea! You have received a personal award!

Happy Easter 2018
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78