The Making Of Paranormal Scenes- @dreemit's 'Reborn' Meets My Art: Fiction Meets AcrylicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

The story begins with frightening action in an unfamiliar room, and the scene is seasoned with a flavor of supernatural influence-- there's no question that something unusual is happening. There's no question that people are dying in this room. The real question was; could I artistically illustrate such a room? 

Illustrating @dreemit's 'Reborn'

The very opening scene of 'Reborn', a novel being presented here by Steemit's very own @dreemit, seemed like the best place to start, and when dreemit asked me to illustrate the cover for the book, I knew that the story begins the way that it does for a reason, and as an illustrator I knew well that any book will technically begin with it's cover

Go ahead-- dreemit! 

Those of us who are fortunate enough to have become acquainted with @dreemit know that she can dream it, and can quite effectively write it as well, which makes her an extraordinary being-- one of the creators-- and I couldn't pass up the opportunity to begin illustrating her words in visual art form. Such a writing talent asking me to do this book cover gave me a bit of anxiety at first, but I gathered myself for the challenge. Dream it, and I can draw it, and so I began sketching the opening scene to @dreemit's Reborn story. 

Here's How I Did It!

"...everyone had flattened themselves against the wall, none wanting to be a bi-product of the god's fury." 

That line from the opening chapter of Reborn, I could see this scene was drawing itself-- as dreemit draws with words like most people draw air-- with ease and instinct, and having seen the floor following the "god's fury"... the floor! Those who have read that intro chapter of dreemit's Reborn know why I shudder, the scene was 'graphic', and as a graphic artist, I have to be considerate, as some people can be shocked to death, mortally horrified by visual stimulus, and I knew I'd have to draw from a different angle-- a less-lethal angle. If you dare read it yourself, remember that it is a paranormal tale, and you must pray that is is only fiction. Here's the link, [Reborn Intro, by @dreemit] 


Models 

In painting, there are no such thing as background characters. In order to give each character in the scene authenticity, I had to use models. 'Models' may be the wrong word-- it's me, therealpaul, remembering the scene as I'd seen it, feeling the horror, badly injured, and submitting to the superior male. These characters are wearing soft house shoes to enhance their vulnerability, making them weaker and inhibiting confidence in the situation. 

Having drawn one-inch grids over the photos, I transferred the image, square by square, onto a 14"X16" illustration board.

Bringing the Light

In painting with the acrylics that I used on this Reborn cover, I like to make people a dark purple color to start, then I mix white and yellows to their purpleness and cast 'light' upon them. I 'bring the light', and it's very satisfying to see a shadow appear below my brush, as a result of my lighter paint.

flesh-tone paint for these horrified and/or bleeding characters was a deep red-purple base, then the lighted parts are mixed with white and cadmium yellow.


Another Model Volunteers for the Project

I told my daughter the situation; that I was illustrating a book cover for the paranormal tale Reborn, and I explained how the main character in the story; the palindromically named Anna, had been unconscious, and had opened her eyes to the scene. As I hesitated to describe what was being seen, my new model got the idea, and posed beautifully for the art. My brush strained to capture the essence.


In the opening scene, Anna is looking at a startling character, as are all of the background characters looking with horror upon this figure. 

This character has entered the scene, and changed the mood of the room, so to speak.

It was time to start staining the walls and floor in darkness, and to then throw shadows around with some 'light' colored paint.

Shadows, More Shadows

The story has shadows, always just in the corner of the eye, and my brush of light similarly revealed more shadows on the floor and walls, until the Reborn illustration was ready to send to the author. Here is what we saw when it had every shadow included:

That's how I saw it, and be sure to check out the final copy of the image on @dreemit's page, as she introduces the painting to the internet, steemit: Bringing authors and artists together: New, Incredible Book Cover for Reborn painted by @therealpaul

----------

thanks steemit for the chance to meet new people and make big things bigger, and thank you @dreemit for allowing me the chance to shine with you.

@therealpaul







Sort:  

Thanks for giving us a window into your creative process. Nice work!

It's incredible, isn't it? It will transform my book chapters on the home page!

Yes, I need to teach to best learn I think, and I like to show tricks of art. Or, the best way to learn something is to teach it!

Very fascinating look into your process. Thanks for sharing. The artwork is superb as well. I saw the final in @dreemit ' post. Nice to see it unfold in reverse. It will be very interesting to read the final book, now that I (sort of) "know", at least Steamitwise, the creators. A first.

Thanks @ddschteinn, it sure was fun putting the scene into visual form, the post ended up as a sort of tutorial-- how to paint the Reborn cover in easy steps.

First of all, your talent is simply amazing. I think you've intuitively reached into the heart of the book and created a perfect scene. And I love how the faces are subtle enough that we can still imagine the details and let our minds still wonder. I very much appreciate you sharing your process! Bravo.

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it. I tried to stop painting on a face when I saw a character trying to emerge, plus, the images were pretty small, so details are only suggested.

My sentiments are the same as @merej99, simply fantastic artwork and I love that the details are only suggestive, just how in horror films which play a more suspenseful psychological warfare on the human senses rather than revealing a fully visible oppressing entity. Great stuff, and you truly have complimented and enhanced one of my favorite novels here on steemit. Upvoted, and followed.

I appreciate it! It seems the best psychological horrors are never quite seen, only suggested.

Definitely agree with that statement, we either aid the intensity of our own fears or succumb to the ideas of others imposing their own fears in a compelling and persuading fashion.

That was incredible! I love the backstage look into your process...and I love the gruesome bloody floor. I am in awe of your talent, touched that you were happy to put it to use for me, and elated by how it turned out, exactly as if you took it straight from my mind.
You are truly inspiring, it's an honor to be your friend and steemit companion. Forever grateful that I met you ;)

Yea I tried to keep that blood on the floor-- it's still there, just obscured in darkness now.
Thank you for asking me to do this illustration. I wanted to promote the story with this post- I turned it into an ad for the novel, see how I did dat? ;)
I wanted to post where you might get some traffic to your post from a different time zone too.

I do see! Very thoughtful. Of course it's Saturday, so it might be a little slow. In fact last weekend I remember nonames saying Saturday is an Asshole, LOL. But I put links to this in several people's chat pages, so if not tonight, then most likely tomorrow morning it will be seen ;)

Oh I remember him saying that too now... also I used the 'art' tag, it's quirky and moody as a tag.

I just posted this on facebook ;)

Me- I posted yours to FB earlier!

Nice!! We each put up the post that says great things about us, haha!!

Well there was that aspect, my FB people don't get me like you do ;)

I've already commented on this on @dreemit's unveiling, but this is such a great look at the process behind it. This truly is a masterpiece. I mean that, with every fiber of my being. You really have such talent in both art and fiction. Awesome stuff! Words can't simply do this justice.

I appreciate that-- I definitely set out to make a masterpiece for her book cover, there was no other option!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59328.31
ETH 2997.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79