My Dad's Artwork | Ancestral Home | Oil Pastels Painting

in #art5 years ago

Hello dear Steemians! Today. I am just going to share an artwork of my dad. It is an oil pastel artwork. I asked about his ancestral home and he painted it to show me.

My dad is from Bagan Dato, Perak, Malaysia. His grandfather moved there from India back then. There were many others who moved to work in rubber estates and apparently the majority requested for people who are skilled in making gold jewelry from scratch besides being skilled in repairing them as well. The reason is, in the Indian culture, jewelry is used and offered to new members during occasions like weddings and other ceremonies like naming a newborn baby. Since my great grandparents were goldsmiths, they chose to move to Malaysia to start a business here. That is when they built their home like it is in the artwork.

It was a large home with eight bedrooms. I don't know why my great grandparents built such a large home although they only had 3 children. However, the size of their home was an advantage when the family started growing as his three children got married and lived with their spouses in the same house.

The picture above was snapped when he just started to colour the drawing.

So, my beloved late grandpa, who was one of the three children of my great grandparents, followed his father's footsteps and became a goldsmith as well. I still remember when he pierced my ears so that I can start wearing earrings :D He was also a teacher in a school. He taught Telugu which is my mother tongue language and Mathematics. Apart from that, he played music and wrote during his free time. I do have some of his books and voice recordings as his memories.

The picture above has slightly more colours than the previous one.

My dad said that there were many coconut trees there. I know that it is true because he has taken me there and the location is nearby the sea. Hence, coconut trees are common there. He also mentioned that there was a large tangerine tree which was believed to be haunted. They also had many crops yielding various vegetables and fruits, as well as some farm animals such as cows and goats.

This is the completed artwork. It is a very simple one but my dad has more talent than that. He has painted many other artworks and most of them were realistic colour portraits of people. By the way, I tried using oil pastels for the first time when I discovered a set in his drawer when I was a curious little child many years ago :) Thank you for reading my post till the end and have a great day/evening =)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

your dad draws??? that's so cool :D i think he drew very nicely !

thanks for sharing, @yashny :D

Yes he does :D he used to teach me how to paint and help me to prepare for my art exams when I was in school. Thank you @veryspider

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 5.44% upvote from us for your 1250 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @yashny! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62