Crypto Collectibles presents Voodoo Joe and Ike from Arsenic Lullaby for #ArtExplosion

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

An entry or @juliakponsford's Art Explosion with this weeks theme being masks.  Having picked up a package today from comic book artist and fellow Steemian @arseniclullaby, I was super inspired.  No joke.   I was fully going to be drawing The Mask (comic book/Jim Carrey movie) but had opened up the ash can and started reading it not knowing what I was getting into.  Anyways, here is a process picture from my sketch, and below that a little gushing over my new comic book.

As an old school fan of random Evan Dorkin comics, a little Nny/Squee in there, and just a bunch of black and white indie books with good writing and art, Arsenic Lullaby scratched an itch I forgot I had.   Within page one of the book below, then page two, I was having audible laughs and my cats staring at me.   I look forward to finishing the comics.  Below you can see the characters as they are drawn by @arseniclullaby  



Here is the other book and pins I got (plus sticker!):


If you want to read some of the samples of the comics, I highly suggest doing so, and you don't have to leave Steemit, check this post https://steemit.com/exclusive/@arseniclullaby/arsenic-lullaby-blog-steemit-exclusive-and-comic-con-international-day2

Sorry this post started as an entry to a contest and ended as a plug for a comic, but having followed him on Steemit for a little bit I am just kicking myself in the ass for not reading more of the comics earlier (but not too hard, Steemit is filled with so much damn talent as well as obviously outside of Steemit is just filled with great comics, there is just only so much time in this world!).    Know you can hit him up on Steemit here and I believe if you can't pay for comics with cash or credit he did allow me to pay with Steem! 


Crypto Collectibles presents Lyanna Natura and Mischievous Mermaid for Pixel Art Weekly Steem Monster Game Jam Art Contest

Crypto Collectibles presents James Bond for Trial by Comics

Crypto Collectibles presents Animated Corpse with Oh Face for PhotoBomb Challenge #35 - Entry #1

Sort:  

That turned out pretty good! Glad you liked the books. Dorking JTHM and squee are some of my favorites too. Although Reid Flemming the Worlds Toughest Milkman, to me, is the pinnacle of indy quality!

Buying and selling books all the time I don't even know when the last time I bought a book for myself to sit down and read. I had plans to read yours because the last time I got a comic from Steemit it was really great (shoutout to @toonpunk), and damn, I really enjoyed your book. Still not done, enjoying the humor and your art (really looks ready for animation). Thanks for the buttons and sticker and just the bad ass drawings on the books. Also thanks for not hating my little sketch of your characters. I need to look into this Reid Flemming book sometime too now I see.

Reid Flemming is amazing...excerpt level of transferring comedic timing into a comic book

Damn good stuff. Was reading a few more just single stripes in Google image search, has such a cool old school feel with the art style, not sure if it is heavy line for shading or what it is exactly, in the same family as Crumb or Peter Bagge.

I enjoy the photos that come up in the search results too

So cool ! I love Voodoo Joe ! You captured him well with that slump of the shoulders and grumpy mask expression :D :D :D

Wonderful post <3

Great drawing skills, keep it up 👌

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54