You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jellyfish At The Circus

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

Congrats @elisea! I'm very happy for you :)
It was a good piece of art and the title superb.

No! Never use Wikipedia for math because it's not written for divulgation. It's hard to read math there because it usually lacks any explanation on the motivation behind things. For example, it doesn't say that imaginary numbers were invented to have a solution for every polynomial. On plain English, that you could find the x for any polynomial expression. The seed is the i number, which is defined as the solution of x^2 +1 =0. You cannot find the x from that expression using real numbers (the ones you're familiar with)

Ahmmm, sorry! Haha, you make me write geek stuff (though you started asking).

Hope you have sunny days in the near future, and congrats again!

Sort:  

Thank you!

Geek stuff expands the mind, I love it!

Yeah, you are right, math at Wikipedia is hard to read. But it can be a place to find links to highly fascinating articles and I hope math is no exception: I'll go investigate some more later on today, we'll see what inspiration comes out of it, after dinner.

A few years ago I enrolled in an astronomy course at coursera, the course was already half through but what bewildered me the most was that I could understand some of the equations. It was a very interesting experience... That being said, I'm mostly illiterate concerning maths.

There's new contests already, I'm having a great time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47