Selected prints for the @caffetto craft fair

in #art6 years ago (edited)


In two weeks @caffetto will be holding a craft fair and I’ve been encouraged to sell some of my art work. It’s not entirely set in stone since I still need to send out an e-mail to see if there are tables left. To be honest, I feel a little uneasy about it but I’m trying really hard not to back out. More baby steps towards change and risk taking.

Click on the titles to view the original posts that I made for each image.

What my art looks like at 2AM

A drawing inspired by the cold

I’ve gotten to the point where I’m overthinking everything. Am I selecting too much or not enough? I feel like my art is all over the place. I don’t know if I should stick with one color palette or maybe I should attempt to sketch a new set of images just for the fair. I probably don’t have time for that.

Drawing a ‘bewitching’ reflection

Tongue Touching

What size should they be? I want it to be cost effective so I’ve been thinking about making post card sized images. Money isn’t the biggest priority since I’m only curious to know if strangers would be interested in buying my work. Ugh, now I feel like I have to link my steemit/Instagram account for people who may want bigger sizes. 

Fox Tales #9

Mascara

Should I provide frames or is that too much work? Searching for the ideal frame is already causing me anxiety. Since I come from a sales background I know the importance of presentation and product placement. I envisioned small thin wood or brass frames, something clean and simple which wouldn’t make the table appear cluttered.

Sketching Shapes & Shadows

Sketching Shapes & Shadows

Then I had this fear that no one would buy my work if it were in a pricey frame because that would obviously spike up the overall cost. Wouldn’t it be easier to go simple and skip the frames?

Build it to break

Fox Tales #17

Am I sabotaging myself? Maybe I’m trying to plan an escape route since this would be the first event that I’m officially selling prints. In the past, I tried selling masks and that was extremely difficult. I would like to sell sculptures and clothing in the future but I guess this is my first trial. 

Bubble & Celestial Eyed Goldfish” 

Goldfish Studies

I recall @jungwatercolor telling me that I’m at the point where I could sell my work and I was beyond flattered. I’ve never thought about selling my art. I have always drawn for the sake of creation and with the thought of growth. There are so many artists out there that I admire and I wanted to prove that I am also very capable. 

Jackal drawing from my first dlive art session!

I’m a perfectionist. Two weeks doesn’t seem like enough time for me to prepare for an event like this, especially when you factor in life. I might run out of time to prepare everything. I guess that’s the hard thing about having a set vision because I know I’d end up disappointed myself if I weren’t able to recreate it. 


Please! Guide, advise and encourage me! Again, I’m not participating to make a profit. The main goal is to build up my confidence because I know that I undervalue my work.

Thanks to those who read this post and enjoyed the art. 🦊

Sort:  

Wow you take pictures are draw ?!!
and you are good at both?
You must be some legit artist, that's rare
I mean being really good at two arts! <3
Respect!

Haha, thanks! Yes, I do both and then some.

That's cool !
which one came first tho?
started with the camera first or the pencils?
wondering which led to which :)

The pencils were the first, then a few other things in between before the camera. :)

obviously they both are working really good for you!
I enjoy seeing your work.
keep doing what you are doing!
steemit needs people like you :)

You received a 36.76% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @gamercreed!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.
Delegate to Bot and Get High Return Fix 100% earning return,
guaranteed positive ROI (15%)
bidders will always win something and it will adapt to distribute all the 100% upvote ,now we reached to 20000 SP and recommend. send the 0.15 to 0.4 sbd or steem.
Banner-Bid-Bot-Steemit--Grande-3.png

You received a 40.00% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @gamercreed!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.
Delegate to Bot and Get High Return Fix 100% earning return,
bidders will always win something and it will adapt to distribute all the 100% upvote ,now we reached to 13000 SP and recommend. send the 0.15 to 0.4 sbd or steem.
Banner-Bid-Bot-Steemit--Grande-3.png

You received a 40.47% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @mamalikh13!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.
Delegate to Bot and Get High Return Fix 100% earning return,
bidders will always win something and it will adapt to distribute all the 100% upvote ,now we reached to 13000 SP and recommend. send the 0.15 to 0.4 sbd or steem.
Banner-Bid-Bot-Steemit--Grande-3.png

In my (very little) experience selling art at conventions, I notice people like smaller things. So postcards, stickers, buttons often sell super well. Practical/useable things go really well too, so if you have the budget to splurge buttons, pins, and even t-shirts would be cool. I think you could skip the frames but a nice plastic slip to put the artwork in would be a great touch. You have a lot of great pieces so I'm sure you'll have no issue selling. Either way, it's a fun experience and a good way to get exposure.

It’s funny because I was thinking about everything that you’ve listed! The last convention I went to I was only able to purchase postcard sized prints and pins because they were practical. I’ve pretty much settled on postcard sized prints and I didn’t think about making pins until now. I’ll have to look to see if I have enough time to get some made...I have no idea where I can get plastic sleeves. 😟

Kudos on the decision to participate (doesn’t matter if it works out or not, hope it does ;)).
I don’t know what kind of fair it is going to be, but may I suggest making a postcard set available? Postcards are relatively easy to buy since a) they aren’t that expensive as an actual bigger print b) you can use them to send to people :)
@vermillionfox, you make wonderful work :) I would also suggest to not waste the time to sketch something new, but instead pick a theme or two and choose the works you already have that fit. That way you avoid pressuring yourself and just concentrate on all other decisions (frames etc) that need to be made. Good luck 🍀

Yes, I’ve settled on postcard prints. I was suggested by @kommienezuspdat to get several printed in that size on a sheet and then to have them cut.

You’re right, I’m just nervous about what I have available. I should just stick with the work I have and not worry about creating last minute art.

Thanks @fukako! ^^

Charge ahead! Even if you make mistake (not likely), you're going to learn some very important life lessons, I'm sure.

I'm always hesitant to do something new too, but time and tides wait for no one.

-upvoted-

Thanks for the encouragement @scrawly!! 💜

I think your art is very beautiful and if you should display it! I'm sure many people comprarian it, I think a great event and I would love to attend jejeje :(

This is great news girl, and I'm happy that you are taking this step out.
As considering prints, I'm myself new in selling those. Mostly I sell them in art galleries I am working with, and lucky for me I have great print shop where they make me prints on fabriano yellowish paper 300 gr
1561.jpg
It's paper that is great for absorbing color and prints look great. Also I make them in some 20x25 cm size with 5 cm white border, so if you sell them unframed they look great also.
Some smaller sizes I suppose can look also great but here people look more for the size I am printing them, not to big and not to small.
It's good to have at least two sizes for sell. Later you can frame them, but also some people love to frame their work by themselves, so unframed work is good sell to.
Hope I helped a bit with this small experience and wish you all luck.
My favorite are Tongue touching, fox tales 9 and goldfish studies. I bet they will look great when printed @vermillionfox.

I don’t know if I’ll be able to get my work printed on paper like that without doing more research. I want to try it out for next time because I’ve been painfully thinking about how to display these prints since they’re all created digitally. It’s funny that I didn’t think about this method, thanks so much for all of your suggestions!
the tongue touching images is still my favorite also. :)

:) glad if I helped a bit, it will be such joy to see how it all went. I believe it will be great @vermillionfox :)

Lol, you most definitely are overthinking it. For your first time just bring some originals and some prints. If there's specific prints or originals you think would shine with a specific frame, bring some. Postcards are always a quick sell, especially if it's an original piece. I sometimes just buy the watercolor postcard paper from the art store and whiz through a bunch of basic stuff I know people will like and buy. Whatever you do, just relax and have fun :) People buy your work because of you more so than the art itself...at least when it's face to face. At least in my experience. Good luck!

I’ll keep that all in mind. Thanks!

Very nice drawings. I personally always use the same shadow box frames for all of my paintings so there is a sense of unity in the exhibits.

Yeah, I was thinking the same exact thing. I don’t think I’ll be able to frame anything since I’ll be sharing a table and there isn’t enough space.

I think you’ll do great friend! You’re so talented but like you I too like to make sure everything is perfect and that would make me antsy too! So I understand if you decide to go for it till the next fair🎀

It looks like I’m officially in! 😆 I still have to rush out to get my stuff printed by Friday and then I gotta think about the small details like payment methods.

I always recommend using square. The card reader is free and the rates are low💜

Ah....I saw one somewhere in the house but I can’t remember where I put it. >.< Now a days everyone has Venmo so maybe we’ll do that and paypal if I can’t find the square.

PayPal is good too, everyone has an account!

Girl! I keep telling you you should sell your prints! Even though the forestry ones are older drawings I definitely wanted to buy prints of those. Take the risk!

But keep it simple and don't think too much of it. The postcards are definitely a good start. <3 Then maybe larger prints of the ones you're really proud of. I love you! You can do ets!

I know!! 😊 You’re the best! Next time we see each other then you’ll have to show me which ones you want. 💜 love you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72