steemit: Bringing authors and artists together: New, Incredible Book Cover for Reborn painted by @therealpaul

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Recently I put up a post about my steemit journey so far, and in this post I spoke about the first friend I made in these halls, @therealpaul. He is a brilliant writer of both fiction and non, as well as an incredible artist.

It is this last that prompted me to ask him if he would be interested in creating a cover for my book Reborn. This part of his response...

I grew up entertaining my friends with war and gore drawings, so I may be right for this story, since I Imagine the cover art to be: "...everyone had flattened themselves against the wall, none wanting to be a bi-product of the god's fury." Of course I would make it more bookshelf-friendly than what I imagine the floor to look like in that room, but that's what dramatic shadows are for, to 'suggest' what happened just before.

...made me feel not only was he the right one for this project, but that this collaboration was magical. It was as if he had taken the image I had always carried of the cover right from my head, using a line from the prologue that I hadn't even recognized as exceptional until that moment.

It was new territory for both of us, but I made an offer, he accepted, and over the course of the next weeks he sent me sketches of his project which we discussed with growing excitement on both sides. He has expressed his intention to do a progression post, so soon you will also be able to enjoy the steps it took to recreate the opening scene for my book. And now without further ado, I give you Reborn's new cover by @therealpaul:



Eventually I will publish Reborn as a full manuscript, and when I do, the open space you see is where I will put the title, my name, etc. But for now, here in steemit, I've decided not to disrupt this magnificent creation, so it can be enjoyed undiluted from chapter to chapter.

Thank you so much @therealpaul, you have taken the experience of Reborn to the next level!


Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Sort:  

That is a great picture for a cover. It makes me wonder what is causing those guys to cower. It's interesting without giving too much away. Well done @therealpaul!

It was like drawing a sketch with a question mark at the end-- I wanted it to demand audience participation with it's mystery. 'If I could just see around that corner...'

Mission accomplished! Well done!

Looks like you got a famous name in your comment section ;)

I know! Pretty cool

It is! paul is such a humble guy, I had to make a splash of this. Thanks for visiting me, I'm sure I'll be by your place tomorrow ;)

In a word...

Breathtaking

I cannot wait to see full manuscript and awesome cover put together! I've got goosebumps for you!

Isn't it? I can't either!! Thanks!

DAMN! That is an awesome cover!! Their is only one word for it and that is FLIPPIN ASTOUNDING!

two words, I know ;O)

Yes!! LOL, two words ;)

It is! The scene is one of the most dramatic in the book :)

I've been out for a couple of days, so I definitely feel bad that I missed the launch of this! This is such an amazing artwork, and it adds a whole new dimension to the series. @therealpaul really has some serious skills in both art and fiction. Words alone cannot do this masterpiece justice. Simply magnificent!

Don't feel bad my friend, I know you're not here on the weekends which meant that I had your incredible words to look forward to today!

Wonderful cover, it has so much depth and action within its subtle nuances and shadowing and light angles. This is definitely a winner for sure. Great job @therealpaul and wonderful novel my friend @dreemit, definitely a favorite as I look forward to reading Chapter 11 very soon, I should be finished with Chapter 10, and I am glad the novel is very lengthy indeed to say the least because of how much I enjoy your writing style and the way you guide your characters effortlessly. Upvoted

It is a wonderful cover, so excited that it's going to be the lead in to my chapters from now on! The shadows are definitely awesome, particularly with the 'shadows' in my books! Thank you so much, I'm so glad you're enjoying the story. I know you understand what it's like to have people who truly appreciate your work, and the passion and love that goes into it. It's a great feeling.

Definitely, the reciprocity of love and the genuine giving of appreciation is definitely needed amongst all of us artists and creators who feed off of inspiration and the acknowledgement for our creativity is a boost of morale and hope indeed. The cover is perfect

That is a very evocative image for your book, and does really make one wonder, "what it up here?" You obviously picked a great artist to do the cover. I'm always amazed at his many talents. Thanks for sharing.

I love it when I run into someone who knows about paul's many talents, and how truly amazing they are! When I approached him about it and he quoted from the book, it was magic. I knew it was meant to be. I wouldn't want any other illlustrator, no one would compare! Thank you for your kind words ;)

I am very happy for you, you will certainly have a lot of success in your project.
Congratulations dear friend @dreemit

Thank you @jlufer, you are a true friend and gentleman!

Thanks for this, I still give you credit for painting that scene with your words-- all I had to do was trace it out, and fill in the shading. I appreciate the chance to illustrate your work, it was a lot of fun.
Ok, now to put together the 'making of' the Reborn cover...

I told hanshotfirst that you were humble, far too humble! I will allow myself partial credit, as we combined to make this amazing piece happen, but it literally could not have come to life without your hand. You're my Illustrator for life now, you know that right? ;)

I gladly accept the title, and am at your command.

Ok, I just posted the 'making of' Reborn cover, with a link to here and the intro chapter!

I bet its a trick to get all the shadows just right for a complex image like this. Nicely done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62686.30
ETH 2673.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56