The Difference Between Prettiness and Beauty is Depth

in #art8 years ago

image
An older pencil and charcoal drawing of mine, that I dug up for Halloween.

dug up

Get it?

Because she's a skeleton..?

Okay I'll leave now.

But all jokes aside, I really believe that true beauty is not perfection.
I feel like you need a bit of darkness to make the light really shine.
True beauty, to me, is the shadows of tall trees, on a road covered with the orange light of the sun before dusk.
It is the ruffled feathers of a bird who just survived a storm.
It is the lines of a life well lived on an old man's face.

Beauty is not prettiness.

Beauty has no definition.

It can't be possessed. It just is.

Namaste

Sort:  

Wonderful! I would like to give you two upvotes for your joke but, alas, I have only one, very weak, vote.

Ha! Someone appreciates my comedic genius! Thank you so much, your vote means a lot.

Very much so! I appreciate anyone that can make me laugh. After all, laughter is one helluva drug ;)

Truth! Are you new to Steemit?

this post made me think about a post from a while ago, by soulsistashakti that inspired me to challenge some personal concepts and post a poem in reply. https://steemit.com/writing/@soulsistashakti/the-boy-who-loved-to-sing-part-9#@ndbeledrifts/re-soulsistashakti-the-boy-who-loved-to-sing-part-9-20160907t004915347z where I started thinking about the differences between authentic and masked beauty. I really enjoyed digging it back up for you! And just to save you digging time, here is the poem I posted there, then, a while ago. What is a pretty picture?
Is truth something to hide behind
Walls fortified by someone else's schemes
Foundation powder concealer powder
To make it the victim of its own means
Blush bronzer shadow liner unseam
Paint a pretty picture no particular dreams
Lipstick mascara
Subordinate beings

I love your poem! It is very true. We are taught what to think beauty is. Because society's concept of beauty is more profitable. Thank you so much for sharing! I'm going to check out your blog!

Thank you, I see what you mean after giving some thought to the singular oneness of the center of beingness having an equilibrium neither having a lack, or a surplus-- balance and being centered in ones own purpose of fulfilling peace with the earth, is as I see it, the most beautiful. However, that model lacks profitability to the cosmologies which would profit from conflict between falsified factions created to divide the earths people against each other and ultimately, in their conscious ignorance, against the earth. Life is beautiful, as it is in nature! I'm just sharing some thoughts, I appriciate your insights!

Very true! Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and I agree with them. Beautifully put!

thank you for the donation and the lovely message! much love! <3

Very interesting headline - drew me in straight away! WELL DONE!!

Thank you so much, feeling quite philosophical tonight!

You damn well nailed it then :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45