Butterfly mask (original poem and art)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

schmetterling.jpg

I hide it in jest
My beautiful mess

Smiling butterfly, my chosen mask
Writing stories is how i ask

To see me as whole
End my charade
Look past the mask
See how I'm made


This is, without exaggeration, my first poem ever. I hated it at first, like I so often hate my paintings, and yet I still work on them. How else will I ever improve?

Thanks to some help from a group of amazing people from the Poetry Workshop at @thewritersblock, I grew to love it more and more. I loved it enough to make a painting to go with it. And I don't hate that one either. In fact, I dedicated a post to it where I show you how I made it. You can find it here.

I guess that is called "letting go." They are both imperfect, but that is exactly what makes them perfect.

Big thank you to @geke, @jrswab, @steemitgraven, @sunravelme and @negativer for the amazing support and encouragement. If I forgot anyone, please forgive me. There are so many of you!

Thank you for sharing this with me.

Hugs

Tiny


The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community. Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there. Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by clicking the link below.




Sort:  

Dang Tiny, you've got watercolor skillz! Love the butterfly. Please do keep at it, and if it requires Shane to do more radio shows I'm sure we can harass him into compliance. Heh heh.

Aww thanks honey. ;-) I didn't even need radio for this one.

A real Renaissance lady we have here. Art, singing, writing, and now poetry? Well done!

Thank you, Neg. Babysteps. ;-)

I was just asking her..."What can't you do?" She said, "housekeeping" :)

I'm so bad at evaluating poetry and art, but I know this is lovely. :-) I hope you continue exploring these new avenues.

I think I will. Thank you! ;-)

These are absolutely beautiful individually and even better together. Your poem reveals much and I can connect to it for sure.

Oh thank you so much, Bex! Hugs

This is beautiful--everything about it. The poem is soft and light, just like the butterfly. You're really amazing. What else will you do now? There are depths to you!

Everything but housekeeping. ;-)

I adore everything about this. My initial thought was that the painting was something you found off the internet- it's just soooo pretty! And I love the poem. ❤

Oh thank you sweetie.
Hug

Your talent continually amazes me. I bow to the queen. Love the poem; adore the butterfly!

Don't bow to me sweetie. And also don't underestimate yourself! Hugs

Lovely job on the painting and the poem.

Beautiful Tiny! 🦋
Very touching and indeed it delivers a much deeper meaning 💙
Love, Sylvia

Thank you Sylvia!
Hugs

Tiny, it makes me smile inside to see you relaxing and opening up so beautifully and creatively. I imagine you now like a butterfly, emerging from a chrysalis and slowly, majestically beginning to spread your beautiful wings.

I'm loving both the painting and the poem.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Awwwww. You're too sweet! You're making me blush!!!
Hugs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46