My Introduction, Thoughts on Motivation, & Some Artsy Stuff

in #art7 years ago

Hello Everybody!


Greetings Steemers, Steemians, Steemophiles! My name is Harry, and while I don't yet know the proper terminology around here, I'm in awe of all the talent, good will, and generosity that I've seen so far in this community. I'm not the most outspoken person, but from what I've seen, you guys are very welcoming and I'd like to share a bit about myself with all of you. 


This is me, or at least my attempt of rendering myself with graphite on a 9" x 12" sheet of sketch paper. I'm 25 years old, soon to be 26, living in Arizona, and I'm an artist. That may sound like a simple statement, but for me it's a difficult one to make. I've been struggling for while now with who I am and what I truly wish to do with my life. I've played guitar for many years, and I studied computer science in college, but due to my anxieties it's extremely hard for me to commit to either of these as a carrier path. Visual art for me is different. It's something that I can envision myself doing in the long term. There is only one problem with this... I suck! Having only recently rediscovered my interest in art, I feel like I have a lot of catching up to do, and I'm finding it hard to motivate myself. This brings me to my second point.

Steemit as a Motivational Tool


While the allure of striking it rich on Steemit is huge, and probably what attracted me and many of us to it in the first place, I feel like Steemit also has a lot of potential as a tool to motivate us in our other endeavors. It may be a symptom of my generation, but having grown up as an avid gamer, I can say that there is one thing that motivates me above all else, and that's Instant Gratification. Yes, it's become somewhat of a scary term, conjuring up images of weak-willed individuals with no goals or ambitions, but let's be honest for a minute; it works. So long as you make use of it in a constructive way. I see Steemit as a good example of this. I'll be the first to admit that I don't have an iron will, and as an artist it can be very difficult for me to self motivate when I don't immediately see improvement in my work. I've come to Steemit with the idea that if I post my work daily, even if I only earn pennies per post, at least it's a palpable reward that can help to stoke the creative flame.

So that's the Plan


I'm going to try to post my work every day, to document my journey as an artist, motivate myself,  and hopefully help out some others who are in the same boat. I'll try to teach some of the lessons that I learn along the way, and maybe do a weekly review of my studies. I invite anyone who's interested in learning or appreciating art to come along for the ride, and sketch along with me if you like! Let's turn Steemit into the thriving art community it deserves to be! (Although it's already pretty awesome) ;)

Thank you all for reading, I'll see you around. Happy drawing, and of course Happy Steeming!

-Harry

Sort:  

hi harry, im zack nice ot meet you
100_0122_1.JPG

This is a great first post that shows a lot of of your personality. I just started today too and it seems like a great way to share thoughts and commit to learning and growing. Keep at it, Harry, and post more sketches!

Welcome to Steem @surlysquid I have sent you a tip

Welcome @surlysquid Nice beginnig! Upvote!)

Welcome to Steemit @surlysquid :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Welcome to steemit! Nice art!

Welcome Harry, I just got started today myself. I totally get the instant gratification thing growing up in the same space, wanting input or a reward or result now is something I deal with too. In my few hours here the community has seemed really great and I've already gotten lots of constructive info. Followed you if you want to follow back it would be appreciated!

For sure, thanks!

Love the artwork, got my upvote and follow!

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.

Welcome man, I hope you find you time a steemit enjoyable and motivating

Upvote n follow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50