Sort:  

For me a fractal is an image/pattern that can be described/translated/created by mathematical formulas. Please feel free to correct me, I'm no mathematician.

I'm using “fractal” in an artistic sense I suppose, as in digital-art→fractal-art→fractal-generator program output image... Am I making any sense?
I use fractal-generator programs, and spend a lot more time than I should to get an image I'm pleased with. If I understood the math behind the formulas probably would make my life a lot, lot easier. I don't know.

Do you like the end result?

Hehe, I was just curious, not critizicing. And yes, I do love the end result!

A fractal is kind of a mathematical object that is generated recursively, that is, following a repeated rule, and within its own definition, and without being infinite.

An example of an operation defined recursively is the factorial:

1! =1
2! = 2x1! = 2
3! = 3x2! = 6
4! = 4x3! = 24
5! = 5x4! = 120
...
You get the point: once we define the operation, we don't need to elaborate, because we have a repeated rule applied to itself.

Fractals are one of the most amazing mathematical objects because this recursive property can be seen in self-similarity:

KochSnowGif16_800x500_2.gif

It doesn't matter how close you get, the image is exactly the same. The fractals can be seen also in the nature, pff, there are a lot of things I can say hehe. I think I'll write a post of this.

And yeah, great art!

Good morning! Glad you like it. A post about fractals sounds interesting, do write it I want to learn more.

Actually your questions were great because now I have a budding idea for a short story involving... fractals. Yay!

Let's see if I can come up with an interesting tale later in the day.

It's sunny today and I want to make the most of it outside as I have been hibernating from the rain all week. ❤

The day turned to rain yet again :(
Very interesting job you have @alonsomath. Now you got me into reading about imaginary numbers...❤❤❤

That's a shame for you...Not for me, cause love the rain hehe.

I hope that not from Wikipedia...

I like rain but not for months on end without stopping plus it's very cold and windy, not a good combination - it destroys umbrellas and makes it a nightmare to go on foot anywhere so I must capitulate, hibernate and write :)

Ahaha! You got me there... Wikipedia it was... over breakfast.

I'm so happy, I won 3rd place in the contest with my Jellyfish At The Circus. Hurray!

Congrats @elisea! I'm very happy for you :)
It was a good piece of art and the title superb.

No! Never use Wikipedia for math because it's not written for divulgation. It's hard to read math there because it usually lacks any explanation on the motivation behind things. For example, it doesn't say that imaginary numbers were invented to have a solution for every polynomial. On plain English, that you could find the x for any polynomial expression. The seed is the i number, which is defined as the solution of x^2 +1 =0. You cannot find the x from that expression using real numbers (the ones you're familiar with)

Ahmmm, sorry! Haha, you make me write geek stuff (though you started asking).

Hope you have sunny days in the near future, and congrats again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45